Textbooks Available Electronically through MUSC Library
SLP 600
Applied Law and Ethics for Health Professionals by
On a daily basis, healthcare professionals are faced with many ethical situations along with legal implications. Applied Law and Ethics for Health Professionals, Second Edition tackles ethical situations and the potential legal impacts that many healthcare professionals may face in their careers and asks them to consider their own personal values system and use reasoning skills to come to an informed outcome. Modern cases and topics are discussed, offering real-world ethical and legal accounts that may impact professionals in the field. As the text concludes, readers are again asked to gauge their growth, exploring their newly formed knowledge, values, and opinions on healthcare ethics.
ISBN: 1284155595Publication Date: 2019-01-21
Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
"Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is a singularly comprehensive resource for students in speech-language pathology and audiology as they prepare for their professional careers"--
ISBN: 9781635506556Publication Date: 2023-12-01
SLP 601
Dysphagia Following Stroke by
After a stroke, one of the basic needs for a patient is to be able to swallow in order to eat and then to have the motor skills to resume speaking. Daniels (speech pathology, Baylor School of Medicine) and Huckabee (communication disorders, University of Canterbury, NZ) give therapists and clinicians a thorough training manual covering assessment, examinations and treatment options. While intended for professionals, the writing is clear enough for concerned family members and friends of the patient to find it helpful.
ISBN: 1635500303Publication Date: 2018-08-15
SLP 602
Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders by
"Covering an array of evidence-based content, including aphasia, traumatic brain injury, dementia, and language in aging, Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders: A Guide for Clinical Excellence, Second Edition is a must-have textbook for clinicians and students studying to be speech-language pathologists. This clinical guide strategically addresses scientific foundations, service delivery, international and multicultural perspectives, assessment, and treatment. Organized to maximize adult learning, the book is adaptable for multiple pedagogic methods for classroom-based courses, independent study, and online learning. The second edition of Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders: A Guide for Clinical Excellence provides clinicians and students a clear pathway for quality and effectiveness in clinical practice"--
ISBN: 9781635501599Publication Date: 2019-11-01
Identity Theft by
Identity Theft is an award-winning book that follows Stanford professor Debra Meyerson's journey to recover from a severe stroke that initially left her physically incapacitated and unable to speak. In addition to providing realistic expectations for the hard work needed to regain everyday capabilities, Meyerson focuses on the less frequently documented emotional journey in recovery. Virtually every survivor is haunted by questions like: "Who am I now?" and "How do I rebuild a meaningful and rewarding life?" after losing so much of what they had before--capabilities, careers and jobs, relationships, and more. This is a book full of hope for survivors--from stroke or other injuries--as well as their families and support networks. Debra Meyerson and her husband, Steve Zuckerman, have created Stroke Onward (www.strokeonward.org), a non-profit initiative of the Social Good Fund, to provide stroke survivors, families and caregivers with more resources to help them navigate the emotional journey to rebuild their identities and rewarding lives." Winner of the 2019 Silver Nautilus Book Award, Identity Theft centers on Debra's experience: her stroke, her extraordinary efforts to recover, and her journey to redefine herself. But she also draws on her skills as a social scientist, sharing stories from several dozen fellow survivors, family members, friends, colleagues, therapists, and doctors she has met and interviewed. By sharing this diversity of experiences, Debra highlights how every person is different, every stroke is different, and every recovery is different. She provides a valuable look at the broad possibilities for successfully navigating the challenging physical recovery--and the equally difficult emotional journey toward rebuilding one's identity and a rewarding life after a trauma like stroke.
ISBN: 1524850799Publication Date: 2019-05-14
SLP 604
- Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders by
"Covering an array of evidence-based content, including aphasia, traumatic brain injury, dementia, and language in aging, Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders: A Guide for Clinical Excellence, Second Edition is a must-have textbook for clinicians and students studying to be speech-language pathologists. This clinical guide strategically addresses scientific foundations, service delivery, international and multicultural perspectives, assessment, and treatment. Organized to maximize adult learning, the book is adaptable for multiple pedagogic methods for classroom-based courses, independent study, and online learning. The second edition of Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders: A Guide for Clinical Excellence provides clinicians and students a clear pathway for quality and effectiveness in clinical practice"--
ISBN: 9781635501599Publication Date: 2019-11-01
SLP 605
Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology by ISBN: 9781635501841Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology remains a vital resource for students in speech-language pathology who are about to begin their clinical practicum. The book is divided into two major sections: clinical practicum and clinical methods in speech-language pathology. These sections provide coverage of the structural and functional aspects of clinical practicum in a variety of settings. The book emphasizes clinical practicum is an exciting learning experience. The students will understand what is expected of them in each setting and what they can expect from their clinical supervisors. The book also gives an overview of treatment methods that apply across disorders"--
ISBN: 9781635506914Publication Date: 2023-11-15
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults by
"Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults: Resources and Protocols, Third Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of communication disorders in adults. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional textbooks with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource"--
ISBN: 1635502632Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"With major content updates and many more supporting online materials, the seventh edition of the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology is an accessible and reliable source of basic treatment information and techniques for a wide range of speech and language disorders. This detailed, evidence-based manual includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, reporting techniques, and patient profiles for child and adult clients"--
ISBN: 9781635506532Publication Date: 2023-11-15
SLP 606
- Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology by ISBN: 9781635501841Publication Date: 2019-05-01
- Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology remains a vital resource for students in speech-language pathology who are about to begin their clinical practicum. The book is divided into two major sections: clinical practicum and clinical methods in speech-language pathology. These sections provide coverage of the structural and functional aspects of clinical practicum in a variety of settings. The book emphasizes clinical practicum is an exciting learning experience. The students will understand what is expected of them in each setting and what they can expect from their clinical supervisors. The book also gives an overview of treatment methods that apply across disorders"--
ISBN: 9781635506914Publication Date: 2023-11-15
SLP 607
Voice Disorders by
Supplemented with case studies and video examples, this volume explains how to assess and treat people with voice disorders. It includes supplemental material for the educator as well as practical tools for the student and clinician.
