Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
AHRQ is committed to improving care safety and quality by developing successful partnerships and generating the knowledge and tools required for long-term improvement. The central goal of our research is measurable improvements in health care in America, gauged in terms of improved quality of life and patient outcomes, lives saved, and value gained for what we spend. http://www.ahrq.gov/fund/grantix.htm
The Federal Registrar
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. https://www.federalregister.gov/
Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE)
Provides assistance for innovative programs that improve the access to and the quality of postsecondary education. Priority is given to activities that relate to improving access, retention, and graduation rates; improving college-school cooperation; and developing new educational technologies. Grants range from $50,000 to $250,000. https://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ope/fipse/index.html
Health Resources & Services Administration
The Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA) of the Department of Health & Human Services offers funding for health professions education and training programs. The agency makes funds accessible to support area health education centers. http://www.hrsa.gov/grants/default.htm
Institute of Education Sciences (IES)
Established 13 programs of research (topics) under its Education Research Grants Program. Each of these topics accepts applications once per year. Application deadlines are announced in the Federal Register and on the IES website. https://ies.ed.gov/funding/ncer_progs.asp
The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy Research Grants
The NASBA will fund and award up to three grants totaling up to $25,000 for one-year research projects, intended for researchers at higher institutions. https://nasba.org/education/researchgrants/
National Endowment of the Humanities (NEH)
Provides grants to individuals and institutions which support programs for research in the humanities, educational opportunities for teachers, preservation of texts and materials, translations of important works, museum exhibitions, television and radio programs, and public discussion and study. The NEH does not fund work in the creative or performing arts. http://www.neh.gov/
National Institutes of Health Guide Listserv
The NIH Guide is the official publication for grant policies, guidelines, and funding opportunities. https://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/listserv.htm
To subscribe, send an e-mail to listserv@list.nih.gov with the following text in the message body (not the subject line): subscribe NIHTOC-L Your Name
National Science Foundation (NSF)
With an annual budget of about $5.5 billion, they are the funding source for approximately 20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America’s colleges and universities. The Foundation offers a large number of programs that are updated regularly. www.nsf.gov and see key grant opportunities for STEM education System for Award Management. The official U.S. government website for people who make, receive, and manage federal awards. Provides access to a database of all federal programs available to state and local governments. https://beta.sam.gov
U.S. Department of Education
Grants and Contracts – offers information about current contract and grant opportunities, forecasts for possible upcoming opportunities, instructions for being included on the contract bidders mailing list, and other useful documents. https://www2.ed.gov/fund/grants-apply.html?src=pn
U.S. Department of Energy
Qualified individuals and institutions get money for bringing their energy-related ideas to life, though sustainability seems the most popular trend at this time. https://www.energy.gov/college-continuedlearning
U.S. Department of Labor
Employment and Training Administration (DOL) - Visit the DOE website for all of the agency’s funding programs, and a list of currently open DOE grant competitions. You can also monitor forecasts of funding opportunities by office with due date, grant announcements, and contact information. Read the latest DOE news, funding opportunities, and helpful teaching and learning resources. https://www2.ed.gov/fund/landing.jhtml
MUSC Center for Global Health
The MUSC Center for Global Health has compiled a list of finding resources and opportunities to help MUSC faculty , residents, fellows, staff and students interested in global health further their research education and training projects. http://globalhealth.musc.edu/funding-new
The Chronicle of Philanthropy New Grants
Another excellent search engine entirely dedicated to helping the most innovative thinkers obtain the money needed to move forward with their projects. https://www.philanthropy.com/grants?cid=UCOPNAVTOP
Council on Foundations
Corporations, nonprofits, and other institutions gather here to talk best practices in philanthropy and where to find what for various projects. https://www.cof.org/
Federal Grants Wire
Federal Grants Wire is a free resource for federal grants, government grants and loans. Funding opportunities are categorized into the following groupings: by applicant type, by subject area, by agency, and by name. http://www.federalgrantswire.com/
Foundation Center
One of the largest databases of philanthropy in the United States contains information from more than 550 institutions eager to donate their money to creative, technical, medical, scientific, and plenty of other kinds of causes. http://foundationcenter.org/
Foundation Directory Online
Extensive, up-to-date database of philanthropic giving. http://foundationcenter.org/find-funding
To use contact Ms. Linda Cox, Interim Vice President for Development and Alumni Affairs in the Office of Development for log-in information. coxl@musc.edu
GrantForward
Resource of grants from more than 9,000 sponsors in the United States. The site leverages data-crawling technology to constantly add new funding opportunities. https://www.grantforward.com/search
Grants.Gov
Grants.gov provides a comprehension search engine, whereby searches are available by category and agency. Also listed is an advanced search engine that allows searches by date, funding activity category, funding instrument type, and funding agency. http://www.grants.gov/
