PT 700
Primary Care for the Physical Therapist by
Specifically designed to address the expanding role of physical therapists in primary care, Primary Care for the Physical Therapist: Examination and Triage, 3rd Edition covers all the information and skills you need to be successful in the field. Updated content throughout the text helps you stay up to date on the best practices involving patient examination, medical screening, patient management, and communication. This new third edition also features a new chapter on electrodiagnostic testing, a new chapter on patients with a history of trauma, and updated information on how to screen and examine the healthy population. It's a must-have resource for any physical therapist wanting to obtain the technical expertise and clinical decision-making abilities to meet the challenges of a changing profession. Tailored content reflects the specific needs of physical therapists in primary care. Emphasis on communication skills underscores this essential aspect of quality patient care. Overview of the physical examination is provided in the text to ground therapists in the basis for differential diagnosis and recognizing conditions. NEW! Updated content throughout the text reflects the current state of primary care and physical therapy practice. NEW! New chapter on electrodiagnostic testing helps familiarize physical therapists with indications for electrodiagnostic testing and implications of test results to their clinical decision-making. NEW! New chapter on patients with a history of trauma emphasizes the red flags that physical therapists need to recognize for timely patient referral for appropriate tests. NEW! Updated information on how to screen and examine the healthy population enhances understanding of the foundations of practice and the role that physical therapists can fill in primary care models.
Call Number: Limited to 3 concurrent users. If you are unable to access the title, please try again later or contact your librarian.ISBN: 9780323638975Publication Date: 2020-02-10
PT 701
Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas, Fifth Edition by
A regional and functional approach to learning human neuroanatomy - enhanced by additional full-color illustrations and a new online learning center Neuroanatomy:Text and Atlas covers neuroanatomy from both a functional and regional perspective to provide an understanding of how the components of the central nervous system work together to sense the world around us, regulate body systems, and produce behavior. This trusted text thoroughly covers the sensory, motor, and integrative skills of the brains and presents an overview of the function in relation to structure and the locations of the major pathways and neuronal integrative regions. Neuroanatomy:Text and Atlas also teaches readers how to interpret the new wealth of human brain images by developing an understanding of the anatomical localization of brain function. The authoritative core content of myelin-stained histological sections is enhanced by informative line illustrations, angiography, and brain views produced by MRI, and other imaging technologies. * Revised and updated to reflect advances in clinical neuroanatomy and neural science * Full-color illustrations enrich the text, including many new to this edition * Chapters begin with a clinical case to illustrate the connections and functions of the key material * Chapters end with a series of multiple-choice review questions * NEW Online learning center will display brain views produced by MRI and PET * Increases knowledge of the regional and functional organization of the spinal cord and brain, one system at a time * Provides thorough coverage of the sensory, motor, and integrative systems of the brain, together with cerebral vasculature * Promotes understanding of the complex details of neuroanatomy needed for accurate interpretation of radiological image * Comprehensive atlas provides key views of the surface anatomy of the central nervous systems and photographs of myelin-stained sections in three anatomical planes * Includes learning aids such as clinical topics, boxes, chapter summaries, and a Glossary of key terms and structures
ISBN: 9781259642487Publication Date: 2020-08-07
Principles of Neural Science, Sixth Edition by
The gold standard of neuroscience texts--updated with hundreds of brand-new images and fully revised content in every chapter With 300 new illustrations, diagrams, and radiology studies including PET scans, Principles of Neural Science, 6th Edition is the definitive guide for neuroscientists, neurologists, psychiatrists, students, and residents. Highly detailed chapters on stroke, Parkinson's, and MS build your expertise on these critical topics. Radiological studies the authors have chosen explain what's most important to know and understand for each type of stroke, progressive MS, or non-progressive MS. Features 2,200 images, including 300 new color illustrations, diagrams, and radiology studies (including PET scans) NEW: This edition now features only two contributors per chapter and are mostly U.S.-based NEW: Number of chapters streamlined down from 67 to 60 NEW: Chapter on Navigation and Spatial Memory NEW: New images in every chapter!
