Veterinary Resources
Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs by
Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs, 4th Edition includes entries for 550 drugs, with convenient appendices summarizing clinically relevant information at a glance. New to this edition are 25 new drug monographs and easy access to drug content on any mobile device. Written by clinical pharmacology expert Mark Papich, this handy reference includes a companion website containing more than 150 customizable handouts with special instructions for your clients. It helps you find the specific drug facts and dosage recommendations you need to treat small and large animals, right when you need them! Concise drug monographs are organized alphabetically and cross-referenced by classification, trade, and generic name, providing quick and easy access to key information for each drug including: Generic and trade names, pronunciation, and functional classification Pharmacology and mechanism of action Indications and clinical uses Precautionary information - adverse reactions and side effects, contraindications and precautions, and drug interactions - all featured in colored boxes for at-a-glance retrieval Instructions for use Patient monitoring and laboratory tests Formulations available Stability and storage Dosage information for both small and large animals Regulatory information Clinically relevant appendices help you determine appropriate therapeutic regimens and look up safety and legal considerations. PapichDrugFormulary.com companion website includes more than 150 customizable client information handouts for commonly prescribed drugs, including information on the prescribed drug and dosage, do's and don'ts, and possible side effects. 15 NEW drug monographs familiarize you with the latest drugs available for veterinary practice. NEW! Access to drug content is available on any mobile device. UPDATED drug monographs include information such as new doses, interactions, indications, adverse reactions, and contraindications. NEW! Discontinued Drugs appendix makes it easy to reference drugs that are no longer in use, and provides suggested substitutions or alternative drugs.
ISBN: 0323244858Publication Date: 2015-11-25
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Tenth Edition is a fully updated and revised version of the gold-standard reference on the use of drug therapy in all major veterinary species. Provides current, detailed information on using drug therapies in all major domestic animal species Organized logically by drug class and treatment indication, with exhaustive information on the rational use of drugs in veterinary medicine Includes extensive tables of pharmacokinetic data, products available, and dosage regimens Adds new chapters on pharmaceutics, ophthalmic pharmacology, food animal pharmacology, and aquatic animal pharmacology Includes access to a companion website with the figures from the book in PowerPoint
ISBN: 1118855779Publication Date: 2017-11-29
- Merck Veterinary Manual
Reference manual for veterinary care providing concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals.
Controlled Release Veterinary Drug Delivery by
Many controlled release veterinary drug delivery systems (CRVDDS) are presently in use, and recently there has been a host of new CRVDDS within veterinary medicine. The challenges of this area of drug delivery arise from the unique anatomy and physiology of the target animal, the cost constraints associated with the value of the animal being treated and the extended periods of time that delivery must be sustained for (often measured in months). The purpose of this book is to introduce the reader to the unique opportunities and challenges of the field of CRVDDS and to explain and discuss the basic controlled release principles underlying the development of CRVDDS. Its aim is to provide an overview of many of the areas where CRVVDS have application, and to highlight the opportunities and prospects for controlled release technology in the veterinary field. Controlled Release Veterinary Drug Delivery comprises chapters that provide workers in the field (and those interested in this area) with information on the design, development and assessment of a variety of CRVDDS. The book contains chapters that describe the relevant animal physiological and anatomical considerations alongside descriptions of current and emerging controlled release delivery systems for a variety of routes for drug delivery, and present overviews on the physical and chemical assessment of veterinary controlled release delivery systems. The veterinary area is abound with opportunities for the development of controlled release drug delivery technologies. It is an area of medicine that is open to the acceptance of novel drug delivery devices, and which readily encompasses the use of novel routes of administration. It is an area of many unmet needs, most of which offer opportunities and unique challenges for the innovative formulation scientist to provide solutions. This book will provide an insight into the biological, clinical and pharmaceutical challenges that face the formulation scientist in this interesting and diverse area of research.
ISBN: 9780444829924Publication Date: 2000-07-20
Comparative and Veterinary Pharmacology by
The human-animal bond has evolved and diversi?ed down the ages. Dogs, cats and even horses, have long ful?lled the role of faithful companion and indeed, as exempli?ed by the introduction of seeing and hearing dogs, there may be a critical level of co-dependency between the species. In the twenty-?rst century, the animal types that are kept as pets in many parts of the world are extensive ranging from reptiles through rodents to ruminants and beyond. As would be predicted by the nature of the relationship, the approach to treatment of a companion animal is often closely aligned to that which would have been offered to their owner. However, an increasing awareness of welfare issues, such as the recognition that animals expe- ence pain and the proven bene?ts of disease prevention in intensive farming units, together with the growth in zoos and wildlife parks, has increased the likelihood of food producing and non-domesticated animals receiving medicinal products during their life-time. Although many of the individual drugs or classes of drugs administered to animals are the same as, or derived from, those given to man, the safe and effective use of drugs in animals often cannot be achieved by simply transposing knowledge of drug action on, or behaviour in, the body from one species to another. The impact of the anatomical, physiological and pathophysiological variability that spans the animal kingdom can often profoundly alter drug response.
ISBN: 9783642103230Publication Date: 2010-03-29
Veterinary Toxicology by
Veterinary Toxicology, Basic and Clinical Principles, Third Edition, is a unique, single reference that teaches the basic principles of veterinary toxicology to any student at the DVM, MS or PhD level. While comparable texts are primarily directed on the field of human toxicology, this text thoroughly prepares toxicologists and students on the newest approaches for diagnosing chemical and plant poisoning cases in animals. Many chapters on topics not covered in any previous books are provided, such as target organ toxicity, radiation and radioactive materials, FDA regulatory issues, and ethics in veterinary toxicology. Completely revised and updated to include the most recent developments in the field, including new toxins, methods and regions, this book is an essential resource for advanced students and researchers in toxicology, practicing veterinary toxicologists, poison control centers, marine biologists, environmentalists and animal scientists.
ISBN: 9780128114100Publication Date: 2018-04-11