ISBN: 1597567183Publication Date: 2016-12-20- Voice Disorders 4th Edition by With Voice Disorders, Fourth Edition, authors Christine Sapienza, PhD and Bari Hoffman, PhD have created a comprehensive package for learning. The authors uniquely blend voice science with voice treatments ranging from traditional interventions to recent advances in cellular therapies, muscle strength training, and treatments for special populations. The text has been extensively updated with clinical evidence-based information and comes with videos, audio files, and case studies. This fourth edition offers a comprehensive combined study of the respiratory, laryngeal, and neurological subsystems for voice. Therapy approaches are categorized in terms of type, such as physiologic, combined modality, and hygienic. The new edition expands the approaches to voice therapy, and better defines clinical decision making with information about humanistic communication strategies, adherence, and the multitude of variables that influence patient outcomes. New to the Fourth Edition: The anatomical illustrations are now in color Updated throughout to reflect the current state of research in the evaluation and treatment of voice and upper airway disorders Many new references depicting evidence-based outcomes Updated clinical guidelines and position statements A thoroughly revised chapter on voice therapy Extensive content added on gender affirmation: the role of the SLP along with various evaluation and therapy approaches More laryngeal images and endoscopic examinations Expanded coverage of contemporary phonosurgery approaches and the role of the SLP pre- and post-surgery Extensively expanded material on head and neck cancer and alaryngeal communicationISBN: 9781635502626Publication Date: 2020-11-01
SLP 608
Counseling in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
"Counseling in the field of communication disorders is an essential dimension of professional practice, but just what it entails is often a bit of a mystery. Counseling in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology: Reconstructing Personal Narratives, Second Edition addresses this common concern of students and practitioners by illustrating how to integrate the concept of counseling into clinical practice. Replete with a variety of case studies, clinical guidelines, and actual transcripts of counseling interventions with clients and their families, as well as a practical "toolbox" of specific counseling techniques, this graduate-level textbook offers a comprehensive, novel, and empirically informed approach to counseling, applicable to a broad range of speech, language, swallowing, and hearing disorders"--
ISBN: 1635502985Publication Date: 2020-11-01- Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"With major content updates and many more supporting online materials, the seventh edition of the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology is an accessible and reliable source of basic treatment information and techniques for a wide range of speech and language disorders. This detailed, evidence-based manual includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, reporting techniques, and patient profiles for child and adult clients"--
ISBN: 9781635506532Publication Date: 2023-11-15
SLP 609
Motor Speech Disorders by
With expanded and updated information including current techniques, approaches, and case studies, the 3rd edition of this bestselling book continues its reputation as a dependable and outstanding evidence-based source on acquired motor speech disorders in adults. It covers the substrates of motor speech and its disorders, the disorders and their diagnoses, and management -- focusing on integrating what is known about the bases of motor speech disorders with the realities of clinical practice to ensure readers have the key content they need to be effective practitioners.Three-part organization first covers the neurologic underpinnings of speech, then the various disorders resulting from problems in the nervous system, and then the basic principles and disorder-specific management strategies.Emphasis on evidence-based practice helps distill disparate information and stresses the best practices within motor speech disorders.Cutting-edge research ensures this book contains the most comprehensive and up-to-date look at the state of motor speech disorders.Case studies help clarify dense and difficult content and help hone your critical thinking skills.Summary tables and boxes offer easy access to important information such as causes and characteristics to aid in differential diagnosis.Chapter outline and summary sections keep you focused on the most significant information. NEW Accompanying Evolve site features an interactive PowerPoint presentation with more than 60 audio and video clips demonstrating various disorders.NEW Updated content incorporates Dr. Duffy's findings from nearly 1,000 new articles on motor speech disorders.UNIQUE Two-color design and larger trim size help highlight key information and allow for easier lay-flat reading.
ISBN: 9780323242646Publication Date: 2012-01-01
SLP 610
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
"This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms. The highly practical resource is separated into four easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II includes procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment information; Part III provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. Part IV presents a quick-reference section, providing information on hearing considerations, medical diagnoses, and caregiver handouts"--
ISBN: 1635502047Publication Date: 2019-11-01Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology: A Resource Manual, Seventh Edition is the bestselling book on assessment for academic courses and clinical practice. The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in children and adults. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, and practical stimulus suggestion. Many reproducible worksheets, forms, reports, and quick-reference tables are provided. Each chapter references many of the most used published tests and resources for assessing the given disorder. Multiple links are provided for online testing materials, including some standardized tests. This highly practical resource is separated into two easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. New to the Seventh Edition: New chapter describing an assessment from start to finish Reorganized and expanded content on psychometric principles of assessment New information on assessment via telepractice New information on play-based assessment New information on sharing electronic medical information Reorganized and expanded content on medical and psychological conditions associated with communicative disorders Several new tables and figures throughout to improve ease of understanding the material Several new forms and worksheets for assessment Updates to each chapter to reflect current research and practice Updated and new recommendations for published assessment tools, sources of additional information, online resources, and apps Multiple links to online assessment resources, including free materials and standardized testing materials Key Features: Full-color design with images, charts, and illustrations to engage readers and display key concepts Each chapter concludes with practical forms, including worksheets, checklists, and additional sources of information Glossary of key terms Chapter tabs with separate colors for quick and easy access The many forms and worksheets are also accessible online
ISBN: 9781635504675Publication Date: 2023-11-15
SLP 611
Documentation and Reimbursement for Speech-Language Pathologists by
Although it is the least noticed by patients, effective documentation is one of the most critical skills that speech-language pathologists must learn. With that in mind, Documentation and Reimbursement for Speech-Language Pathologists: Principles and Practice provides a comprehensive guide to documentation, coding, and reimbursement across all work settings. The text begins with section 1 covering the importance of documentation and the basic rules, both ethical and legal, followed by an exploration of the various documentation forms and formats. Also included are tips on how to use electronic health records, as well as different coding systems for diagnosis and for procedures, with an emphasis on the link between coding, reimbursement, and the documentation to support reimbursement. Section 2 explains the importance of focusing on function in patient-centered care with the ICF as the conceptual model, then goes on to cover each of the types of services speech-language pathologists provide: evaluation, treatment planning, therapy, and discharge planning. Multiple examples of forms and formats are given for each. In section 3, Nancy Swigert and her expert team of contributors dedicate each chapter to a work setting in which speech-language pathologists might work, whether adult or pediatric, because each setting has its own set of documentation and reimbursement challenges. And since client documentation is not the only kind of writing done by speech-language pathologists, a separate chapter on "other professional writing" includes information on how to write correspondence, avoid common mistakes, and even prepare effective PowerPoint presentations. Each chapter in Documentation and Reimbursement for Speech-Language Pathologists contains activities to apply information learned in that chapter as well as review questions for students to test their knowledge. Customizable samples of many types of forms and reports are also available. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Documentation and Reimbursement for Speech-Language Pathologists: Principles and Practice is the perfect text for speech-language pathology students to learn these vital skills, but it will also provide clinical supervisors, new clinicians, and speech-language pathologists starting a private practice with essential information about documentation, coding, and reimbursement.