ISBN: 9781259642234Publication Date: 2021-03-29
PT 710
Guccione's Geriatric Physical Therapy by
Offering a comprehensive look at physical therapy science and practice, Guccione's Geriatric Physical Therapy, 4th Edition is a perfect resource for both students and practitioners alike. Year after year, this text is recommended as the primary preparatory resource for the Geriatric Physical Therapy Specialization exam. And this new fourth edition only gets better. Content is thoroughly revised to keep you up to date on the latest geriatric physical therapy protocols and conditions. Five new chapters are added to this edition to help you learn how to better manage common orthopedic, cardiopulmonary, and neurologic conditions; become familiar with functional outcomes and assessments; and better understand the psychosocial aspects of aging. In all, you can rely on Guccione's Geriatric Physical Therapy to help you effectively care for today's aging patient population. Comprehensive coverage of geriatric physical therapy prepares students and clinicians to provide thoughtful, evidence-based care for aging patients. Combination of foundational knowledge and clinically relevant information provides a meaningful background in how to effectively manage geriatric disorders Updated information reflects the most recent and relevant information on the Geriatric Clinical Specialty Exam. Standard APTA terminology prepares students for terms they will hear in practice. Expert authorship ensures all information is authoritative, current, and clinically accurate. NEW! Thoroughly revised and updated content across all chapters keeps students up to date with the latest geriatric physical therapy protocols and conditions. NEW! References located at the end of each chapter point students toward credible external sources for further information. NEW! Treatment chapters guide students in managing common conditions in orthopedics, cardiopulmonary, and neurology. NEW! Chapter on functional outcomes and assessment lists relevant scores for the most frequently used tests. NEW! Chapter on psychosocial aspects of aging provides a well-rounded view of the social and mental conditions commonly affecting geriatric patients. NEW! Chapter on frailty covers a wide variety of interventions to optimize treatment. NEW! Enhanced eBook version is included with print purchase, allowing students to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323609120Publication Date: 2019-12-05
PT 716
Observational Gait Analysis by
Observational Gait Analysis: A Visual Guide is a pedagogical manual and video library that provides a thorough review of key characteristics of normal gait that are important for observational clinical gait analysis. This visual guide by Drs. Jan Adams and Kay Cerny has unique features to further the understanding of examination and evaluation of the subject's gait, such as:* Normal and pathological gait are described using figures and graphs, along with gait videos and 3D graphs to show the kinematics and kinetics described* Functional tools used as outcome measures to evaluate gait performance in the community environment including Dynamic Gait Test, Six Minute Walk Test, Ten Meter Walk Test, to name a fewIn addition to the unique features, the pathological gait section presents descriptions of gait deviations included in a new clinical Observational Gait Analysis (OGA) tool, along with probable causes for each of the deviations. Case studies are presented using this new tool for examining and evaluating the subject's gait.Bonus!Students will be able to watch antero-posterior and lateral videos of individuals with gait deviations, complete the OGA tool to document their gait examination, and evaluate their examination results. They will then validate their observational skills by comparing their results to the text's case study OGA results and the skeletal model and motion and moment graphs completed by 3D instrumented analysis of the same individual. The student will then compare their evaluation of causes of deviations to that included in the case study.Observational Gait Analysis: A Visual Guide will be the go-to resource for clinical tools to analyze gait for physical therapy and prosthetic and orthotic students and clinicians, as well as other professionals interested in the clinical analysis of persons with gait disability.
