615: NURSM
Teaching in Nursing and Role of the Educator, Second Edition by
With essential, updated content for novice and experienced nurse educators This evidence-based text delivers the full scope of knowledge necessary for novice and experienced faculty to become competent teachers in nursing. The only book to focus on the full academic role, it encompasses all of the key concepts required for effective teaching, curriculum development, evaluation and testing, becoming a scholar in nursing education, and much more. The second edition is updated throughout and includes four new chapters on Understanding the Learner, Interprofessional Education, Curriculum Models, and Global Nursing Education. It offers new content on role of the nurse educator, learning theories, active learning, flipped class/team-based learning, teaching strategies, teaching in an online nursing course, using new technologies and simulation, clinical teaching and evaluation, test construction, scholarship of teaching, and more. Chapters begin with objectives and conclude with a content summary. Each chapter integrates research and evidence into the text and includes specific examples of the methods and strategies presented, and 'How-to Tips' for readers. Also available with the book is an online course with sample course syllabus, modules for each chapter, learner activities, discussion forum questions, and Power Point slides. New to the Second Edition: Four new chapters: Understanding the Learner, Interprofessional Education, Curriculum Models, and Global Nursing EducationLearning concepts important in teachingActive learning strategies, flipped class/team-based learningTeaching in online nursing courses and programsNew technologies and what's new in simulationInnovative models of clinical teachingAssessment, evaluation, and test constructionCurriculum development and evaluationScholarship of teaching and becoming a scholar in nursing educationDeveloping partnerships with clinical settingsNew ancillary with complete online course of 20 modules Key Features: Encompasses current, evidence-based information about the complete academic role--the only text of its kindDelivers key concepts required for effective teaching, curriculum development, evaluation and testing, scholarship, and morePrepares graduate nursing students and nurses transitioning into educator role with essential knowledge and competenciesIncludes both theoretical and practical informationProvides specific examples of content and "how to" tips
ISBN: 9780826140142Publication Date: 2018 2nd ed
Flipping the College Classroom by
Flipped learning—in which students view recorded lectures outside of the classroom and then utilize class time to develop a broad range of knowledge and skills—is a relatively new phenomenon. This timely volume examines and organizes the emerging research on flipped learning in higher education. It identifies the types of courses, material, and learning objectives that are most effectively flipped, with specialized advice for faculty in STEM fields, the social sciences, and humanities. The book also provides evidence-based guidance on how to create and disseminate engaging recorded lectures; develop and implement in-class exercises and projects that help students meet learning objectives; orient students to the flipped classroom; and assess the effectiveness of flipped learning.
ISBN: 9783319693927Publication Date: 2018
830: Applied Health Care Economics and Finance
Economics and Financial Management for Nurses and Nurse Leaders, Third Edition by ISBN: 9780826160010Publication Date: 2016-08-28Create a FREE account to access this book.
Penner's Economics and Financial Management for Nurses and Nurse Leaders by ISBN: 9780826179135Publication Date: 2024Only 3 users may access this book at any one time. Try again later if you are unable to access the full text.
