708: Advanced Health Policy and Advocacy Resources
- Academy Health - Health policy information on the evolving health system.
- Center for Health Care Strategies - Health policy resource center information on access, quality and cost-effectiveness in publicly financed health care.
- Commonwealth Fund - Access independent research on health care issues and health care practice and policy.
- Global Health Policy Research Network - Research on high-priority global health policy issues
- Kaiser Family Foundation Health and Law - Policy research and analysis, and in-depth health policy news coverage.
- National Health Policy Forum - Health policy information for federal health policy staff featuring basic education on specific policies, programs, and issues, to complex analyses of the health care system, including information from important research studies, demonstrations, and innovative community efforts.
- Robert Wood Johnson Foundation - Information and funding for research and programs to build a Culture of Health.
- PH Partners Legislation and Policy - Resources to support legislation and policy at the state and federal levels.
|
American Journal of Health Promotion |
American Journal of Managed Care |
| Health Affairs | |
| Health Policy | Inquiry: The Journal of Health Care Organization, Provision, and Financing |
| Journal of Health Economics | Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved |
| Journal of Health Politics Policy and Law | Journal of Public Health Policy |
| Journal of the American Medical Association | Milbank Quarterly |
|
Medical Care Research and Review |
Medicare and Medicaid Research Review |
| New England Journal of Medicine | Public Health Reports |
| Public Health Reports | Value in Health |
Due to copyright issues, the policy book has been removed.
842: Adv. Pharmacology
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15e by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters
ISBN: 9781260452310Publication Date: 2020-12-05
846: Frameworks for Leadership
Transformational Leadership in Nursing, Second Edition by
This award-winning text guides nursing graduate students in developing the key skills they need to fulfill emerging leadership roles as our health care system experiences profound change and increasing complexity. The book provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration that will help to facilitate leadership at the highest level of clinical practice. This second edition is expanded and updated to incorporate leadership challenges resulting from health care reform, changes in the current vision of health care, and innovations that foster leadership development. Two completely new chapters address transformational leadership regarding changing health care perspectives and emerging contexts for health care. The text helps graduate students to master the skills they need to work effectively with interdisciplinary colleagues, address challenges within the confines of budget constraints, and resolve health care disparities and improve outcomes in all settings. With contributions from expert scholars and clinicians in the humanities, natural and social sciences, organizational studies, business, nursing, and other health care sciences, this inspirational text fulfills the DNP core competencies as described in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials of DNP Education. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded to incorporate new leadership challenges resulting from health care reformExpands the scope of leadership to encompass emerging health care contexts, transformation of vision, and practice innovations Includes a new chapter addressing transformative leadership vis-a-vis changing health care perspectives Presents a new chapter describing emerging contexts for health care and how to build a respectful culture in which emerging leaders can thriveIncludes updated tools, health care paradigms, and leadership inspiration Presents cases and reflective questions that help students apply the theoretical content to their own situations and generate discussion across cohorts of students Key Features: Written expressly for APRNs transitioning into leadership rolesGrounded in competencies and essentials of doctorate education for advanced nursing practiceTraces the trajectory from expert clinician to role of leader of complex organizations and patient populationsDraws from experts in the humanities, natural and social sciences, business, nursing, and health care
ISBN: 9780826193988Publication Date: 2016-09-28
The New Leadership Challenge by ISBN: 9780803657663Publication Date: 2016-09-01Not available electronically but
- Request a CHAPTER electronically through Interlibrary Loan (choose "book chapter" from left side of Interlibrary Loan page)
858 Evidence Based Practice, Quality & Safety
Clinical Analytics and Data Management for the DNP by ISBN: 9780826163233Publication Date: 2023-02-28
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project by Call Number: Limited to 3 Concurrent UsersISBN: 9781284156959Publication Date: 2019-03-11
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
ISBN: 9781119484721Publication Date: 2019-04-04
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by ISBN: 1948057883Publication Date: 2021-07-15
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: Website, not complete bookISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care by ISBN: 9780826147363Publication Date: 2019-11-28
862: Practice Inquiry & IRB
Clinical analytics and data management for the DNP by
7 concurrent users total. Contact the Liaison Librarian if you need a specific chapter due to the book being unavailable.
Call Number: RequiredISBN: 9780826142788Publication Date: 2018- Clinical Analytics and Data Management for the DNP by ISBN: 9780826163233Publication Date: 2023-02-28
- Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care by
Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title! Designed as both a text for the DNP curriculum and a practical resource for seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed book demonstrates the importance of an interprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and health care practice in both clinical and nonclinical environments. The third edition reflects the continuing evolution of translation frameworks by expanding the Methods and Process section and providing updated exemplars illustrating actual translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the health care delivery system. It incorporates important new information about legal and ethical issues, the institutional review process for quality improvement and research, and teamwork and building teams for translation. Additionally, an unfolding case study on translation is threaded throughout the text. Reorganized for greater ease of use, the third edition continues to deliver applicable theory and practical strategies to lead translation efforts and meet DNP core competency requirements. It features a variety of relevant change management theories and presents strategies for improving health care outcomes and quality and safety. It also addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education, discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers, and describes the interprofessional collaborative imperative for our complex health care environment. Consistently woven throughout are themes of integration and application of knowledge into practice, leadership and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessional applications across settings. New to the Third Edition: Expands the Methods and Process section Provides updated exemplars illustrating translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the health care delivery system Reorganized into a more user-friendly format Includes an entire new section, "Enablers of Translation" Delivers expanded information on Legal and Ethical Issues Present new chapters, "Teamwork and Building Teams for Translation" and "The Institutional Review Process for Quality Improvement and Research" Weaves an unfolding case study on translation throughout the text Key Features: Authored by esteemed experts and educators in practical translation of evidence Delivers applicable theories and strategies that meet DNP core requirements Presents a variety of relevant change management theories Offers strategies for improving outcomes and quality and safety Addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education Discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers Underscores the importance of translating evidence into practice to improve health care and its delivery Supplies extensive lists of references, web links, and other resources to enhance learning Purchase includes access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: LIMITED TO 3 CONCURRENT USERS.ISBN: 9780826147363Publication Date: 2019-11-28
868: Neuroscience for APRNs
- Neuroscience Education InstituteNeuroscience Education Institute: student will join and utilize over the course of the program
- Stahl's Online (Comprehensive) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and regularly updated, providing full access to the entire current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr Stahl. A one-stop shop, covering everything a doctor, teacher or trainee will ever need to know about neuropsychopharmacology.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
ISBN: 9780890425558Publication Date: 2013-05-22