ISBN: 9781630913809Publication Date: 2017-12-15
SLP 612
- Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology by ISBN: 9781635501841Publication Date: 2019-05-01
- Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology remains a vital resource for students in speech-language pathology who are about to begin their clinical practicum. The book is divided into two major sections: clinical practicum and clinical methods in speech-language pathology. These sections provide coverage of the structural and functional aspects of clinical practicum in a variety of settings. The book emphasizes clinical practicum is an exciting learning experience. The students will understand what is expected of them in each setting and what they can expect from their clinical supervisors. The book also gives an overview of treatment methods that apply across disorders"--
ISBN: 9781635506914Publication Date: 2023-11-15
- Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults by
"Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults: Resources and Protocols, Third Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of communication disorders in adults. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional textbooks with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource"--
ISBN: 1635502632Publication Date: 2020-11-01
- Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"With major content updates and many more supporting online materials, the seventh edition of the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology is an accessible and reliable source of basic treatment information and techniques for a wide range of speech and language disorders. This detailed, evidence-based manual includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, reporting techniques, and patient profiles for child and adult clients"--
ISBN: 9781635506532Publication Date: 2023-11-15
SLP 614
- Counseling in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
"Counseling in the field of communication disorders is an essential dimension of professional practice, but just what it entails is often a bit of a mystery. Counseling in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology: Reconstructing Personal Narratives, Second Edition addresses this common concern of students and practitioners by illustrating how to integrate the concept of counseling into clinical practice. Replete with a variety of case studies, clinical guidelines, and actual transcripts of counseling interventions with clients and their families, as well as a practical "toolbox" of specific counseling techniques, this graduate-level textbook offers a comprehensive, novel, and empirically informed approach to counseling, applicable to a broad range of speech, language, swallowing, and hearing disorders"--
ISBN: 1635502985Publication Date: 2020-11-01
SLP 615
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children by
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of the full range of communication disorders in children, including nonverbal or minimally verbal children. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional texts with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource.This bestselling and trusted text: Includes an extensive discussion of issues in using standardized tests along with detailed information on psychometric principles and offers a detailed discussion of alternative assessment approaches that minimize the problems inherent to standardized testsDescribes a new, comprehensive, and integrated assessment approach that derives its strengths from the traditional as well as several alternative approachesAddresses the multicultural issues in assessing communication disorders in children and integrates culturally responsive assessment procedures into the assessment protocols Contains two chapters for each disorder: one on resources that offers scholarly and research background and one on resources that describe practical procedures and protocols that save the clinician's preparation time Includes access to a PluralPlus companion website which allows clinicians to view, modify, and print the assessment protocols for their personal useNew to the Fourth Edition: Lecture slides for instructors on the PluralPlus companion websiteA new section on the assessment of voice in transgender and gender diverse adolescentsA new section on selective mutism in bilingual children, included in alternative and integrated assessment of ethnoculturally diverse childrenAll normative tables placed in relevant chapter appendices for quick access The content has been updated throughout to reflect the current state of researchUpdated diagnostic features of all childhood communication disordersAll protocols streamlined and edited for precision (in book and on website)Updated resources for commonly used assessment instruments and standardized tests, now available on the companion websiteAll defined and key terms are now bolded Simplified writing style and reduced redundancy for increased readability and comprehension
ISBN: 1635502667Publication Date: 2021-07-01
Comprehensive Literacy for All by
Literacy improves lives--and with the right instruction and supports, all students can learn to read and write.That's the core belief behind this teacher-friendly handbook, your practical guide to providing comprehensive, high-quality literacy instruction to students with significant disabilities. Drawing on decades of classroom experience, the authors present their own innovative model for teaching students with a wide range of significant disabilities to read and write print in grades preK-12 and beyond. Foundational teaching principles blend with concrete strategies, step-by-step guidance, and specific activities, making this book a complete blueprint for helping students acquire critical literacy skills they'll use inside and outside the classroom. An essential resource for educators, speech-language pathologist, and parents--and an ideal text for courses that cover literacy and significant disabilities--this book will help you ensure that all students have the reading and writing skills they need to unlock new opportunities and reach their potential. READERS WILL: Discover 10 success factors for helping students with significant disabilities become literate Teach emergent readers and writers skillfully, with evidence-based strategies for shared and independent reading, early writing instruction, and alphabetic and phonological awareness Help students acquire conventional literacy skills, with adaptable strategies for teaching reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, decoding, and spelling Organize and deliver comprehensive literacy instruction in a variety of settings, both inside and outside of school Use assistive technology effectively to support reading, writing, and communication Engage and motivate students and make literacy instruction meaningful to their everyday lives PRACTICAL MATERIALS: Sample teaching scenarios and dialogues, how-to strategies, and downloadable resources, including sample lessons, a quick-guide to key literacy terms, lesson sequences, and flowcharts to guide instruction.
ISBN: 1598576577Publication Date: 2019-12-19
Treatment of Language Disorders in Children by
Thoroughly updated to meet the needs of today's students in SLP courses, the second edition of this classic textbook prepares future professionals to evaluate, compare, select, and apply effective interventions for language disorders in children. Using realistic case studies and many new video clips that show each strategy in action, the expert contributors introduce your students to 14 current, research-based intervention models and examine practical ways to apply them in the field. The new edition covers interventions for both emerging communication and language and more advanced language and literacy, in a consistent chapter format that makes it easy for students to compare treatment approaches. A textbook SLPs will keep and reference often throughout their careers, this balanced, in-depth look at interventions will prepare professionals to choose and implement the best interventions for children with language disorders. Your students will learn about: the theoretical and empirical basis of each intervention; target populations for the intervention; assessment and decision making; practical requirements for implementation; considerations for children from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. Contains new chapters on: Print-Referencing Interventions; Language Intervention for School-Age Bilingual Children; Comprehensive Reading Intervention in Augmentative Communication; Complex Sentence Intervention; Narrative Language Intervention; Social Communication Intervention for Children with Language Impairment: Strathclyde Language Intervention Program (SLIP).
ISBN: 1598579797Publication Date: 2016-10-01- Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"With major content updates and many more supporting online materials, the seventh edition of the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology is an accessible and reliable source of basic treatment information and techniques for a wide range of speech and language disorders. This detailed, evidence-based manual includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, reporting techniques, and patient profiles for child and adult clients"--
ISBN: 9781635506532Publication Date: 2023-11-15
SLP 617
Interventions for Speech Sound Disorders in Children by
The second edition of Interventions for Speech Sound Disorders in Children is an essential resource for pre-service speech-language pathologists and practicing SLPs. It provides a comprehensive overview of 21 evidence-based phonological and articulatory intervention approaches, offering rigorous critical analyses, detailed implementation guidelines, and helpful demonstration videos.
