Administrative Records

Accreditation Reports

A.   Description:

Used to record observations, recommendations and decisions of visiting accreditation committee members. These reports are received from study committees of accreditation associations for colleges and universities. Reports reflect suggestions and recommendations concerning an institution’s organizational structure and administration, educational programs, financial resources, faculty qualifications, library resources, student body characteristics, physical plant features and vital areas for institutions of higher learning. Also included are remarks prepared by institution officials to respond to the committee’s observations and suggestions.

B. Retention:

1. Office: Until no longer needed for reference
2. University Archives: Permanent

Annual Reports

A.   Description:

Published report of college or university activities made annually to the General Assembly. Information includes financial summaries, objectives, goals, and other data concerning the college or university during the fiscal year. Most annual reports contain an organizational chart, along with brief narratives, and statistical information concerning each major section and division of the college or university.

B. Retention:

1. Office: Until no longer needed for reference
2. University Archives: Permanent

Committee Files

A.   Description:

Document actions and recommendations of committees, established to provide advice on policy matters and other management topics. Information consists of letters, memoranda, and other paper work concerning budget matters, maintenance of facilities, curriculum development, utilization of state/federal funds, purchase or sale of property and other subjects related to the institution’s administration, operation, and academic programs.

B. Retention:

1. Office: 5 years
2. University Archives: Permanent

Deeds And Leases To College or University Property

A.   Description:

Document deeds and leases to real property owned or used by the state.  Information includes description and location of the property, maps, sale agreements, land acquisition forms, deeds, lease agreements, and related correspondence.

B. Retention:

1. Office: Until property is sold, disposed of, or relinquished
2. University Archives: Permanent

Internal Management Policy And Procedure Files

A.   Description:

Policies, procedural directives and manuals developed by an institution to govern its internal management functions such as payroll, procurement, personnel administration, equipment inventory, and other internal management matters.

B. Retention:

1. Office: Until superseded, updated, or no longer needed for reference
2. University Archives: Permanent.

Legislative Reference Files

A.   Description:

Records pertaining to bills, prospective legislation and laws. Information includes bill and supporting material concerning proposed legislation, such as newspaper clippings, reports, and correspondence. The series also includes copies of approved legislation.

B. Retention:

1. Office: Until no longer needed for reference
2. University Archives: Permanent.

Organizational Charts

A.   Description:

Reflect the organizational structure of a college or university and its departments.  Information includes a diagram which shows a systematic and symbolic arrangement of an institution’s departments and program areas by name and function.

B. Retention:

1. Office: Until no longer needed for reference
2. University Archives: Permanent (1 copy)

Permanent Improvement Files

A.   Description:

Files concern construction of and permanent improvements to the college or university’s facilities. Information includes project proposal, capital improvement requests, authorizations to execute construction contracts, cost estimates, construction contracts, related memoranda, correspondence, blueprints, and specifications. Portions of this series created in 1980 and later are scheduled for permanent retention by the State Archives  through the State Engineer’s Office of the State Budget and Control Board.

B. Retention:

1. Records created before 1980: (a) Office: Until completion of construction project and no longer needed for reference
2. University Archives: Selection of needed documentation. Permanent. (2) Records created during and after 1980: Until completion of construction project and no longer needed for reference; destroy.

Photographs

A.   Description:

Photographic proofs and negatives of college or university activities. Photographs may include identification according to time, place, and college or university activity.

B. Retention:

1. Office: Until no longer needed for reference
2. University Archives: Permanent.

Public Relations File

A.   Description:

Information concerning college or university publicity. Included are press releases, biographies, newspaper clippings, promotional materials, bulletins, broadcast scripts, photographs, visual documentation, and other related items.

B. Retention:

1. Office: Until no longer needed for reference
2. University Archives: Selection of needed documentation. Permanent.

Publications

A.   Description:

Printed material published by state colleges or universities for internal and external distribution. This series includes directories, manuals, research reports, surveys, and other college or university publications (except annual report).

B. Retention:

1. Office: Until no longer needed for reference
2. University Archives: Selection of needed documentation. Permanent.

Surveys/Maps

A.   Description:

Developed by an institution to carry our its mission and function. Information concerns roads, boundaries, property lines, corners, monuments, road marker placements, structures, sites, and other related data.

B. Retention:

1. Until no longer needed for reference. Microfilm optional
2. University Archives: Permanent.