Call Number: Limited to 3 concurrent users. If you are unable to access the title, please try again later or contact your librarian.ISBN: 9781630910426Publication Date: 2018-02-01
PT 718
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach by ISBN: 9780323793759Publication Date: 2023 (8th edition)
PT 724
Therapeutic Exercise by
The premier text for therapeutic exercise Here is all the guidance you need to customize interventions for individuals with movement dysfunction. You'll find the perfect balance of theory and clinical technique--in-depth discussions of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy and the most up-to-date exercise and management guidelines. Immersive Cases Online--NEW! Six multimedia clinical scenarios let you practice applying theory to clinical practice. Full-color, narrated videos demonstrate multiple options for exercise progressions and help hone your critical-thinking skills by addressing the challenges of specific pathologies, patient loading, and post-intervention strategies. Video Library Online Full-color videos show you how. A complete video library of basic therapeutic exercises and techniques shows you how to achieve the best results for range of motion, stretching, joint mobilization,resistance, and spinal stabilization. See what students and practitioners are saying online about previous editions... Great book... "with great explanation, descriptions and pictures to describe the various interventions that can be used for specific patient complaints or conditions. Highly recommended!"--Natalie B. Great Standard. "This book is a must have for any orthopedic physical therapist. Now it is even better with ICF information in it."--R.F.S. Good buy."Initially bought this book for PT school. It's quite substantial. Most definitely one of the books I do not plan to sell after I am done with the program. Would recommend."--Talisa S.
ISBN: 1719640475Publication Date: 2022-12-08
PT 725L
Michlovitz's Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention by
A volume in the Contemporary Perspectives in Rehabilitation Series, edited by Steven L. Wolf, PhD, PT, FAPTA. Here's a current, concise, and evidence-based approach to the selection, application, and biophysical effects of therapeutic modalities in a case-based format with a wealth of photographs and figures. The 6th Edition builds and expands on the strengths of previous editions and their focus on expanding and strengthening clinical decision-making skills through a hands-on, problem-solving approach.
ISBN: 0803645635Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Michlovitz's Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention by
A volume in the Contemporary Perspectives in Rehabilitation Series, curated by Steven L. Wolf, PhD, PT, FAPTA Implement a current, evidence-based approach to the selection, application, and uses of therapeutic modalities as an essential tool for functionally based rehabilitation and as a complement to other types of interventions in a patient-centered model of care. The 7th Edition of this groundbreaking text fosters an in-depth understanding of the science behind each modality, its advantages and limitations, its appropriateness for specific conditions, and its implementation. A hands-on problem-solving approach promotes the development of essential clinical decision-making skills through a wealth of full-color photographs and illustrations, special features, and challenging cases studies. See what students and practitioners are saying about the previous edition... Recommend this book. "Great clinical reference for young therapists and seasoned therapists alike. Great information in a nicely organized book."--Jane D., Online Reviewer Excellent book "Excellent content. Therapeutic modalities and many more... including spinal decompression devices."--Online Reviewer
ISBN: 1719641994Publication Date: 2022-01-24
PT 728
Fundamentals of Musculoskeletal Imaging by
A volume in the Contemporary Perspectives in Rehabilitation Series Edited by Steven L. Wolf, PT, PhD, FAPTA The book that set the standard for the role of correlating imaging findings to clinical findings as part of a comprehensive patient evaluation, more specific treatment plans and better outcomes is back in a New Edition. Here's everything Physical Therapists need to know about medical imaging. This comprehensive guide helps you develop the skills and knowledge you need to accurately interpret imaging studies and understand written reports. Begin with a basic introduction to radiology; then progress to evaluating radiographs and advanced imaging from head to toe. Imaging for commonly seen traumas and pathologies, as well as case studies prepare you to meet the most common to most complex challenges in clinical and practice. A great resource for Physical Therapist wanting to get a functional... "yet easy to read textbook in musculoskeletal imaging: a subject matter that could be most challenging and laborious to read and understand... then use clinically the next day. A most enjoyable presentation and way to develop clinical competency."--Kim D., Online Reviewer GREAT TEXTBOOK!!"Wonderful and informational book with great add-ons as well with the online code to learn more!!"--Shirley J., Online Reviewer Excellent book! I find the chapters are very well..."organized and make the subject of musculoskeletal imaging both interesting and digestible for someone who is just beginning to wade in the water of learning about imaging in the rehab environment."--Online Reviewer
ISBN: 9780803676022Publication Date: 2020-12-18
PT 730
Clinical Orthopaedic Rehabilitation: a Team Approach by
