Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
If you need a journal article or book chapter not owned by MUSC, request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD). Links to articles and book chapters will be emailed. This is a free and fast service for MUSC students, staff and faculty.
- From the library homepage, go to Services --> Document Delivery (ILLIAD)
- From a database, click on
- If MUSC does not own/subscribe to the article, there will be an option to "Click here to request the item through Interlibrary Loan" in big red lettering.
Covid Document Delivery Update
Due to Covid-19 the Library is temporarily closed. For this reason, physical books cannot be requested at this time!
Article Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free searchable resource for biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health globally and individually. The PubMed database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 37 million citations and abstracts.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for research in the nursing and allied health disciplines including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, comprehensive, and trusted academic database. Quickly find authoritative research, identify top experts, and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics.
- TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
Meta search engine that focuses on prioritizing results for evidence based practice efficiency. Includes clinical guidelines, systematic reviews, journal articles, and more.
- REHABDATA
Disability and rehabilitation database
Evidence-Based Practice & Research
- AOTA Evidence-Based Practice & ResearchEvidence-based practice (EBP) is based on the integration of critically appraised research results with the clinical expertise, and the client’s preferences, beliefs and values. To promote EBP, AOTA has developed a number of resources to assist members find and utilize clinically-relevant literature to respond to both their clients’ needs and to external demands for information from the scientific literature.
Critical Appraisal Worksheets
- Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford University): Critical AppraisalCritical appraisal worksheets, calculators, CATmaker, examples and explanations
Critical Appraisal Worksheets from Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford University):
- AGREE IIThe Appraisal of Guidelines for Research & Evaluation Instrument (AGREE II) is used to assess the methodological rigor and transparency in which a practice guideline was developed, and address the issue of variability in the quality of practice guidelines.
- Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (University of Toronto): Critical Appraisal WorksheetsCritical appraisal worksheets
- CONSORT StatementThe CONSORT Statement is intended to improve the reporting of a randomized controlled trial (RCT), enabling readers to understand a trial's design, conduct, analysis and interpretation, and to assess the validity of its results.
- Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP): Appraising the EvidenceCritical appraisal worksheets and theoretical information
- Dental Critically Appraised Topics (UTHSCSA)The University of Texas Health Sciences Center at San Antonio Dental School's online Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) library. There are CATS on all dental and dental related topics.
- FRISBE format for critical appraisal - Duke UniversityCan be used to critically evaluate Therapy articles
- Johanna Briggs Institute: Critical AppraisalCritical appraisal checklists for a variety of observational, experiemental and systematic review studies