ISBN: 9781681253589Publication Date: 2020-11-09
SLP 618/619
Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence by
Spanning the entire childhood developmental period, Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence, 5th Edition is the go-to text for learning how to properly assess childhood language disorders and provide appropriate treatment. The most comprehensive title available on childhood language disorders, it uses a descriptive-developmental approach to present basic concepts and vocabulary, an overview of key issues and controversies, the scope of communicative difficulties that make up child language disorders, and information on how language pathologists approach the assessment and intervention processes. This new edition also features significant updates in research, trends, social skills assessment, and instruction best practices. Clinical application focus featuring case studies, clinical vignettes, and suggested projects helps you apply concepts to professional practice. UNIQUE! Practice exercises with sample transcripts allow you to apply different methods of analysis. UNIQUE! Helpful study guides at the end of each chapter help you review and apply what you have learned. Highly regarded lead author who is an expert in language disorders in children provides authoritative guidance on the diagnosis and management of pediatric language disorders. More than 230 tables and boxes summarize important information such as dialogue examples, sample assessment plans, assessment and intervention principles, activities, and sample transcripts. Student/Professional Resources on Evolve include an image bank, video clips, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Common core standards for language arts incorporated into the preschool and school-age chapters. NEW! Updated content features the latest research, theories, trends and techniques in the field. Information on preparing high-functioning students with autism for college Social skills training for students with autism The role of the speech-language pathologist on school literacy teams and in response to intervention Emerging theories of etiology and psychopathology added to Models of Child Language Disorders chapter Use of emerging technologies for assessment and intervention
ISBN: 032344234XPublication Date: 2017-12-08
Dual Language Development and Disorders by
Prepare SLPs and educators to support this growing population with the third edition of this bestselling textbook, developed by three influential experts on bilingual language development and aligned with Head Start guidelines on cultural and linguistic responsiveness. Updated with the latest research and recommended practices, this book gives a broad audience of future professionals the clear and comprehensive information they need to promote positive outcomes for young dual language learners and make informed decisions about assessment and intervention when a disorder is present. Readers will get up-to-date guidance on a wide range of key topics, including recognizing the typical stages of second language learning, supporting development in both languages, distinguishing a language delay from a disorder, planning culturally appropriate interventions, addressing reading disorders in bilingual children, and more. New and enhanced student-friendly features make this edition even more engaging and practical, and a robust new package of online support materials will help faculty members use the book effectively in their courses. With the foundational knowledge in this state-of-the-art textbook-also a valuable resource for in-practice SLPs and educators-professionals will be ready to help young dual language learners thrive, both at home and in the classroom. WHATS NEW: - New chapter on supporting heritage language development in children with immigration backgrounds - Important updates throughout the book on best practices and recent research findings from the field - Updated student-friendly features, including learning outcomes at the start of each chapter, tables and figures that illustrate key concepts and research, and Voices from the Field text boxes - Two downloadable parent questionnaires to help SLPs gather critical information when working with culturally and linguistically diverse children - New online companion materials: discussion questions and class activities for each chapter, plus a final integrative course project
ISBN: 9781681254067Publication Date: 2021-03-01
SLP 620
Pediatric Swallowing and Feeding by Pediatric Swallowing and Feeding: Assessment and Management, Third Edition provides information to practitioners interested in and involved with children who demonstrate swallowing and feeding disorders. Since the 2002 publication of the second edition, there has been an exponential increase in the number of medically fragile and complex children with swallowing/feeding disorders. A corresponding proliferation in the related basic and clinical research has resulted in the increased appreciation of the complicated inter-relationships between structures and systems that contribute to swallowing/feeding development, function, and disorders. Case studies throughout the book provide examples for decision making and highlight salient points. New to the Third Edition: Maureen A. Lefton-Greif, PhD, CCC-SLP, BCS-S, is welcomed as co-editor. She brings extensive research expertise and clinical practice in pediatric dysphagia and feeding. All chapters contain significant updated evidence-based research and clinical information. New chapters focus on the genetic testing and conditions associated with swallowing and feeding disorders, and the pulmonary manifestations and management of aspiration. World Health Organization (WHO) description of an International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) sets the stage for an in-depth discussion of clinical feeding evaluation procedures, interpretation, and management decision making. Pediatric Swallowing and Feeding continues to be the leading text on pediatric dysphagia that provides practical information for clinicians seeing children with swallowing and feeding disorders. The overall importance of an appropriate fund of knowledge and shared experience employing team approaches is emphasized throughout this third edition as in the earlier editions of this book.
ISBN: 1944883525Publication Date: 2017-11-01
SLP 621
Culturally Responsive Practices in Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences by
"Culturally Responsive Practices in Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, Second Edition provides an innovative perspective on cultural competence in the field of communication sciences and disorders. It is imperative for clinicians and scientists to be aware of diverse aspects of globalization: how these aspects may affect their own knowledge, strengths, biases, and interventions, as well as the relationships between the communities, families, and individuals with whom they partner in care. The purpose of this essential textbook is to facilitate the creation of knowledge and the development of attitudes and skills that lead to culturally responsive practices"--
ISBN: 1635506506Publication Date: 2021-11-01
COP 623
Tracheostomy: a Multiprofessional Handbook by
Tracheostomy: A Multi-Professional Handbook is written by a multidisciplinary team of authors to give a unique perspective of this increasingly widely-used technique and which will support research-based care and management and deliver patient-focused rehabilitation. It covers everything from the basics of tracheostomy, through the indications for tracheostomy and all aspects of pre-, peri- and postoperative care of the patient. The latter forms a large part of the book, and focuses on issues of importance to a broad spectrum of healthcare professionals, such as how patient communication is affected by the technique and how optimum wound care during tracheostomy is best achieved, as well as the practical aspects and problems encountered with speech, swallowing and general rehabilitation, nutrition, weaning and decannulation, long-term tracheostomy, tracheostomy in children, and an important chapter on emergency tracheostomy techniques.
ISBN: 1280437499Publication Date: 2004-01-01
SLP 625
- Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children by
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of the full range of communication disorders in children, including nonverbal or minimally verbal children. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional texts with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource.This bestselling and trusted text: Includes an extensive discussion of issues in using standardized tests along with detailed information on psychometric principles and offers a detailed discussion of alternative assessment approaches that minimize the problems inherent to standardized testsDescribes a new, comprehensive, and integrated assessment approach that derives its strengths from the traditional as well as several alternative approachesAddresses the multicultural issues in assessing communication disorders in children and integrates culturally responsive assessment procedures into the assessment protocols Contains two chapters for each disorder: one on resources that offers scholarly and research background and one on resources that describe practical procedures and protocols that save the clinician's preparation time Includes access to a PluralPlus companion website which allows clinicians to view, modify, and print the assessment protocols for their personal useNew to the Fourth Edition: Lecture slides for instructors on the PluralPlus companion websiteA new section on the assessment of voice in transgender and gender diverse adolescentsA new section on selective mutism in bilingual children, included in alternative and integrated assessment of ethnoculturally diverse childrenAll normative tables placed in relevant chapter appendices for quick access The content has been updated throughout to reflect the current state of researchUpdated diagnostic features of all childhood communication disordersAll protocols streamlined and edited for precision (in book and on website)Updated resources for commonly used assessment instruments and standardized tests, now available on the companion websiteAll defined and key terms are now bolded Simplified writing style and reduced redundancy for increased readability and comprehension
ISBN: 1635502667Publication Date: 2021-07-01
- Comprehensive Literacy for All by
Literacy improves lives--and with the right instruction and supports, all students can learn to read and write.That's the core belief behind this teacher-friendly handbook, your practical guide to providing comprehensive, high-quality literacy instruction to students with significant disabilities. Drawing on decades of classroom experience, the authors present their own innovative model for teaching students with a wide range of significant disabilities to read and write print in grades preK-12 and beyond. Foundational teaching principles blend with concrete strategies, step-by-step guidance, and specific activities, making this book a complete blueprint for helping students acquire critical literacy skills they'll use inside and outside the classroom. An essential resource for educators, speech-language pathologist, and parents--and an ideal text for courses that cover literacy and significant disabilities--this book will help you ensure that all students have the reading and writing skills they need to unlock new opportunities and reach their potential. READERS WILL: Discover 10 success factors for helping students with significant disabilities become literate Teach emergent readers and writers skillfully, with evidence-based strategies for shared and independent reading, early writing instruction, and alphabetic and phonological awareness Help students acquire conventional literacy skills, with adaptable strategies for teaching reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, decoding, and spelling Organize and deliver comprehensive literacy instruction in a variety of settings, both inside and outside of school Use assistive technology effectively to support reading, writing, and communication Engage and motivate students and make literacy instruction meaningful to their everyday lives PRACTICAL MATERIALS: Sample teaching scenarios and dialogues, how-to strategies, and downloadable resources, including sample lessons, a quick-guide to key literacy terms, lesson sequences, and flowcharts to guide instruction.