Evidence suggests a direct correlation between the quality of postoperative orthopaedic rehabilitation and the effectiveness of the surgery. Clinical Orthopaedic Rehabilitation, 4th Edition, helps today's orthopaedic teams apply the most effective, evidence-based protocols for maximizing return to function following common sports injuries and post-surgical conditions. Charles Giangarra, MD and Robert Manske, PT continue the commitment to excellence established by Dr. S. Brent Brotzman in previous editions, bringing a fresh perspective to the team approach to rehabilitation. Every section is written by a combination of surgeons, physical therapists, and occupational therapists, making this respected text a truly practical "how-to" guide for the appropriate initial exam, differential diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation. Treatment and rehabilitation protocols are presented in a step-by-step, algorithmic format with each new phase begun after criteria are met (criteria-based progression, reflecting current best practice). Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Revised content brings you up to date with new evidence-based literature on examination techniques, classification systems, differential diagnosis, treatment options, and criteria-based rehabilitation protocols. Extensive updates throughout include new chapters on: medial patellofemoral ligament, shoulder impingement, pec major ruptures, thoracic outlet syndrome, general humeral fractures, foot and ankle fractures, medial patellofemoral ligament reconstruction, the arthritic hip, athletic pubalgia, and labral repair and reconstruction. Easy-to-follow videos demonstrate rehabilitation procedures of frequently seen orthopaedic conditions and commonly used exercises, and new full-color images complement the highly visual nature of the text.
Call Number: 4th editionISBN: 9780323393706Publication Date: 2017-01-26
PT 730L
Orthopedic Physical Assessment by
Build your skills in the assessment of musculoskeletal pathology! Orthopedic Physical Assessment, 7th Edition covers the principles of assessment for all of the body's structures and joints, including topics such as gait, posture, the head and face, amputees, primary care, and sports emergencies. The 7th edition offers additional functional assessment forms (e-tools), updated evidence-based reliability and validity tables, and hundreds of video clips demonstrating special tests on how to perform musculoskeletal assessment. Written by noted PT educators David J. Magee and Robert C. Manske, this reference uses a systematic, evidence-based approach to prepare you for success in clinicals, board exams, and in rehabilitation practice. Over 2,500 full-color illustrations and photographs depict key concepts, along with assessment techniques and special tests. At-a-glance icons show the clinical utility of special tests, supplemented by updated, evidence-based reliability and validity tables for tests and techniques Quick-reference data includes hundreds of summary boxes, red-flag and yellow-flag boxes, differential diagnosis tables, muscle and nerve tables, and classification, normal values, and grading tables. A Summary (Précis) of Assessment in each chapter serves as a review of assessment steps. Combined with other books in the Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation series - Scientific Foundations and Principles of Practice, Pathology and Intervention, and Athletic and Sports Issues - this book provides you with the knowledge and background necessary to assess and treat musculoskeletal conditions. NEW! Updated information in all chapters includes new special tests, as well as photos, line drawings, boxes, tables, and references. NEW! Head and Face chapter features updated information on concussion management. NEW! Enhanced Diagnostic Ultrasound Imaging section added to applicable chapters, along with new photos and diagnostic images. NEW! Updated psychometric tables for special tests list reliability, sensitivity, specificity, and + and - likelihood ratios when available. NEW! More case studies present real-life scenarios to help you develop assessment and diagnostic skills using information from the chapter. NEW! Additional functional assessment forms (e-tools) have been incorporated. NEW! Video clips demonstrate special tests to give you a clearer understanding of how to perform musculoskeletal assessment. NEW! Enhanced ebook version, included with print purchase, provides access to all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323522998Publication Date: 2020-12-14- Therapeutic Exercise by
The premier text for therapeutic exercise Here is all the guidance you need to customize interventions for individuals with movement dysfunction. You'll find the perfect balance of theory and clinical technique--in-depth discussions of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy and the most up-to-date exercise and management guidelines. Immersive Cases Online--NEW! Six multimedia clinical scenarios let you practice applying theory to clinical practice. Full-color, narrated videos demonstrate multiple options for exercise progressions and help hone your critical-thinking skills by addressing the challenges of specific pathologies, patient loading, and post-intervention strategies. Video Library Online Full-color videos show you how. A complete video library of basic therapeutic exercises and techniques shows you how to achieve the best results for range of motion, stretching, joint mobilization,resistance, and spinal stabilization. See what students and practitioners are saying online about previous editions... Great book... "with great explanation, descriptions and pictures to describe the various interventions that can be used for specific patient complaints or conditions. Highly recommended!"--Natalie B. Great Standard. "This book is a must have for any orthopedic physical therapist. Now it is even better with ICF information in it."--R.F.S. Good buy."Initially bought this book for PT school. It's quite substantial. Most definitely one of the books I do not plan to sell after I am done with the program. Would recommend."--Talisa S.
