Data Management
Data management involves the actions of researchers to organize, describe, preserve, and share their data.
Start by creating a Data Management Plan (DMP).
- Ten Simple Rules for Creating a Good Data Management PlanA 2015 article that provides an overview on how to develop a good data management plan.
- Managing and Sharing DataData Management best practice for researchers PDF from the University of Essex
Data Collection
Data Collection by
Data Collection Data Collection is the second of six books in the Measurement and Evaluation Series from Pfeiffer. The proven ROI Methodology--developed by the ROI Institute--provides a practical system for evaluation planning, data collection, data analysis, and reporting. All six books in the series offer the latest tools, most current research, and practical advice for measuring ROI in a variety of settings. Data Collection offers an effective process for collecting data that is essential to the implementation of the ROI Methodology. The authors outline the techniques, processes, and critical issues involved in successful data collection. The book examines the various methods of data collection, including questionnaires, interviews, focus groups, observation, action plans, performance contracts, and monitoring records. Written for evaluators, facilitators, analysts, designers, coordinators, and managers, Data Collection is a valuable guide for collecting data that are adequate in quantity and quality to produce a complete and credible analysis.
ISBN: 9780787987183Publication Date: 2008-02-08
A Gentle Guide to Research Methods by
Provides an overview of research methods, including research design, data collection methods, statistics, and academic writing. This book also includes a coverage of data collection methods - from interviews to indirect observation to card sorts.
ISBN: 9780335230198Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Publicly Available Data Sets
Data Analysis
- SPSSSPSS is statistical software available for free to MUSC faculty, staff, and students. This link will take you to the Information Solutions Software Downloads page where you can access the file download with your NetID and password.
Descriptive Statistics
Descriptive statistics are used to DESCRIBE the study population using calculations, tables and/or graphs.
Statistics of central tendency:
| Mean | The sum of all values in a group/# items in the group (Average) |
| Median | The value in the middle of a group of values (Typical) |
| Mode | The value that appears the most in a group of values (Most Common) |
Statistics of variation:
| Range |
Range = (Highest # – Lowest #) The simplest way to describe variation in a set of values Very sensitive to data that doesn’t fit the typical pattern (called outliers) |
| Interquartile Range (IQR) |
Identifies variation in a set of values after removing outliers (focus on the 50% of data closest to the mean) Reported as a range of numbers |
| Standard Deviation (SD) |
Identifies variation in a set of values by estimating the average distance of each score from the mean Small SD = more concentrated Large SD = less concentrated |
Inferential Statistics
Inferential statistics use data to make JUDGEMENTS about the differences between study groups for generalizing to the overall population.
| P-value |
Evaluates the statistical significance of the differences between two study groups or the relationships between two study variables. It estimates the ability to reject the null hypothesis that there is no difference between the two things. Statistical significance is defined as p < 0.05, which is a < 5% chance that the decision to reject the null hypothesis is incorrect. |
| T-test | Evaluates the difference in means between 2 study groups for a specific thing (called a variable) |
| Analysis of Variance [ANOVA] | Evaluates the difference in means between 3+ study groups for a specific variable |
| Correlation coefficient [r] |
Evaluates how to variables change in relation to each other. Positive: variables increase or decrease similarly (both up or both down) Negative: variables increase or decrease oppositely (one up, one down) |