Clinical Resources
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Includes head-to-toe and system based physical examination videos, and OSCE clinical skills videos.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a point of care tool combining high-quality evidence, expert guidance, and a user-friendly interface to deliver accurate answers fast. It offers practice-changing updates, confidence in practice, fast answers, a personalized solution, and anytime, anywhere access.
- Procedures Consult (ClinicalKey) This link opens in a new window
Clinical procedure database containing over 270 clinical procedure videos, covering the techniques necessary for clinicians with video explanations to improve the quality of training and education programs to foster excellent young practitioners.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate provides a suite of clinical, drug, and patient information to support all health professionals.
- AOTA Evidence-Based Practice & ResearchEvidence-based practice (EBP) is based on the integration of critically appraised research results with the clinical expertise, and the client’s preferences, beliefs and values. To promote EBP, AOTA has developed a number of resources to assist members find and utilize clinically-relevant literature to respond to both their clients’ needs and to external demands for information from the scientific literature.
Drug Databases
- Johns Hopkins ABX Guide This link opens in a new window
Provides information related to antibiotics such as drug summaries, diagnosis, management, pathogens, vaccines, and brand names. Includes the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide, MCH Infectious Disease Resources, calculators, and more.
*This resource is provided by MUHA Pharmacy Services department.*
- Lexidrug (formerly known as Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window
Includes drug summaries, interaction check, drug ID, calculators, IV compatibility, toxicology, patient education, and more.
- ChemIDplusCovers chemical structure and nomenclature information.
- DailyMed
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). By National Library of Medicine. - Drug and Pill Identifier (MUSC Health)Search for drugs by a specific color, shape, and/or marking. A picture of drugs meeting the criteria are displayed.
- LactMed
Free database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Includes maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. - Martindale's Virtual Pharmacy, Pharmacology & Toxicology Center
A list of resources on drugs, pharmacology and toxicology. - Hale's Medications & Mother's MilkThis resources is provided by MUSC Lactation Services and access is restricted to on campus only.
- MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and SupplementsBrowse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
- Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic EvaluationsIdentifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.