GrantSelect
Whether looking for money to advance an educational, nonprofit, artistic, or other worthwhile cause. GrantSelect makes it easy to find funding. https://www.grantselect.com/
The Grantsmanship Center
Research funding by state and see what donors prefer. https://www.tgci.com/funding-sources
K12 Grants.info
Provides a comprehensive index of grants available for educational research. Funding opportunities are categorized into 7 groupings including distance learning and higher education. http://www.k12grants.info/
Pivot
Pivot claims it hosts an estimated $44 billion worth of grants, fellowships, awards, and more, accessed by more than three million scholars worldwide. https://pivot.cos.com/funding_opps/164199
Research Professional
Government-to-nonprofit grant database. http://info.researchprofessional.com/
3M Gives
Focuses on 3 areas: education, community, and environment. http://www.3Mgiving.com
AAMC
Medical Education Scholarship Research and Evaluation (MESRE) Section. The mission of the Section for Medical Education Scholarship Research and Evaluation (MESRE) is to enhance the quality of research in medical education and to promote its application to educational practice. https://www.aamc.org/members/gea/gea_sections/mesre/
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
Funding is available here throughout the year, covering science and engineering as well as causes that overlap with civics, education, and economics. https://sloan.org/grants/apply
AMA (American Medical Association)
The AMA Foundation is dedicated to improving the health of all Americans by hosting public education campaigns and supporting community service efforts across the country. https://www.ama-assn.org/about/community-health-programs
American Association of University Women Educational Foundation
The American Association of University Women (AAUW) Educational Foundation provides grants for professional development and projects designed to advance females’ achievement in math, science, and technology. http://www.aauw.org/fga/fellowships_grants/
The American Educational Research Association (AERA)
Provides small grants, fellowships, and training for researchers who conduct studies of education policy and practice using quantitative methods and including the analysis of data from the large-scale data sets sponsored by National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) and the National Science Foundation(NSF). http://www.aera.net/Professional-Opportunities-Funding/AERA-Funding-Opportunities/Grants-Program
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
Supports a wide range of initiatives to strengthen the humanities, arts, higher education, and cultural heritage. http://www.mellon.org
Arnold P. Gold Foundation
Awards recognize and celebrate the integrity, compassion, altruism, respect, empathy and service that must be combined with clinical excellence to provide optimal patient care. http://www.gold-foundation.org/programs/research/mtl/
Arthur Vining Davis Foundations
The Arthur Vining Davis Foundation provides financial assistance to educational, cultural, scientific, and religious institutions. http://www.avdf.org/Grants/GrantsOverview.aspx
Association for Institutional Research (AIR)
The AccessLex Institute/AIR Research and Dissertation Fellows Program is a partnership between the AccessLex Institute and AIR. The program is a grant competition promoting scholarship on issues related to access, affordability and value of legal education specifically, and graduate and professional education more broadly. Research grants of up $50,000 and dissertation grants of up to $25,000 are available. http://www.airweb.org/GrantsAndScholarships/Pages/default.aspx
ASE
Awards provide documentation of teaching excellence to support promotion and tenure decisions and will further emphasize teaching as an important area of academic expertise. http://www.surgicaleducation.com/ase-education-awards
Bush Foundation Fellowship Program
Leadership in its many forms are the main focus of the BFFP, who give money to people dedicated to improving their communities. https://www.bushfoundation.org/fellowships/bush-fellowship
Carnegie Corporation of NY
Awards grants to promote international peace and to advance education and knowledge. https://www.carnegie.org/programs
Comcast Corporation – Comcast Foundation
Invests in and partners with individuals, programs and organizations that move communities forward through leadership, empowerment, technology and innovation. http://corporate.comcast.com/our-values/community-investment/philanthropy-partnerships?fss=foundation
The Ford Foundation
Mission is to reduce poverty and injustice, strengthen democratic values, promote international cooperation, and advance human achievement. Additional grants are available in civic engagement and government, creativity and free expression, future of work, gender, racial and ethnic justice, internet freedom, just cities and regions, natural resources and climate change. http://www.fordfound.org
Foundation Center
Founded in 1956, the Foundation Center is the nation’s leading authority on philanthropy philanthropy to serving grant-seekers, grant-makers, researchers, policymakers, the media and the general public. http://foundationcenter.org/
Medical University Of South Carolina
The Fulbright Program The Fulbright Program offers grants in nearly 140 countries to further areas of education, culture, and science. https://www.cies.org/
Henry Luce Foundation - Higher Education Grants
Seeks to bring important ideas to the center of American life, strengthen international understanding, and foster innovation and leadership in academic, policy, religious, and art communities. http://www.hluce.org/highedguidelinesspotlight.aspx
Howard Hughes Medical Institute - Grants and Special Programs
Offers grants to students and institutions to promote science education. http://www.hhmi.org/scienceeducation/developing-scientists
International Educational Research Foundation
The goal of the International Educational Research Foundation (IERF) conduct research and disseminate information on world educational systems and to facilitate the integration of individuals educated outside the United States into the U.S. educational environment and work force. http://www.ierf.org/forinstitutions/research-grants/
Lumina Foundation for Education, Inc.