ISBN: 1598576577Publication Date: 2019-12-19
- Treatment of Language Disorders in Children by
Thoroughly updated to meet the needs of today's students in SLP courses, the second edition of this classic textbook prepares future professionals to evaluate, compare, select, and apply effective interventions for language disorders in children. Using realistic case studies and many new video clips that show each strategy in action, the expert contributors introduce your students to 14 current, research-based intervention models and examine practical ways to apply them in the field. The new edition covers interventions for both emerging communication and language and more advanced language and literacy, in a consistent chapter format that makes it easy for students to compare treatment approaches. A textbook SLPs will keep and reference often throughout their careers, this balanced, in-depth look at interventions will prepare professionals to choose and implement the best interventions for children with language disorders. Your students will learn about: the theoretical and empirical basis of each intervention; target populations for the intervention; assessment and decision making; practical requirements for implementation; considerations for children from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. Contains new chapters on: Print-Referencing Interventions; Language Intervention for School-Age Bilingual Children; Comprehensive Reading Intervention in Augmentative Communication; Complex Sentence Intervention; Narrative Language Intervention; Social Communication Intervention for Children with Language Impairment: Strathclyde Language Intervention Program (SLIP).
ISBN: 1598579797Publication Date: 2016-10-01
- Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"With major content updates and many more supporting online materials, the seventh edition of the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology is an accessible and reliable source of basic treatment information and techniques for a wide range of speech and language disorders. This detailed, evidence-based manual includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, reporting techniques, and patient profiles for child and adult clients"--
ISBN: 9781635506532Publication Date: 2023-11-15
SLP 627
The Clinician's Guide to Treating Cleft Palate Speech by
Get quick access to the most up-to-date information on cleft palate speech therapy with The Clinician's Guide to Treating Cleft Palate Speech, 2nd Edition. This textbook features an easy-to-use format - including many bulleted lists, tables, and illustrations - to give you instant access to the answers you need surrounding the effects of clefts and non-cleft velopharyngeal inadequacy (VPI) on communication development in children. Updated information includes new content on interprofessional team decision-making, along with the diagnosis and management of the resulting disorders. Brief summaries cover the effects of clefts and non-cleft velopharyngeal inadequacy on communication development in children. Quick-reference format includes bulleted lists, tables, and boxes for easy access to key information needed in day-to-day practice. Special tips boxes feature hints and additional clinical information from the authors, and other recognized experts in the field of cleft palate management. NEW! Additional video clips demonstrate a broad range of speech disorders in children, examples of instrumental and noninstrumental assessment approaches, and effective therapy techniques. NEW! Content on interprofessional team decision making reflects an important expanding movement in healthcare nationally and internationally, and will be threaded throughout the guide to ensure users understand the ethics, compentencies, and skills required to practice in an interdisciplinary setting.
ISBN: 9780323339346Publication Date: 2016-10-21
SLP 628
Social Communication Development and Disorders by
This new standout volume is the first to describe developmental areas associated with social competence and social communication, as well as provide evidence-based information on effective assessment and intervention for children who have problems with social communication and social interactions. Expertly crafted, the volume offers both theory and practice within one comprehensive, yet manageable resource for busy professionals. The first section covers social communication theory and associated developmental domains. Case studies are provided to exemplify how different variables may affect social communication development. The second section covers evidence-based practices for social communication disorders and includes case studies, incidence and prevalence estimates, the current DSM-V definition of the disorder, referral guidelines, recommended practices of assessment and intervention, and a list of clinical resources. Social Communication Development and Disorders is an ideal text for a range of courses in Communication Sciences and Disorders or Speech-Language Pathology, and a must-have reference for professionals working with children with social competence or social communication problems, including speech-language pathologists (SLPs), regular and special educators, psychologists, and support personnel such as social workers, counselors, and occupational therapists.
ISBN: 9781848725348Publication Date: 2014-12-16
SLP 631
Augmentative & Alternative Communication by
The authoritative text on augmentative and alternative communication, this classic bestseller is now in its fifth edition-revised and updated for a new generation of SLPs, teachers, occupational therapists, and other professionals in clinical and educational settings. Partnering with a team of distinguished contributors, renowned experts David Beukelman and Janice Light deliver today's most comprehensive, up-to-date introduction to AAC interventions and technologies for children and adults with complex communication needs. Future service providers will get in-depth coverage of essential AAC topics, enhanced by helpful study questions, valuable perspectives from people who use AAC, and case examples that illustrate key principles. Significantly expanded with new chapters on critical topics, more practical information on how AAC systems work, and new online companion materials, this definitive text will expertly prepare readers to support communicative competence-and quality of life-for children and adults with complex communication needs. WHAT'S NEW Professionals will prepare for their work in the field with critical new information on: Collaborating with family members and other communication partners Making the most of mobile technologies and AAC apps Selecting an AAC system and tailoring it to individual needs Working effectively with families from diverse cultural backgrounds Supporting inclusion across the lifespan (including education, employment, and community life) Ensuring efficient patient-provider communication in medical settings Providing communication supports to people with autism spectrum disorder PLUS: Enhance your teaching with a package of online companion materials, including a resource guide to help practitioners and students learn more about AAC; sample responses to chapter study questions; and a sample syllabus.
ISBN: 9781681253039Publication Date: 2020-05-08
SLP 632
Children with Hearing Loss by
A framework for the skills and knowledge necessary to help parents promote spoken language development through listening in to their young children who are deaf or hard of hearing. The book covers the most current information on hearing, listening, spoken language development and intervention for young children with hearing loss.
ISBN: 9781635501544Publication Date: 2019-10-30
I Can Hear You Whisper by
"A skilled science translator, Denworth makes decibels, teslas and brain plasticity understandable to all."--Washington Post Lydia Denworth's third son, Alex, was nearly two when he was identified with significant hearing loss that was likely to get worse. Denworth knew the importance of enrichment to the developing brain but had never contemplated the opposite: deprivation. How would a child's brain grow outside the world of sound? How would he communicate? Would he learn to read and write? An acclaimed science journalist as well as a mother, Denworth made it her mission to find out, interviewing experts on language development, inventors of groundbreaking technology, Deaf leaders, and neuroscientists at the frontiers of brain plasticity research. I Can Hear You Whisper chronicles Denworth's search for answers--and her new understanding of Deaf culture and the exquisite relationship between sound, language, and learning.
