Skip to main content

MUSC University Archives



The MUSC University Archives plays a crucial role in preserving and providing access to administrative, legal, and historical records of the Medical University of South Carolina and its six colleges. Collections span from the founding of the college in 1824 up through the present day. Current holdings include central administration records, individual college records, departmental records, campus publications, photographs, oral histories, artifacts and ephemera. The Archives also maintains a collection of non-official records, including faculty papers, that preserve the history of the university. Records are available in paper, electronic, audiovisual or digital format.

What We Collect

The MUSC University Archives encourages members of the MUSC community to play an active role in preserving the institution's history by transferring to the Archives office records of permanent historical value or by donating personal papers reflective of one's tenure with the university.

Archives staff work closely with depositors to identify materials suitable for transfer. In general, records generated by core university activities are most likely to be of long-term archival value. For example, administrative records from the Office of the President and Deans of the Colleges of Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing, Dental Medicine, Health Professions, and Graduate Studies. Records of administrative and organizational changes, curriculum activities, policy and procedural developments, media and publicity activities, and more are highly desirable for long-term retention. The format of these records may include printed material, correspondence, electronic files, digital files, record books, minutes, committee files, financial records, photographs, and associated papers.

The MUSC University Archives may also collect non-official records that preserve the history of the university on a case-by-case basis, such as faculty papers.

For guidelines on transferring your records to the University Archives, please click here


175 Ashley Avenue | MSC 403 | Charleston, SC 29425 | (843) 792-2288