This foundation provides funding for initiatives designed to “increase awareness of the benefits of higher education, improve student access to and preparedness for college, improve student success in college and increase productivity across the higher education system.” Follow the Lumina Foundation via monthly or daily emails or RSS feeds. http://www.luminafoundation.org
Macy Foundation
The Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation is dedicated to improving the health of the public by advancing the education and training of health professionals. Their grantmaking is focused primarily in five priority areas: Interprofessional Education and Teamwork, New Curriculum Content., New Models for Clinical Education, Career Development in Health Professions Education, and Education for the Care of Underserved Populations. http://macyfoundation.org/apply/programs https://www.arts.gov/grantsorganizations/research-art-works
National Endowments for the Arts
The National Endowment for the Arts’ Office of Research & Analysis makes awards to support research that investigates the value and/or impact of the arts, either as individual components of the U.S. arts ecology or as they interact with each other and/or with other domains of American life. https://www.arts.gov/grants-organizations/research-art-works
NEH
The National Endowment for the Humanities Research grants from TNEH support interpretive humanities research undertaken by a team of two or more scholars. Research must use the knowledge and perspectives of the humanities and historical or philosophical methods to enhance understanding of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences. https://www.neh.gov/grants
The NEA Foundation
The NEA Foundation provides grants and assistance to teachers, education support personnel, and higher education faculty and staff to improve student learning in the nation’s public schools. https://www.neafoundation.org/for-educators/grant-resources/
Philip Manning Research Grant in Continuing Medical Education
The Research Endowment Council of the Society for Academic Continuing Medical Education (SACME) sponsors original research studies related to physician life-long learning and physician change. Submitted proposals must use either quantitative or qualitative methods in an arduous scientific design. One award of up to $50,000 is made every two years for proposals lasting two years. Primarily a letter of intent must be submitted and be accompanied by a letter of support from the director of the CME program at a SACME member’s organization. www.sacme.org/SACME_grants
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
The foundation is devoted exclusively to health and health care and concentrates its grant-making on healthy communities, healthy children/healthy weight, health systems, and leadership for better health. http://www.rwjf.org
RSNA Foundation Radiology Education Grants
The Foundation is taking a fresh approach to education grant funding to facilitate the development and delivery of new, innovative educational products. Together with specific topics of interest representing both current and future educational needs in radiology, the opportunity to award large, multi-year, multiinstitution grants of up to $525,000 will result in the creation of educational products with widespread, enduring impact. https://www.rsna.org/Grants-and-Awards/
Schott Foundation
The Schott Foundation works to develop and strengthen the movement for equity in education and child care. Areas of focus are high quality early education, fair and just school resources, wraparound student supports, teaching quality supports, and fair and just school climate. http://www.schottfoundation.org/
Spencer Foundation
Funds support research which contributes to the understanding and improvement of education. Grant programs include funding for faculty research and a variety of fellowship programs. http://www.spencer.org/
Medical University Of South Carolina
Stemmler Medical Education Research Fund Offered by the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME), supports research or development of innovative assessment approaches that enhance the evaluation of persons preparing to or continuing to practice medicine. Funding is made available to both pilot and more comprehensive projects. Requests for up to $150,000 for a project period of up to two years are considered. Submission deadline is typically in May for letters of intent and July for full proposals if requested. www.nbme.org/research/stemmler.html
The Teagle Foundation
This foundation is “committed to promoting and strengthening liberal education.” Their programs “generally encourage collaboration among institutions, seeking to generate new knowledge on issues of importance to higher education.” http://www.teaglefoundation.org/Grants-Initiatives
Venture Well