ISBN: 0142181862Publication Date: 2015-02-24
Audiology by
"With two new chapters, improved artwork, and significant updates made throughout to increase readability, the fourth edition of Audiology: Science to Practice continues to be the most comprehensive textbook for audiology and hearing science courses, as well as for health care professionals wanting a better understanding of hearing science and audiology practices. It is written in a style that makes new or difficult concepts relatively easy to understand, while still providing more coverage of hearing and vestibular science and clinical audiology than other introductory texts" --
ISBN: 9781635503463Publication Date: 2021-10-31
SLP 633
Fluency Disorders by Fluency Disorders: Stuttering, Cluttering, and Related Fluency Problems, Second Edition is a vital resource for graduate courses on stuttering and related disorders of fluency. This thoroughly updated text features accessible and comprehensive coverage of fluency disorders across a range of clinical populations, including those with developmental and acquired stuttering, cluttering, and various types of developmental and acquired language impairment. Information in the text is aligned with current standards for clinical certification specified by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association's Council for Clinical Certification (CFCC). Readers will learn practical strategies and methods for how to assess and treat fluency disorders in preschool and school-aged children, teens, and adults. The text is organized into five key sections: Foundational Concepts, Neurodevelopmental Stuttering, Other Types of Fluency Disorders, Clinical Assessment, and Intervention Approaches. Together, these topics make the comprehensive Fluency Disorders a truly distinguishable text in the field of speech-language pathology. Key Features Content that emphasizes clinical practice as well as client/patient experiences Discussion of fluency disorders in the context of communicative functioning and quality of life Chapter objectives begin each chapter and highlight key topics "Questions to Consider" conclude each chapter to help readers apply their knowledge Readers learn to organize information around clinical principles and frameworks New to the Second Edition New larger 8.5" x 11" trim size Updated and expanded references throughout Reorganized outline and increased coverage of treatment and counseling information Expanded use of text boxes to help readers relate chapter concepts to clinical practice
ISBN: 1635501520Publication Date: 2019-08-30
SLP 635
- Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children by
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of the full range of communication disorders in children, including nonverbal or minimally verbal children. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional texts with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource.This bestselling and trusted text: Includes an extensive discussion of issues in using standardized tests along with detailed information on psychometric principles and offers a detailed discussion of alternative assessment approaches that minimize the problems inherent to standardized testsDescribes a new, comprehensive, and integrated assessment approach that derives its strengths from the traditional as well as several alternative approachesAddresses the multicultural issues in assessing communication disorders in children and integrates culturally responsive assessment procedures into the assessment protocols Contains two chapters for each disorder: one on resources that offers scholarly and research background and one on resources that describe practical procedures and protocols that save the clinician's preparation time Includes access to a PluralPlus companion website which allows clinicians to view, modify, and print the assessment protocols for their personal useNew to the Fourth Edition: Lecture slides for instructors on the PluralPlus companion websiteA new section on the assessment of voice in transgender and gender diverse adolescentsA new section on selective mutism in bilingual children, included in alternative and integrated assessment of ethnoculturally diverse childrenAll normative tables placed in relevant chapter appendices for quick access The content has been updated throughout to reflect the current state of researchUpdated diagnostic features of all childhood communication disordersAll protocols streamlined and edited for precision (in book and on website)Updated resources for commonly used assessment instruments and standardized tests, now available on the companion websiteAll defined and key terms are now bolded Simplified writing style and reduced redundancy for increased readability and comprehension
ISBN: 1635502667Publication Date: 2021-07-01
- Comprehensive Literacy for All by
Literacy improves lives--and with the right instruction and supports, all students can learn to read and write.That's the core belief behind this teacher-friendly handbook, your practical guide to providing comprehensive, high-quality literacy instruction to students with significant disabilities. Drawing on decades of classroom experience, the authors present their own innovative model for teaching students with a wide range of significant disabilities to read and write print in grades preK-12 and beyond. Foundational teaching principles blend with concrete strategies, step-by-step guidance, and specific activities, making this book a complete blueprint for helping students acquire critical literacy skills they'll use inside and outside the classroom. An essential resource for educators, speech-language pathologist, and parents--and an ideal text for courses that cover literacy and significant disabilities--this book will help you ensure that all students have the reading and writing skills they need to unlock new opportunities and reach their potential. READERS WILL: Discover 10 success factors for helping students with significant disabilities become literate Teach emergent readers and writers skillfully, with evidence-based strategies for shared and independent reading, early writing instruction, and alphabetic and phonological awareness Help students acquire conventional literacy skills, with adaptable strategies for teaching reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, decoding, and spelling Organize and deliver comprehensive literacy instruction in a variety of settings, both inside and outside of school Use assistive technology effectively to support reading, writing, and communication Engage and motivate students and make literacy instruction meaningful to their everyday lives PRACTICAL MATERIALS: Sample teaching scenarios and dialogues, how-to strategies, and downloadable resources, including sample lessons, a quick-guide to key literacy terms, lesson sequences, and flowcharts to guide instruction.
ISBN: 1598576577Publication Date: 2019-12-19
- Treatment of Language Disorders in Children by
Thoroughly updated to meet the needs of today's students in SLP courses, the second edition of this classic textbook prepares future professionals to evaluate, compare, select, and apply effective interventions for language disorders in children. Using realistic case studies and many new video clips that show each strategy in action, the expert contributors introduce your students to 14 current, research-based intervention models and examine practical ways to apply them in the field. The new edition covers interventions for both emerging communication and language and more advanced language and literacy, in a consistent chapter format that makes it easy for students to compare treatment approaches. A textbook SLPs will keep and reference often throughout their careers, this balanced, in-depth look at interventions will prepare professionals to choose and implement the best interventions for children with language disorders. Your students will learn about: the theoretical and empirical basis of each intervention; target populations for the intervention; assessment and decision making; practical requirements for implementation; considerations for children from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. Contains new chapters on: Print-Referencing Interventions; Language Intervention for School-Age Bilingual Children; Comprehensive Reading Intervention in Augmentative Communication; Complex Sentence Intervention; Narrative Language Intervention; Social Communication Intervention for Children with Language Impairment: Strathclyde Language Intervention Program (SLIP).
