Skip to main content


Reference and Conducting Research

The Waring Historical Library has a variety of online resources to assist you in your search of its collections. If you would like to visit the Waring to view its collections, be sure to plan your visit and make an appointment with the Library's staff.


The MUSC Libraries discovery system provides access to descriptive catalog records for materials in the Waring's holdings. To find materials at the Waring, or to perform an advanced search all MUSC Libraries' holdings, please visit the MUSC Library Catalog.

Finding Aids

The Waring Historical Library creates and maintains descriptive guides for its manuscript and archival collections. The Library provides online access to a growing list of its collection finding aids for its archival and manuscript collections, which provide context and background to each collection as well as guidance to the arrangement and organization of the collection contents.


MEDICA is the digital library and archives for MUSC and The Waring Historical Library. MEDICA provides free and open access to the rare and special collections of the Waring and the MUSC University Archives, including historical photographs and documents, theses and dissertations written by MUSC students, and print material relating to the history of the health sciences in South Carolina.

Oral Histories

Established in 2008, the Waring Historical Library’s oral history program captures MUSC’s history in the words of employees and alumni who witnessed or participated in that history. The interviews consist of relevant memories concerning the evolution of the institution, the development, growth and changes in educational, clinical, and research programs, the contributions of women and minorities, as well as MUSC’s impact on local, state, and national events.

The library's Oral History page provides a list of available collections, including collection finding aids and online accessibility, where applicable.


The Waring Historical Library holds thousands of images relating to the Medical University and the history of health sciences in South Carolina. The photographs relating to the history of the University portray faculty, staff and students buildings and campus events. Other photographs in our collection can be found in Waring Historical Library manuscripts and include images of Lowcountry-area hospitals, Charleston County Health Department, pellagra patients in Columbia, health care providers in various venues, and more.


175 Ashley Avenue | MSC 403 | Charleston, SC 29425 | (843) 792-2288