ISBN: 1719640475Publication Date: 2022-12-08
PT 731
Clinical Orthopaedic Rehabilitation: a Team Approach by
Evidence suggests a direct correlation between the quality of postoperative orthopaedic rehabilitation and the effectiveness of the surgery. Clinical Orthopaedic Rehabilitation, 4th Edition, helps today's orthopaedic teams apply the most effective, evidence-based protocols for maximizing return to function following common sports injuries and post-surgical conditions. Charles Giangarra, MD and Robert Manske, PT continue the commitment to excellence established by Dr. S. Brent Brotzman in previous editions, bringing a fresh perspective to the team approach to rehabilitation. Every section is written by a combination of surgeons, physical therapists, and occupational therapists, making this respected text a truly practical "how-to" guide for the appropriate initial exam, differential diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation. Treatment and rehabilitation protocols are presented in a step-by-step, algorithmic format with each new phase begun after criteria are met (criteria-based progression, reflecting current best practice). Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Revised content brings you up to date with new evidence-based literature on examination techniques, classification systems, differential diagnosis, treatment options, and criteria-based rehabilitation protocols. Extensive updates throughout include new chapters on: medial patellofemoral ligament, shoulder impingement, pec major ruptures, thoracic outlet syndrome, general humeral fractures, foot and ankle fractures, medial patellofemoral ligament reconstruction, the arthritic hip, athletic pubalgia, and labral repair and reconstruction. Easy-to-follow videos demonstrate rehabilitation procedures of frequently seen orthopaedic conditions and commonly used exercises, and new full-color images complement the highly visual nature of the text.
ISBN: 0323393705Publication Date: 2018
PT 733
Orthotics and Prosthetics in Rehabilitation by
Gain a strong foundation in the field of orthotics and prosthetics! Orthotics and Prosthetics in Rehabilitation, 4th Edition is a clear, comprehensive, one-stop resource for clinically relevant rehabilitation information and application. Divided into three sections, this text gives you a foundation in orthotics and prosthetics, clinical applications when working with typical and special populations, and an overview of amputation and prosthetic limbs. This edition has been updated with coverage of the latest technology and materials in the field, new evidence on effectiveness and efficacy of interventions and cognitive workload associated usage along with enhanced color photographs and case studies - it's a great resource for students and rehabilitation professionals alike. Comprehensive coverage addresses rehabilitation in a variety of environments, including acute care, long-term care and home health care, and outpatient settings. Book organized into three parts corresponding with typical patient problems and clinical decision-making. The latest evidence-based research throughout text help you learn clinical-decision making skills. Case studies present real-life scenarios that demonstrate how key concepts apply to clinical decision-making and evidence-based practice. World Health Organization disablement model (ICF) incorporated to help you learn how to match patient's limitations with the best clinical treatment. Multidisciplinary approach in a variety of settings demonstrates how physical therapists can work with the rest of the healthcare team to provide high quality care in orthotic/prosthetic rehabilitation. The latest equipment and technology throughout text addresses the latest options in prosthetics and orthotics rehabilitation Authoritative information from the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, 2nd Edition is incorporated throughout. A wealth of tables and boxes highlight vital information for quick reference and ease of use. NEW! Color photographs improve visual appeal and facilitates learning. NEW! Increased evidence-based content includes updated citations; coverage of new technology such as microprocessors, microcontrollers, and integrated load cells; new evidence on the effectiveness and efficacy of interventions; and new evidence on cognitive workload usage. NEW! Authors Kevin K Chui, PT, DPT, PhD, GCS, OCS, CEEAA, FAAOMPT and Sheng-Che (Steven) Yen, PT, PhD add their expertise to an already impressive list of contributors.