ISBN: 1598579797Publication Date: 2016-10-01
- Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults by
"Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults: Resources and Protocols, Third Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of communication disorders in adults. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional textbooks with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource"--
ISBN: 1635502632Publication Date: 2020-11-01
- Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"With major content updates and many more supporting online materials, the seventh edition of the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology is an accessible and reliable source of basic treatment information and techniques for a wide range of speech and language disorders. This detailed, evidence-based manual includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, reporting techniques, and patient profiles for child and adult clients"--
ISBN: 9781635506532Publication Date: 2023-11-15
SLP 636
- Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
"Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is a singularly comprehensive resource for students in speech-language pathology and audiology as they prepare for their professional careers"--
ISBN: 9781635506556Publication Date: 2023-12-01
SLP 637
- Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children by
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of the full range of communication disorders in children, including nonverbal or minimally verbal children. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional texts with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource.This bestselling and trusted text: Includes an extensive discussion of issues in using standardized tests along with detailed information on psychometric principles and offers a detailed discussion of alternative assessment approaches that minimize the problems inherent to standardized testsDescribes a new, comprehensive, and integrated assessment approach that derives its strengths from the traditional as well as several alternative approachesAddresses the multicultural issues in assessing communication disorders in children and integrates culturally responsive assessment procedures into the assessment protocols Contains two chapters for each disorder: one on resources that offers scholarly and research background and one on resources that describe practical procedures and protocols that save the clinician's preparation time Includes access to a PluralPlus companion website which allows clinicians to view, modify, and print the assessment protocols for their personal useNew to the Fourth Edition: Lecture slides for instructors on the PluralPlus companion websiteA new section on the assessment of voice in transgender and gender diverse adolescentsA new section on selective mutism in bilingual children, included in alternative and integrated assessment of ethnoculturally diverse childrenAll normative tables placed in relevant chapter appendices for quick access The content has been updated throughout to reflect the current state of researchUpdated diagnostic features of all childhood communication disordersAll protocols streamlined and edited for precision (in book and on website)Updated resources for commonly used assessment instruments and standardized tests, now available on the companion websiteAll defined and key terms are now bolded Simplified writing style and reduced redundancy for increased readability and comprehension
ISBN: 1635502667Publication Date: 2021-07-01
- Comprehensive Literacy for All by
Literacy improves lives--and with the right instruction and supports, all students can learn to read and write.That's the core belief behind this teacher-friendly handbook, your practical guide to providing comprehensive, high-quality literacy instruction to students with significant disabilities. Drawing on decades of classroom experience, the authors present their own innovative model for teaching students with a wide range of significant disabilities to read and write print in grades preK-12 and beyond. Foundational teaching principles blend with concrete strategies, step-by-step guidance, and specific activities, making this book a complete blueprint for helping students acquire critical literacy skills they'll use inside and outside the classroom. An essential resource for educators, speech-language pathologist, and parents--and an ideal text for courses that cover literacy and significant disabilities--this book will help you ensure that all students have the reading and writing skills they need to unlock new opportunities and reach their potential. READERS WILL: Discover 10 success factors for helping students with significant disabilities become literate Teach emergent readers and writers skillfully, with evidence-based strategies for shared and independent reading, early writing instruction, and alphabetic and phonological awareness Help students acquire conventional literacy skills, with adaptable strategies for teaching reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, decoding, and spelling Organize and deliver comprehensive literacy instruction in a variety of settings, both inside and outside of school Use assistive technology effectively to support reading, writing, and communication Engage and motivate students and make literacy instruction meaningful to their everyday lives PRACTICAL MATERIALS: Sample teaching scenarios and dialogues, how-to strategies, and downloadable resources, including sample lessons, a quick-guide to key literacy terms, lesson sequences, and flowcharts to guide instruction.
ISBN: 1598576577Publication Date: 2019-12-19
- Treatment of Language Disorders in Children by
Thoroughly updated to meet the needs of today's students in SLP courses, the second edition of this classic textbook prepares future professionals to evaluate, compare, select, and apply effective interventions for language disorders in children. Using realistic case studies and many new video clips that show each strategy in action, the expert contributors introduce your students to 14 current, research-based intervention models and examine practical ways to apply them in the field. The new edition covers interventions for both emerging communication and language and more advanced language and literacy, in a consistent chapter format that makes it easy for students to compare treatment approaches. A textbook SLPs will keep and reference often throughout their careers, this balanced, in-depth look at interventions will prepare professionals to choose and implement the best interventions for children with language disorders. Your students will learn about: the theoretical and empirical basis of each intervention; target populations for the intervention; assessment and decision making; practical requirements for implementation; considerations for children from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. Contains new chapters on: Print-Referencing Interventions; Language Intervention for School-Age Bilingual Children; Comprehensive Reading Intervention in Augmentative Communication; Complex Sentence Intervention; Narrative Language Intervention; Social Communication Intervention for Children with Language Impairment: Strathclyde Language Intervention Program (SLIP).
ISBN: 1598579797Publication Date: 2016-10-01
- Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults by
"Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults: Resources and Protocols, Third Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of communication disorders in adults. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional textbooks with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource"--
ISBN: 1635502632Publication Date: 2020-11-01
- Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"With major content updates and many more supporting online materials, the seventh edition of the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology is an accessible and reliable source of basic treatment information and techniques for a wide range of speech and language disorders. This detailed, evidence-based manual includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, reporting techniques, and patient profiles for child and adult clients"--
ISBN: 9781635506532Publication Date: 2023-11-15
Clinical Rotations and Externships
The Speech-Language Pathology Treatment Planner by
The Speech-Language Pathology Treatment Planner provides allthe elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plansthat satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, and third-partypayors. This book helps both the novice and expert speech-language pathologistto identify functional and meaningful strategies for improving a client's communication skills. Saves you hours of time-consuming paperwork, yet offers the freedom to develop customized treatment plans for adult, child, and adolescent clients Organized around 26 main speech-language disabilities, from those associated with aphasia and dysarthria to dysphagia, language disorders, alternative and augmentative communication, voice disorders, and others Over 1,000 well-crafted, clear statements describe the behavioral manifestations of each communication disorder, long-term goals, short-term goals, and clinically tested treatment options Easy-to-use reference format helps locate treatment plan components by disability Handy workbook-style format affords plenty of space to record your own customized definitions, goals, objectives, and interventions
ISBN: 0471275042Publication Date: 2004-02-05Hegde's PocketGuide to Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by This guide blends the format of a dictionary with the contents of a textbook and clinical reference book. With this guide, both the students and the professional clinicians may have, at their fingertips, the encyclopedic knowledge of the entire range of assessment concepts and approaches, common methods and procedures, standardized tests as well as client specific alternatives, and specific techniques to assess ethnoculturally diverse clients. The speech-language pathologist that has this handy guide will have a quick as well as a detailed reference to practical assessment procedures and many task-specific outlines that a clinician may readily use in assessing any client of any age. The information may be easily reviewed before the clinical sessions or examinations. Key Features: Current knowledge on assessment philosophies, approaches, and techniques Alphabetical entries and section tabs for ease of access Underlined terms that alert the reader for cross-referenced entries on related concepts and procedures Detailed differential diagnostic guidelines on disorders Critical developmental norms New to the Fourth Edition: Updated entries to reflect current practice, procedures, and the research base Information on newer standardized tests and evidence-based alternative approaches to assess ethnoculturally diverse individuals Practical and detailed assessment outlines More succinct presentation of practical information