836 NRDNP: Informatics in Health Care Delivery
Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse, Third Edition by ISBN: 9780826185259Publication Date: 2022-02-286 concurrent users ONLY- Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse, Third Edition by ISBN: 9780826185259Publication Date: 2022-02-283 concurrent users ONLY
Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse by
First Edition won the AJN 2016 Book Of The Year Award. A "must have" text for all healthcare professionals practicing in the digital age of healthcare. Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse, Second Edition, delivers a practical array of tools and information to show how advanced practice nurses can maximize patient safety, quality of care, and cost savings through the use of technology. Since the first edition of this text, health information technology has only expanded. With increased capability and complexity, the current technology landscape presents new challenges and opportunities for interprofessional teams. Nurses, who are already trained to use the analytic process to assess, analyze, and intervene, are in a unique position to use this same process to lead teams in addressing healthcare delivery challenges with data. The only informatics text written specifically for advanced practice nurses, Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse, Second Edition, takes an expansive, open, and innovative approach to thinking about technology. Every chapter is highly practical, filled with case studies and exercises that demonstrate how the content presented relates to the contemporary healthcare environment. Where applicable, concepts are aligned with the six domains within the Quality and Safety Education in Nursing (QSEN) approach and are tied to national goals and initiatives. Featuring chapters written by physicians, epidemiologists, engineers, dieticians, and health services researchers, the format of this text reflects its core principle that it takes a team to fully realize the benefit of technology for patients and healthcare consumers. What's NewSeveral chapters present new material to support teams' optimization of electronic health recordsUpdated national standards and initiativesIncreased focus and new information on usability, interoperability and workflow redesign throughout, based on latest evidenceExplores challenges and solutions of electronic clinical quality measures (eCQMs), a major initiative in healthcare informatics; Medicare and Medicaid Services use eCQMs to judge quality of care, and how dynamics change rapidly in today's environment Key FeaturesPresents national standards and healthcare initiativesProvides in-depth case studies for better understanding of informatics in practiceAddresses the DNP Essentials, including II: Organization and system leadership for quality improvement and systems thinking, IV: Core Competency for Informatics, and Interprofessional Collaboration for Improving Patient and Population health outcomesIncludes end-of-chapter exercises and questions for studentsInstructor's Guide and PowerPoint slides for instructorsAligned with QSEN graduate-level competencies
Call Number: ebook Central/ ProQuestISBN: 0826140459Publication Date: 2018-07-01
838 Advanced Pathophysiology
Additional Resources
Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Edition by
A concise full-color review of the mechanisms of blood diseases and disorders - based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course Lange Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Edition is a well-illustrated, easy-to-absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. Authored by world-renowned clinician/educators at Harvard Medical School and presented in full-color this concise, engagingly written monograph features content and organization based on a hematology course offered to second year students at that school. · Succinct, to-the-point coverage that reflects current medical education More than 200 full-color photographs and renderings of disease mechanisms and blood diseases Each chapter includes learning objectives and self-assessment questions Numerous tables and diagrams encapsulate important information
ISBN: 9781259642067Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine 8E by ISBN: 9781260026504Publication Date: 2019 (8th edition)
850: Organizational Theory and Health Care Systems
860: Applied Epidemiology & Biostatistics in Health Care
Statistics for Nursing: a Practical Approach by ISBN: 9781284254907Publication Date: 2022-12-239 Concurent users
Principles of Epidemiology in Public Health Practice: An Introduction to Applied Epidemiology and Biostatistics by Call Number: Direct downloadPublication Date: 2011/2012
Additional Resources:
Statistics for Advanced Practice Nurses and Health Professionals by
This comprehensive, graduate-level text for advanced practice nurses and other health care professionals provides state-of-the-art tools that facilitate the reading and interpretation of clinical research articles that use increasingly complex statistical techniques. It addresses clinically relevant topics in biostatistics beyond the usual introduction to linear models, such as survival analysis and evaluation of screening tests. The text emphasizes the importance of understanding the underlying logic of statistical inference and statistical models to support correct interpretation and effective translation into practice. It promotes appropriate statistical method selection for conducting translational research. With a focus on disseminating information in easily understandable language, the text addresses basic statistical reasoning and four different classes of statistical models. The appendix provides refreshers on the algebraic underpinnings of statistics. More complex algebraic derivations are highlighted in boxes throughout the text chapters. The text explains how to work with the exponential expressions and logarithms necessary for the interpretation of logistic and hazard regression models and features clear explanations of more sophisticated statistical models, inference, and analyses. Chapters include examples from current research and multiple exercises designed to reinforce learning.Key Features: End-of-chapter exercises include both problems of interpretation and numerical problems that can be solved via hand calculations. For instructors and students interested in practical data analysis, data sets and practice problems are available from Springer Publishing Companyis website with instructions in SPSS, STATA, and SAS formats.At the end of each chapter is a iLiterature Applicationi text box with interpretation questions about a recent research article that highlights the statistical model discussed in the chapter.Throughout the book, text boxes highlight the most important algebraic formulas useful in interpreting statistical methods.A chapter on data management practices and ethical issues of privacy maintenance is included.Nine appendices provide tables of major probability distributions, for example, normal, t- and F-distributions, and algebraic derivations of some of the most important results in statistics.