ISBN: 0323609139Publication Date: 2019-09-26
PT 748
Pharmacology in Rehabilitation by
Up-to-date, must-know coverage Bring your understanding of the rapidly evolving world of pharmacological agents and their impact on rehabilitation up to date with the Updated 5th Edition of this groundbreaking reference. An easy-to-understand writing style and easy-to-follow design help you to understand the what, why, and how of this complex subject to ensure the most effective plans of care for your patients.
ISBN: 1719645345Publication Date: Updated 5th edition 2022
PT 755
Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation by
Develop problem-solving strategies for individualized, effective neurologic care! Under the new leadership of Rolando Lazaro, Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation, 7th Edition, covers the therapeutic management of people with activity limitations, participation restrictions, and quality of life issues following a neurological event. This comprehensive reference reviews basic theory and addresses the best evidence for evaluation tools and interventions commonly used in today's clinical practice. It applies a time-tested, evidence-based approach to neurological rehabilitation that is perfect for both the classroom and the clinic. Now fully searchable with additional case studies through Student Consult, this edition includes updated chapters and the latest advances in neuroscience. Comprehensive reference offers a thorough understanding of all aspects of neurological rehabilitation. Expert authorship and editors lend their experience and guidance for on-the-job success. UNIQUE! A section on neurological problems accompanying specific system problems includes hot topics such as poor vision, vestibular dysfunction, dementia and problems with cognition, and aging with a disability. A problem-solving approach helps you apply your knowledge to examinations, evaluations, prognoses, and intervention strategies. Evidence-based research sets up best practices, covering topics such as the theory of neurologic rehabilitation, screening and diagnostic tests, treatments and interventions, and the patient's psychosocial concerns. Case studies use real-world examples to promote problem-solving skills. Comprehensive coverage of neurological rehabilitation across the lifespan - from pediatrics to geriatrics. Terminology adheres to the best practices, follows The Guide to Physical Therapy Practice and the WHO-ICF World Health model. NEW! enhanced eBook on Student Consult. UPDATED! Color photos and line drawings clearly demonstrate important concepts and clinical conditions students will encounter in practice. NEW and EXPANDED! Additional case studies and videos illustrate how concepts apply to practice. Updated chapters incorporate the latest advances and the newest information in neurological rehabilitation strategies. NEW and UNIQUE! New chapter on concussion has been added. Separate and expanded chapters on two important topics: Balance and Vestibular.