ISBN: 1944883118Publication Date: 2018-02-15Hegde's PocketGuide to Treatment in Speech-Language Pathology by This revised PocketGuide, blends the format of a dictionary with the contents of a textbook and clinical reference book. With this guide, both the students and the professional clinicians may have, at their fingertips, the encyclopedic knowledge of the entire range of treatment concepts and approaches, general treatment guidelines and specific procedures, treatment evaluation and selection criteria, detailed and multiple treatment procedures for all disorders of communication, and guidelines on treating ethnoculturally diverse individuals. The SLP that has this handy guide will have a quick as well as a detailed reference to general and specific treatment procedures and many brief, task-specific treatment procedures that a clinician may readily use in serving any individual of any age. The information may easily be reviewed before the clinical sessions or examinations, because the entries in the guide are in the alphabetical order. Key Features: Current knowledge on treatment philosophies, approaches, and techniques Alphabetical entries and section tabs for ease of access Underlined terms that alert the reader for cross-referenced entries on related concepts and procedures Step-by-step treatment procedures Multiple treatment options for each disorder New to the Fourth Edition: Updated entries to reflect current practice and procedures Newer and multiple treatment concepts and procedures Methods by which treatment procedures are evaluated Criteria for selecting an effective treatment procedure among available alternatives
ISBN: 1944883134Publication Date: 2018-02-15Hegde's PocketGuide to Communication Disorders, Second Edition by This guide to communication disorders blends the format of a dictionary with the contents of a textbook and clinical reference book. With this guide, both the students and the professional clinicians may have, at their fingertips, a single, invaluable resource on the encyclopedic knowledge of the entire range of communication disorders, epidemiology and ethnocultural factors, symptomatology, onset and development, etiological factors, and major theoretical concepts of their profession. The SLP that has this handy guide in his or her pocket will have a detailed reference on disorders, easily reviewed before the clinical sessions or examinations. Information on disorders and related concepts in the guide may be rapidly accessed because of their alphabetical entry.Key Features: Alphabetical entries and section tabs for ease of access Underlined terms that alert the reader for cross-referenced entries on related disorders and concepts Genetic and psychiatric information of relevance to SLPs Neurophysiological background to relevant disorders of communication New to the Second Edition: Even more succinct entries and easy to navigate terms Updated terms on several disorders to reflect the current literature Updated information on all communication disorders, their classifications, epidemiology, and etiology
ISBN: 9781944883157Publication Date: 2018-02-15- Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology, Seventh Edition by
"Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology remains a vital resource for students in speech-language pathology who are about to begin their clinical practicum. The book is divided into two major sections: clinical practicum and clinical methods in speech-language pathology. These sections provide coverage of the structural and functional aspects of clinical practicum in a variety of settings. The book emphasizes clinical practicum is an exciting learning experience. The students will understand what is expected of them in each setting and what they can expect from their clinical supervisors. The book also gives an overview of treatment methods that apply across disorders"--
ISBN: 9781635506914Publication Date: 2023-11-15
Medical by
"This exciting new text offers a comprehensive, engaging, and readable overview to the dynamic field of medical speech-language pathology. It is the first medical speech-language pathology textbook that is not focused on the various disorders, but instead examines the scope and key concepts of the profession, such as clinical reasoning, interprofessional practice, and the continuum of care. The book provides an in-depth overview of healthcare workplace settings (acute care, inpatient rehabilitation, skilled nursing, home health, outpatient care, pediatric service delivery, pharmacology, and neuroimaging)"--
ISBN: 9781635502688Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Recommended Texts
- Person-Centered Memory and Communication Interventions for Dementia : by "Person-Centered Memory and Communication Interventions for Dementia: A Case Study Approach is the third volume in the "Medical Speech-Language Pathology" book series. It is a practical, peer-reviewed resource for speech-language pathologists (SLPs) working with people with dementia. In this unique text, the authors cover a variety of evidence-based clinical procedures for the memory, communication, and behavioral challenges of people with dementia. The aim is to empower SLPs and other clinicians to implement practices that elevate the personhood of people living with various dementia syndromes"--ISBN: 1635503019Publication Date: 2021-04-01
- Medical Setting Considerations for the Speech-Language Pathologist by This book provides graduate students, clinicians, and clinical researchers with functional, comprehensive material to enhance practice in a medical setting. It will foster an appreciation of the unique skill set and knowledge base needed by a medical speech-language pathologist. The chapters contain information applicable to a broad range of medical and rehabilitation settings, while delving deeper into complex topics that merit extra attention, such as neuroimaging methods and medication side effects. Readers will come to appreciate the many roles and responsibilities of the speech-language pathologist in the medical setting, across the continuum of care. They will gain familiarity with broader organizational issues, such as accreditation, billing, and medical team members, as well as the specific clinical populations often encountered in medical settings, such as individuals with Parkinson's disease, delirium, or tongue cancer. Throughout the book, case studies are used to highlight the role of the medical SLP, and to underscore the remarkably dynamic and complex caseloads encountered by the medical SLP. Medical Setting Considerations for the Speech-Language Pathologist is authored by experienced professionals and content experts who transform the research literature into clinically applicable and digestible information.ISBN: 9781635501049Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Primary Progressive Aphasia and Other Frontotemporal Dementias by
"Primary Progressive Aphasia and Other Frontotemporal Dementias: Diagnosis and Treatment of Associated Communication Disorders is the second volume in the "Medical Speech-Language Pathology" book series. It is intended to fill an unmet need to assist clinicians, students, and related healthcare professionals in the diagnosis and treatment of the title disorders. There is a growing population of individuals diagnosed with various forms of Frontotemporal Dementia (FTD) and Primary Progressive Aphasia (PPA), and this number is likely to increase as medical practitioners and speech-language pathologists (SLPs) become more expert at identifying these conditions. More clinicians will be seeing, and treating, patients with a diagnosis of FTD or PPA. Toward that end, the goal of this book is to expand this clinical knowledge base and support the development of skills in diagnosis, but also in clinical management. Within each chapter is a concise presentation of available evidence-based practice and research findings, with a focus on sharing information that is clinically applicable and digestible for non-researchers. Each chapter provides a comprehensive outline of testing that will assist in the diagnosis of the cognitive-communication disorders associated with FTD, PPAs, and primary progressive apraxia of speech (PPAOS). Primary Progressive Aphasia and Other Frontotemporal Dementias is targeted toward practicing clinicians, graduate students, and clinical researchers who are interested in the latest conceptualization of FTD spectrum disorders. The intent is that this book provides clinical pearls to assist in diagnostic assessments and treatment planning. The book also comes with a PluralPlus companion website containing full color images from the text and supplementary videos"--
ISBN: 1635501601Publication Date: 2019-11-01
eBooks (collections)
Don't know which ebook you want? The advantage of an ebook collection is that you can search the full-text of all ebooks in that collection at one time, and you will be directed to the exact section of each book where your keywords occur.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of ~230 ebooks as well as multimedia, drugs, patient education, guidelines, and more. - AccessNeurology This link opens in a new window
Collection of neurology ebooks (Adams and Victor’s Principles of Neurology, DeMyer’s The Neurologic Examination, etc.), multimedia, drug info, patient education, cases, and more. - AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Physiotherapy resource that includes 40 physical therapy textbooks, as well as procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools and a cadaver dissection tool. - ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks, clinical summaries (FirstConsult), clinical procedures, journals, practice guidelines, patient education, drug monographs, multimedia, and CME. - LWW Health Library: Basic and Anatomical Sciences eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 30 ebook titles for supporting a fundamental curriculum in anatomy, microbiology, pathology and physiology. Includes Bates' Guide to Physical Examination & History Taking. - LWW Health Library: Occupational Therapy eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowLWW Health Library for Occupational Therapy offers a core collection of content for occupational therapist in a user-friendly online portal. From authoritative texts like Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy, 12th and 13th editions, to multimedia resources and teaching and learning tools, users can quickly access gold-standard content and save chapters in PDF format for offline reading.
