Clinical and Drug Info Resources
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate provides a suite of clinical, drug, and patient information to support all health professionals.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a point of care tool combining high-quality evidence, expert guidance, and a user-friendly interface to deliver accurate answers fast. It offers practice-changing updates, confidence in practice, fast answers, a personalized solution, and anytime, anywhere access.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
From quick answers at the point of care to leading full-text reference materials, ClinicalKey delivers trusted content to support physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and students.
- ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive, reliable information for nurses and interprofessional teams to navigate complex care questions and deliver consistent, high-quality patient care.
- Procedures Consult (ClinicalKey) This link opens in a new window
Clinical procedure database containing over 270 clinical procedure videos, covering the techniques necessary for clinicians with video explanations to improve the quality of training and education programs to foster excellent young practitioners.
- Lexidrug (formerly known as Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window
Includes drug summaries, interaction check, drug ID, calculators, IV compatibility, toxicology, patient education, and more.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy is the go-to collection of pharmacy learning resources featuring hundreds of books, top 300 drugs, NAPLEX review resources, review questions, cases, videos, flashcards, and more.
- Johns Hopkins ABX Guide This link opens in a new window
Provides information related to antibiotics such as drug summaries, diagnosis, management, pathogens, vaccines, and brand names. Includes the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide, MCH Infectious Disease Resources, calculators, and more.
*This resource is provided by MUHA Pharmacy Services department.*
- NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence)
U.K. guidelines. Sponsored by U.K. Department of Health.
- TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
Meta search engine that focuses on prioritizing results for evidence based practice efficiency. Includes clinical guidelines, systematic reviews, journal articles, and more.
- ClinicalTrials.gov (U.S. National Library of Medicine)Covers federally and privately supported clinical research in human subjects.
- MedlinePlus: Clinical Trials
Provides background information on clinical trials as well as links to clinical trials for specific populations. - National Cancer Institute: Clinical TrialsSearch for clinical trials, find resources to facilitate international alliances in cancer clinical trials, learn about NCI programs and initiatives, and more.
- NIH Clinical Alerts and AdvisoriesProvides links to NIH-funded clinical trials from 1991-present.
- SC Research (South Carolina Research Studies Directory)Clinical trials offered at MUSC in Charleston, SC.
Select eBook Titles
Goodman & Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by ISBN: 0071624422Publication Date: 2018
Schatzberg's Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology by
Schatzberg's Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology is a meticulously researched, yet down-to-earth guide for practitioners prescribing psychotropic medications to individuals with psychiatric disorders or symptoms mandating treatment. The ninth edition offers up-to-date information on current drugs, interactions, side effects, and dosing guidelines, and retains the strengths and features that have made it a standard text for trainees and practicing clinicians. The authors also include a new chapter on important developments in laboratory-guided pharmacotherapy, including pharmacogenomic testing, neurocognitive testing, quantitative EEG, and neuroimaging. Although the book's primary purpose is to provide the reader-practitioner with basic and practical information regarding the many classes of psychiatric medications, the authors stress that understanding how to select and prescribe psychotropic medications does not obviate the basic need to comprehensively evaluate and understand psychiatric patients. Accordingly, the book draws on the authors' clinical experience, as well as on the scientific literature, resulting in an accessible, yet rigorous text. Features that have helped cement this book's reputation include: * Coverage is not limited to long-standing and newly approved medications, but also includes agents that are likely to receive approval from the FDA in the near future, ensuring that the reader stays up-to-date.* References are provided for key statements, and each chapter is then followed by a list of selected relevant articles and books for readers who want to go beyond the material presented, making for a leaner, more reader-friendly guide.* Dozens of summary tables with key information on classes of psychotropics function as quick-reference guides, promoting learning and serving as convenient resources for overloaded clinicians.* The appendix offers two kinds of suggested readings. The first, for clinicians, is invaluable to trainees, while the second, for patients and families, helps point clinicians to books aimed at a lay audience to supplement information provided to patients. Staying abreast of both new medications and promising treatment protocols is essential in this rapidly evolving field. Schatzberg's Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology delivers authoritative information in a friendly, collegial style, ensuring that both students and practicing clinicians are equipped to provide a superior standard of care.
ISBN: 1615372601Publication Date: 2019-05-24
Pharmacology for the Physical Therapist by
An innovative new edition, completely reformatted to make it more valuable to students and faculty Based on the classic Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, this ground-breaking book illuminates the ever-expanding role of pharmacology in rehabilitation practice. In it you'll find unmatched insights on the full range of pharmacology topics, from drug receptor pharmacodynamics and general anesthetics, to cancer chemotherapy-all told from the vantage point of the authors' extensive first-hand experience. This new edition has been thoroughly revised with a fresh, new approach that includes improved pedagogy, better case discussion, and
ISBN: 9781259862229Publication Date: 2019-12-10
