Toxicology Resources
Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11e by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The best edition yet of the landmark text in medical toxicology Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice. In no other reference will you find such a diverse roster of esteemed editors and authors who deliver expert insights into every type of toxicologic emergency, whether due to substance abuse or exposure to toxins. Fully referenced and supported by a cohesive organization and full-color format, Goldfrank's begins with a historical perspective on medical toxicology principles and the general approach to the patient. It then progresses to the fundamental principles of medical toxicology, encompassing biochemical and molecular concepts; the effect of xenobiotics on vital organs and body systems; and toxicologic principles in special populations. The Eleventh Edition of Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies is the most rigorous volume to date, driven by a precise analysis of the latest medical literature and complex cases designed to facilitate differential diagnosis. New to this Edition: *Additional cases and "Special Considerations" chapters designed to enhance clinical decision-making and patient outcomes *New "Antidotes in Depth" provides timely, critical information on toxicologic treatment strategies *New content on toxicogenomics explores its increasingly important role in predictive toxicology *Chapter-ending bulleted summaries of key points *Updated coverage of synthetics such as "K2" *Revised chapters on medical, clinical, and chemical toxicology include updated insights on poison emergencies, treatment strategies, and risk assessment tools
ISBN: 9781259859618Publication Date: 2019-04-11
Casarett & Doull's Toxicology: the Basic Science of Poisons, 9th Edition by ISBN: 9781259863745Publication Date: 2018-11-19Toxicology's gold-standard text - completely updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and discoveries.
Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition by
When every moment counts, count on Poisoning & Drug Overdose A Doody's Core Title for 2023! Speed is crucial when dealing with toxicologic and drug-related emergencies. Finding answers quickly is easier than ever with this streamlined eighth edition of Poisoning and Drug Overdose. This instant-answer guide provides the critical information needed to diagnose and manage drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Updated with newly released drugs and new information on existing drugs, the guide covers initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, seizures and hypotension; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons. Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition is divided into four sections: Section I. Provides a stepwise approach to the evaluation and treatment of coma, seizures, shock, and other complications of poisoning and the proper use of gastric decontamination and dialysis procedures. Section II. Lists specific poisons and drugs, as well as the pathophysiology, toxic dose and level, clinical presentation, diagnosis, and specific treatment associated with each substance. Section III. Covers descriptions of therapeutic drugs and antidotes, including pharmacology indications, adverse effects, drug interactions, and recommended dosage. Section IV. Describes the approach to hazardous materials incidents; the evaluation of occupational exposures; and the toxic effects, physical properties, and workplace limits for over 500 common industrial chemicals. Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition is enhanced by numerous tables and charts, as well as a user-friendly index. This trusted resource has consistently been relied upon by front line professionals responding to drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures.
ISBN: 1264259085Publication Date: 2022-05-06
- Toxnet
Consists of several databases including TOXLINE, DART, HSDB, CCRIS, GENETOX, IRIS, ITER, LactMED, ChemIDplus, CTD, HAzmap
- Lexidrug (formerly known as Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window
Includes drug summaries, interaction check, drug ID, calculators, IV compatibility, toxicology, patient education, and more. - Facts & Comparisons eAnswers This link opens in a new window
Provides drug monographs of individual drugs, drug interactions, drug identifier, black box warnings, bioequivilency codes, orphan drugs, medication watches, etc.