Venture Well provides grants of up to $30,000 to help fund and support faculty with innovative ideas to create new or transform existing courses and programs to help students develop novel, STEM-based inventions and gain the necessary entrepreneurial skills needed to bring these ideas to market. https://venturewell.org/facultygrants
Verizon Foundation
Priorities are STEM education for K-12 youth, and domestic violence education and prevention for youth, women and older adults. http://www.verizon.com/about/responsibility/giving-and-grants
The Wallace Foundation
Enables institutions to expand learning and enrichment opportunities for all people. and focus on three objectives: strengthen education leadership to improve student achievement; improve after-school learning opportunities; and expand participation in arts and culture. http://www.wallacefoundation.org
W. K. Kellogg Foundation
Targets its grants toward “Educated Kids”, “Healthy Kids”, “Secure Families”, “Racial Equity”, and “Civic Engagement”. http://www.wkkf.org
William T. Grant Foundation
The mission of the foundation is to help create a society that values young people and enables them to reach their full potential. In pursuit of this goal, the foundation invests in research and in people and projects that use evidence-based approaches. Current grants seek research that builds stronger theory and empirical evidence in the these two areas: programs, policies, and practices that reduce inequality in youth outcomes, and strategies to improve the use of research evidence in ways that benefit youth. http://www.wtgrantfoundation.org
Amazon Web Services
AWS has two programs to enable customers to move their research or teaching endeavors to the cloud and innovate quickly and at lower cost: The AWS Cloud Credits for Research program (formerly AWS Research Grants) and AWS Educate – a global initiative to provide students and educators with the resources needed to greatly accelerate cloud-related learning endeavors and to help power the entrepreneurs, workforce, and researchers of tomorrow. https://aws.amazon.com/grants/
AstraZeneca Medical Education Research Grants
AstraZeneca is committed to supporting quality Independent Medical Education that enhances patient care and meets our standards of quality and compliance. https://www.astrazenecagrants.com/home.html
Independent Medical Education
Independent Medical Education (IME) strategically supports medical education activities in Bristol-Myers Squibb disease areas of focus which serve to maintain, develop or increase the knowledge, skills and professional performance of a healthcare provider. https://www.bms.com/about-us/responsibility/IME.html
Pfizer Medical Education Grants
Pfizer offers support for your independently-run health care quality improvement initiatives through online resources and medical education grants. https://www.pfizer.com/purpose/contributionspartnerships/charity-events
Teleflex Medical Education Grants
Teleflex provides medical education grants for the following categories: Continuing Medical Education programs presented by accredited providers, Education programs for Health Care Professionals, and Medical Society Sponsored programs. https://www.teleflex.com/usa/about-us/grants/medicaleducational-grants/
Foundation Directory Online
Extensive, up-to-date database of philanthropic giving http://foundationcenter.org/find-funding. To use contact Ms. Linda Cox, Interim Vice President for Development and Alumni Affairs in the Office of Development for log-in information. coxl@musc.edu
Office of Research Development
MUSC offers a wide array of support for both internal and external funding opportunities. We recommend you begin your search with the Grant Forward service, which compiles a variety of federal, foundation, corporate, academic and international funding opportunities for any discipline. http://academicdepartments.musc.edu/research/ord/fundingportal/
South Carolina Translational Research Institute
The South Carolina Clinical and Translational Research (SCTR) Institute is the catalyst for changing the culture of biomedical research, facilitating sharing of resources and expertise, and streamlining researchrelated processes to bring about large-scale, change in the clinical and translational research efforts in South Carolina. Our vision is to improve health outcomes and quality of life for the population through discoveries translated into evidence-based practice.
SCTR facilitates cross-disciplinary research by coordinating expertise and resources throughout the state. SCTR also catalyzes the development of teams of researchers with unique and complimentary perspectives who create and implement effective, culturally sensitive primary and secondary prevention and treatment interventions based on fundamental discoveries. http://academicdepartments.musc.edu/sctr/funding_opportunities/