615 NURSM Methodologies of Online Teaching
Designing and Teaching Online Courses in Nursing by
Despite astronomical growth in the number of online nursing programs currently available, little support is provided for faculty on how to teach in this environment. While most assume that the knowledge and skills required for classroom teaching are readily translatable to teaching online, significant differences exist. Characteristics unique to the online environment promote reflection and engagement with the content in a deep and meaningful way that factors in adult students' strengths as self-directed, motivated, and goal-driven learners. This resource provides step-by-step instructions for RN to Bachelor of Science in Nursing, master's, Doctor of Nursing Practice, and PhD faculty on how to teach online effectively, engage students, and foster success for both student and teacher. Designing and Teaching Online Courses in Nursing offers practical information on every aspect of teaching an online course. Foundational educational theories and concepts, including new insights from cognitive psychology, are explained and linked in such a way that operationalizing them during course design makes good sense. The core sections of the text focus on online course design, including drafting course objectives and a syllabus and crafting discussion questions or cases. Key to teaching an online course is understanding and being comfortable with facilitation strategies to maintain a balance between being present in the course and not getting in the way of learning. Worksheets with guiding questions, discussion tracking tools, and other instructor resources will assist readers in developing the best approach for designing and teaching a specific online course. KEY FEATURES: Provides online worksheets to guide each step of the process of designing and teaching a course onlineIncludes best practices in online education and the latest researchFeatures the outcomes-based approach of Wiggins and McTighe, reconceptualized for online course developmentRecaps key points in Take-Away summaries at the end of each chapter
ISBN: 9780826134080Publication Date: 2017-04-01
703 Course Materials
Teaching in Nursing and Role of the Educator, Second Edition by
With essential, updated content for novice and experienced nurse educators This evidence-based text delivers the full scope of knowledge necessary for novice and experienced faculty to become competent teachers in nursing. The only book to focus on the full academic role, it encompasses all of the key concepts required for effective teaching, curriculum development, evaluation and testing, becoming a scholar in nursing education, and much more. The second edition is updated throughout and includes four new chapters on Understanding the Learner, Interprofessional Education, Curriculum Models, and Global Nursing Education. It offers new content on role of the nurse educator, learning theories, active learning, flipped class/team-based learning, teaching strategies, teaching in an online nursing course, using new technologies and simulation, clinical teaching and evaluation, test construction, scholarship of teaching, and more. Chapters begin with objectives and conclude with a content summary. Each chapter integrates research and evidence into the text and includes specific examples of the methods and strategies presented, and 'How-to Tips' for readers. Also available with the book is an online course with sample course syllabus, modules for each chapter, learner activities, discussion forum questions, and Power Point slides. New to the Second Edition: Four new chapters: Understanding the Learner, Interprofessional Education, Curriculum Models, and Global Nursing EducationLearning concepts important in teachingActive learning strategies, flipped class/team-based learningTeaching in online nursing courses and programsNew technologies and what's new in simulationInnovative models of clinical teachingAssessment, evaluation, and test constructionCurriculum development and evaluationScholarship of teaching and becoming a scholar in nursing educationDeveloping partnerships with clinical settingsNew ancillary with complete online course of 20 modules Key Features: Encompasses current, evidence-based information about the complete academic role--the only text of its kindDelivers key concepts required for effective teaching, curriculum development, evaluation and testing, scholarship, and morePrepares graduate nursing students and nurses transitioning into educator role with essential knowledge and competenciesIncludes both theoretical and practical informationProvides specific examples of content and "how to" tips
ISBN: 9780826140142Publication Date: 2018 2nd ed
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education, Fifth Edition by
Considered the "gold standard" for evaluation and testing in nursing education, this fifth edition of the classic text helps educators to assess the level of learning achieved in the classroom, in clinical settings, and online with expanded coverage of essential concepts in assessment, evaluation, and testing in a wider variety of learning environments. It presents new content on evaluation in online programs and testing and features a new chapter on using simulation for assessment and high-stakes evaluations. Also included is updated information on clinical evaluation and program evaluation along with current research featuring new examples and tools. The fifth edition expands content on standardized tests, including how to write test items for licensure and certification exam prep, and provides new information on developing rubrics for assessing written assignments. The fifth edition is distinguished from other texts by its focus on developing a framework that integrates all types of evaluation in a nursing program. It addresses how to develop a test blueprint and assemble, administer, write, and analyze tests. It provides rubrics for scoring tests and written assignments along with examples. Its guidelines for preventing cheating and conducting productive post-test discussions are especially helpful to educators. Additionally, the book explores important social, ethical, and legal issues associated with testing and evaluation. It meets National League for Nursing's Certification Competency #3: Use Assessment and Evaluation Strategies. NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Expanded coverage of essential concepts in assessment, evaluation, and testing in classroom and clinical educationA new chapter on using simulation for assessment and high-stakes evaluationNew information on evaluation in online courses, programs, and testingExpanded content on clinical evaluation and program evaluationCurrent research and new examples and toolsHow to write test items that prepare students for licensure and certification examsExpanded coverage on developing rubrics for assessing written assignments KEY FEATURES: Describes how to develop a test blueprint and assemble, administer, write, and analyze testsProvides sample grading rubricsDemonstrates strategies for evaluating higher levels of learningExplains how to evaluate written assignments with sample scoring rubricsIncludes an Instructor Manual with sample syllabus, PowerPoint slides, and an online course with 17 modules, each with student learning activities, discussion questions, and online resources
ISBN: 9780826194886Publication Date: 2016-12-15
