856 ACAR (Advanced Clinical Assessment and Reasoning)
- United States Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF). The Guide to Clinical Preventive Health ServicesDownload a free mobile or web version: http://epss.ahrq.gov/PDA/index.jsp
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Includes head-to-toe and system based physical examination videos, and OSCE clinical skills videos.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26 (13th edition)
Bright Futures by
This essential resource provides key background information and recommendations for themes critical to healthy child development along with well-child supervision standards for 31 age-based visits - from Newborn through 21 years. The result: better health care, more efficient visits, stronger partnerships with children and families, and better ability to keep up with changes in family, communities, and society that affect a child's health.
ISBN: 9781610020220Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Guide to Clinical Documentation by ISBN: 9780803666627Publication Date: 2018-08-16not available
Guide to Clinical Preventive Services 2014. by You can also download a free mobile app: http://epss.ahrq.gov/PDA/index.jsp
The Patient History by
The definitive evidence-based introduction to patient history-taking NOW IN FULL COLOR A Doody's Core Title for 2015! For medical students and other health professions students, an accurate differential diagnosis starts with The Patient History. The ideal companion to major textbooks on the physical examination, this trusted guide is widely acclaimed for its skill-building, and evidence based approach to the medical history. Now in full color, The Patient History defines best practices for the patient interview, explaining how to effectively elicit information from the patient in order to generate an accurate differential diagnosis. The second edition features all-new chapters, case scenarios, and a wealth of diagnostic algorithms. Introductory chapters articulate the fundamental principles of medical interviewing. The book employs a rigorous evidenced-based approach, reviewing and highlighting relevant citations from the literature throughout each chapter. Features NEW! Case scenarios introduce each chapter and place history-taking principles in clinical context NEW! Self-assessment multiple choice Q&A conclude each chapter--an ideal review for students seeking to assess their retention of chapter material NEW! Full-color presentation Essential chapter on red eye, pruritus, and hair loss Symptom-based chapters covering 59 common symptoms and clinical presentations Diagnostic approach section after each chapter featuring color algorithms and several multiple-choice questions Hundreds of practical, high-yield questions to guide the history, ranging from basic queries to those appropriate for more experienced clinicians
ISBN: 9780071624947Publication Date: 2012-07-04
Pediatric Physical Examination by
Known for its accuracy, consistency, and portability, Pediatric Physical Examination: An Illustrated Handbook, 3rd Edition teaches the unique range of skills needed to assess children of all ages. Spiral-bound for quick reference in clinical settings, this photo-rich, step-by-step guide to physical examination for advanced practice providers prepares you to expertly examine children from birth through adolescence. Body system chapters begin with fetal development and take you through the key developmental stages of childhood. For infants and young children, Duderstadt uses the quiet-to-active approach favored by pediatric experts and considered more effective for this age-group than the traditional head-to-toe approach used for adults. This edition features a new chapter on newborn physical examination, expanded coverage of skin conditions and new Red Flag highlights that help you recognize high-priority health issues. Expert guidance for the pediatric exam employs the quiet-to-active approach to the examination and assessment of infants - including preterm infants - and young children. This pediatric assessment approach, which starts with listening and moves on to touching, yields the best results in this age group. Richly illustrated in full color to help facilitate learning, with more than 300 photos and drawings that familiarize you with assessment techniques and common assessment findings. Easy-to-use two-column format provides quick access to concise guidance for the pediatric physical exam. Quick-reference special features, including: Information Gathering tables highlight questions and data needed from the patient/guardian, with questions conveniently separated by age group, to guide history-taking. Concise Conditions tables summarize common abnormal findings for each examination area. Pediatric Pearls highlight effective physical examination findings and techniques gleaned from years of expert practice. Family, Cultural, and Racial Considerations sections address the increasingly important areas of family and cultural assessment to prepare you for differences to anticipate when assessing children of various cultural or racial groups. Evidence-Based Practice Tips highlight useful research findings that guide clinical practice. Bulleted Summary of Examination lists at the end of each examination chapter highlight key assessment points associated with each body system and serve as a convenient learning aid and quick reference. End-of-chapter Charting examples demonstrate how to record physical examination findings in the health record and familiarize you with documentation language and format. Convenient spiral binding lets you lay the book flat or fold it back for easy visualization and quick reference in clinical settings. NEW! Completely new Newborn Assessment chapter equips you to provide comprehensive assessment of newborn patients. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of skin conditions equips you to effectively assess the common pediatric skin conditions that you will encounter in day-to-day practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Red Flag feature alerts you to recognize such issues as trauma, neglect, health issues related to conflict-related geographic displacement, and other high-priority health issues that practitioners encounter (e.g., croup, developmental delay). UNIQUE! Interprofessional Collaboration feature promotes engagement with other healthcare and non-healthcare professionals, such as Occupational Therapists, Physical Therapists, physicians, medical specialists, counselors, or other professional resources. NEW! Updated content throughout, including the latest coverage of gender considerations, autism spectrum disorder screening, and electronic documentation (charting via the EHR).
ISBN: 9780323476508Publication Date: 2018-02-16
Psychiatric interviewing : the art of understanding by
The delicate dance : engagement and empathy -- Beyond empathy : cornerstone concepts and techniques for enhancing engagement -- The dynamic structure of the interview : core tasks, strategies, and the continuum of open-endedness -- Facilics : the art of transforming interviews into conversations -- Validity techniques for exploring sensitive material and uncovering the truth -- Understanding the person beneath the diagnosis : the search for uniqueness, wellness, and cultural context -- Assessment perspectives and the human matrix : bridges to effective treatment planning in the initial interview -- Nonverbal behavior : the interview as mime -- Mood disorders : how to sensitively arrive at a differential diagnosis -- Interviewing techniques for understanding the person beneath the mood disorder -- Psychotic disorders : how to sensitively arrive at a differential diagnosis -- Interviewing techniques for understanding the person beneath the psychosis -- Personality disorders : before the interview begins -- core concepts -- Personality disorders : how to sensitively arrive at a differential diagnosis -- Understanding and effectively engaging people with difficult personality disorders : the psychodynamic lens -- The mental status : how to perform and document it effectively -- Exploring suicidal ideation : the delicate art of suicide assessment -- Exploring violent and homicidal ideation : from domestic violence to mass murder -- Transforming anger, confrontation, and other points of disengagement -- Culturally adaptive interviewing : the challenging art of exploring culture, worldview, and spirituality -- Vantage points : bridges to psychotherapy -- Motivational interviewing (mi) : a foundation stone in collaborative interviewing -- Medication interest model (MIM) : moving from mere "adherence" to genuine interest and effective use -- Appendices. An introduction to the facilic schematic system: a shorthand for supervisors and supervisees (interactive computer module) -- Annotated initial interview (direct transcript) -- The written document/electronic health record (EHR): effective strategies.
ISBN: 9781437737820Publication Date: 2017
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence Based Guide, Fourth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. "This book is a tremendous asset for students and residents learning to develop their diagnostic skills. It can also be useful as a refresher for established clinicians when the more common diagnoses are not the cause of a patient's complaints." --Doody's Review An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine Symptom to Diagnosis, Fourth Edition teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted. Completely updated to reflect the latest research in clinical medicine, this fourth edition is enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, questions that direct evaluation, and an examination of recently developed diagnostic tools and guidelines. Clinical pearls are featured in every chapter. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment.
ISBN: 1260121119Publication Date: 2019-11-21
