Skip to Main Content

MUSC College of Dental Medicine

Quick Facts

Founded in 1964

In 1952, the South Carolina Dental Association recommended that a school of dentistry be established as a unit of the Medical College of South Carolina. The state legislature authorized the development of the School of Dental Medicine the following year, but it was not until 1964 that the legislature provided the funds to implement the 1953 authorization. In 1964 John Buhler was appointed dean of the school of dentistry and the school operated in temporary quarters, primarily in Colcock Hall. The school's new building, the Basic Sciences/College of Dental Medicine building, was ready for occupancy in December 1970. The first students were admitted in 1967, and the first class of 21 students received D.M.D. degrees in June 1971.


175 Ashley Avenue | MSC 403 | Charleston, SC 29425 | (843) 792-2288