MUSC University Operations

In an effort to document MUSC's efforts and University operations during the COVID-19 pandemic, the MUSC University Archives is interested in receiving the types of records listed below. Not all departments or offices will hold the full range of records. The University Archives is particularly interested in documents which capture the transition from on-campus learning to remote learning, on-campus work to remote work, adjustments to student life, the impact of technology on online learning and teaching, initiatives to stay connected to faculty, classmates, coworkers.

What We Collect

• Administrative and departmental memoranda, reports, and correspondence
• Minutes of administrative, faculty, task force, and committee meetings
• Administrative and departmental special studies, planning documents, master plans, self-studies, and departmental annual reports
• Faculty annual reports
• Grant applications and reports
• Departmental histories
• Subject files (memoranda, documents, clippings) maintained in administrative or academic offices.
• Records of university special events and anniversaries
• Records of alumni associations
• Biographical data about faculty, staff, and benefactors
• Printed material including course offerings and degree requirements (catalogs), newsletters, programs, invitations, and brochures
• Photographs of faculty, students, buildings, activities, and events (identified if possible)
• Posters
• Audio and video recordings of events

What We Do Not Collect

Recognizing that the COVID-19 pandemic is a public health crisis, the University Archives does not collect personal health information and will not accept materials that include personal health information about you or others. The following will also not be collected:

• Personnel records
• Student academic records
• Records for temporary housing
• Any active records

For assistance getting started, contact the Waring's staff.

If you are transferring a large volume of records, the Archives staff will first examine the records onsite.

What Happens to Donated Materials

The materials you donate will be downloaded by Archives staff and stored in our digital preservation environment. Your files will be secure and preserved for long term access. Archives staff will process your records; they will create metadata (unique description), ensure that the files are saved in stable preservation formats, and create copies of your files that will be used for access. Submissions will be made available to the public after they are processed by University Archives staff. Staff members are happy to answer any questions you may have about the submission process.

Departmental records documenting University Operations will not be selected for feature on the MUSC COVID-19 Archive blog.