Browse eJournals with Browzine
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
If you need a journal article or book chapter not owned by MUSC, request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD). Links to articles and book chapters will be emailed. This is a free and fast service for MUSC students, staff and faculty.
- From the library homepage, go to Services --> Document Delivery (ILLIAD)
- From a database, click on
- If MUSC does not own/subscribe to the article, there will be an option to "Click here to request the item through Interlibrary Loan" in big red lettering.
Article Databases
- OTSeeker This link opens in a new window
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Users can search, appraise, and access evidence from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy practice.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free searchable resource for biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health globally and individually. The PubMed database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 37 million citations and abstracts.
- PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) This link opens in a new window
Free database of randomized trials, systematic reviews, and guidelines in the field of physical therapy to inform physiotherapy practice.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for research in the nursing and allied health disciplines including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, comprehensive, and trusted academic database. Quickly find authoritative research, identify top experts, and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics.
- TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
Meta search engine that focuses on prioritizing results for evidence based practice efficiency. Includes clinical guidelines, systematic reviews, journal articles, and more.
- REHABDATA
Disability and rehabilitation database
Evidence-Based Practice & Research
- AOTA Evidence-Based Practice & ResearchEvidence-based practice (EBP) is based on the integration of critically appraised research results with the clinical expertise, and the client’s preferences, beliefs and values. To promote EBP, AOTA has developed a number of resources to assist members find and utilize clinically-relevant literature to respond to both their clients’ needs and to external demands for information from the scientific literature.
Finding Qualitative Research Articles
Tips & Tricks for Finding Qualitative Research Studies
-
add a line of qualitative keywords to your search strategies
-
possible terms include but are not limited to: qualitative OR ethnography OR ethnographic OR phenomenological OR phenomenology OR grounded theory OR purposive sample OR heuristic OR lived experience OR life experience OR narratives OR content analysis OR thematic analysis OR focus group OR interviews
-
-
Use the "Qualitative Research" category in Health Services Research (HSR) PubMed Queries (link below).
-
In CINAHL (link below) use the Clinical Queries: "Qualitative - High Sensitivity" (broadest search), "Qualitative - High Specificity" (most targeted search), or "Qualitative - Best Balance" (best combination of sensitivity and specificity results) limits.
-
In CINAHL (link below), explode the Qualitative Studies subject heading.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for research in the nursing and allied health disciplines including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.