ISBN: 9780826198259Publication Date: 2014-01-01
A Practical Approach to Using Statistics in Health Research by
A hands-on guide to using statistics in health research, from planning, through analysis, and on to reporting A Practical Approach to Using Statistics in Health Research offers an easy to use, step-by-step guide for using statistics in health research. The authors use their experience of statistics and health research to explain how statistics fit in to all stages of the research process. They explain how to determine necessary sample sizes, interpret whether there are statistically significant difference in outcomes between groups, and use measured effect sizes to decide whether any changes are large enough to be relevant to professional practice. The text walks you through how to identify the main outcome measure for your study and the factor which you think may influence that outcome and then determine what type of data will be used to record both of these. It then describes how this information is used to select the most appropriate methods to report and analyze your data. A step-by-step guide on how to use a range of common statistical procedures are then presented in separate chapters. To help you make sure that you are using statistics robustly, the authors also explore topics such as multiple testing and how to check whether measured data follows a normal distribution. Videos showing how to use computer packages to carry out all the various methods mentioned in the book are available on our companion web site. This book: * Covers statistical aspects of all the stages of health research from planning to final reporting * Explains how to report statistical planning, how analyses were performed, and the results and conclusion * Puts the spotlight on consideration of clinical significance and not just statistical significance * Explains the importance of reporting 95% confidence intervals for effect size * Includes a systematic guide for selection of statistical tests and uses example data sets and videos to help you understand exactly how to use statistics Written as an introductory guide to statistics for healthcare professionals, students and lecturers in the fields of pharmacy, nursing, medicine, dentistry, physiotherapy, and occupational therapy, A Practical Approach to Using Statistics in Health Research:From Planning to Reporting is a handy reference that focuses on the application of statistical methods within the health research context.
ISBN: 9781119383574Publication Date: 2018-05-08
862: Practice Inquiry & IRB
Clinical analytics and data management for the DNP by
7 concurrent users total. Contact the Liaison Librarian if you need a specific chapter due to the book being unavailable.
Call Number: RequiredISBN: 9780826142788Publication Date: 2018
Clinical Analytics and Data Management for the DNP by ISBN: 9780826163233Publication Date: 2023-02-28
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care by
Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title! Designed as both a text for the DNP curriculum and a practical resource for seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed book demonstrates the importance of an interprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and health care practice in both clinical and nonclinical environments. The third edition reflects the continuing evolution of translation frameworks by expanding the Methods and Process section and providing updated exemplars illustrating actual translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the health care delivery system. It incorporates important new information about legal and ethical issues, the institutional review process for quality improvement and research, and teamwork and building teams for translation. Additionally, an unfolding case study on translation is threaded throughout the text. Reorganized for greater ease of use, the third edition continues to deliver applicable theory and practical strategies to lead translation efforts and meet DNP core competency requirements. It features a variety of relevant change management theories and presents strategies for improving health care outcomes and quality and safety. It also addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education, discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers, and describes the interprofessional collaborative imperative for our complex health care environment. Consistently woven throughout are themes of integration and application of knowledge into practice, leadership and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessional applications across settings. New to the Third Edition: Expands the Methods and Process section Provides updated exemplars illustrating translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the health care delivery system Reorganized into a more user-friendly format Includes an entire new section, "Enablers of Translation" Delivers expanded information on Legal and Ethical Issues Present new chapters, "Teamwork and Building Teams for Translation" and "The Institutional Review Process for Quality Improvement and Research" Weaves an unfolding case study on translation throughout the text Key Features: Authored by esteemed experts and educators in practical translation of evidence Delivers applicable theories and strategies that meet DNP core requirements Presents a variety of relevant change management theories Offers strategies for improving outcomes and quality and safety Addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education Discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers Underscores the importance of translating evidence into practice to improve health care and its delivery Supplies extensive lists of references, web links, and other resources to enhance learning Purchase includes access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: LIMITED TO 3 CONCURRENT USERS.ISBN: 9780826147363Publication Date: 2019-11-28