ISBN: 0323611176Publication Date: 2019-12-16
PT 760
Campbell's Physical Therapy for Children by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Physical Therapy** Gain a solid foundation in physical therapy for infants, children, and adolescents! Campbell's Physical Therapy for Children, 6th Edition provides essential information on pediatric physical therapy practice, management of children with musculoskeletal, neurological, and cardiopulmonary conditions, and special practice settings. Following the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, this text describes how to examine and evaluate children, select evidence-based interventions, and measure outcomes to help children improve their body functions, activities, and participation. What also sets this book apart is its emphasis on clinical reasoning, decision making, and family-centered care. Written by a team of PT experts led by Robert J. Palisano, this book is ideal for use by students and by clinicians in daily practice. Comprehensive coverage provides a thorough understanding of foundational knowledge for pediatric physical therapy, including social determinants of health, development, motor control, and motor learning, as well as physical therapy management of pediatric disorders, including examination, evaluation, goal setting, the plan of care, and outcomes evaluation. Focus on the elements of patient/client management in the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice provides a framework for clinical decision making. Focus on the International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) of the World Health Organization (WHO) provides a standard language and framework for the description of health and health-related states, including levels of a person's capacity and performance. Experienced, expert contributors help you prepare to become a Board-Certified Pediatric Clinical Specialist and to succeed on the job. NEW! New chapter on social determinants of health and pediatric healthcare is added to this edition. NEW! New chapter on Down syndrome is added. NEW! 45 case scenarios in the ebook offer practice with clinical reasoning and decision making, and 123 video clips depict children's movements, examination procedures, and physical therapy interventions. NEW! An ebook version is included with print purchase, providing access to all the text, figures, and references, plus the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780323797962Publication Date: 2022-11-25
PT 764
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice, 5th ed. by
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice, Fifth Edition teaches the knowledge and skills to evaluate medical evidence and apply it to the practice of physical therapy. This valuable reference explains the fundamentals of medical research and how to determine which studies are useful in practice. As the leading evidence-based practice text for physical therapy, this is a comprehensive resource no physical therapist or student should be without.This practical guide empowers readers to learn how to evaluate research designs, appraise evidence, and apply research in clinical practice. Its reader-friendly style facilitates learning and presents the knowledge essential for physical therapist students to develop a strong foundation in research methods and methodologies related to evidence-based medicine.Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks an interactive eBook with assessments, blank appraisal forms, practice quizzes, interactive flashcards, interactive glossary, and open education resources.
Call Number: Limited to 3 concurrent users. If you are unable to access the title, please try again later or contact your librarian.ISBN: 9781284247541Publication Date: 2022-09-27
PT 765
Foundations of Clinical Research by
Become a successful evidence-based practitioner How do you evaluate the evidence? Is the information accurate, relevant and meaningful for clinical decision making? Did the design fit the research questions and was the analysis and interpretation of data appropriate? Here are all the materials you need to take your first steps as evidence-based practitioners...how to use the design, data and analysis of research as the foundation for effective clinical decision making. You'll find support every step of the way as you progress from the foundations of clinical research and concepts of measurement through the processes of designing studies and analyzing data to writing their own research proposal. Five Stars."Best book I have read explaining research. Not too complicated - but very thorough."--Amazon Reviewer Simply the best. "This is such a valuable resource. Bought it for the DPT program I am enrolled in. I will keep it as an excellent resource. So well written."--Amazon Reviewer ... this is a great book."It explains concepts so well! Our professor changed to this book the next year. All the OTs and PTs in my PhD program have bought this book. This is in my keep forever collection. Everyone in my department has the book and only loans it out with strict instructions for its return."--Kelly A., Amazon Reviewer
ISBN: 9780803661134Publication Date: 2020-01-17
Select eBooks Relevant to Physical Therapy
To search through all MUSC ebook titles (944K+), visit the eBooks page to search by keyword or title.
Basic Musculoskeletal Imaging, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A complete introductory text to musculoskeletal imaging Basic Musculoskeletal Imaging is an engagingly written, comprehensive textbook that addresses the fundamental principles and techniques of general diagnostic and advanced musculoskeletal imaging. In order to be as clinically relevant as possible, the text focuses on the conditions and procedures most often encountered in real-world practice, such as such as upper and lower extremity trauma, axial skeletal trauma, arthritis and infection, tumors, metabolic bone diseases, and more. The book is enhanced by superb figures and illustrations, clinical pearls that summarize must-know information, and an outstanding introduction to musculoskeletal ultrasound by international experts.
ISBN: 9781260459975Publication Date: 2021-07-07
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26 (13th edition)
Braddom's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation - 6th edition by
Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest advances and technologies, Braddom's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 6th Edition, remains the market leader in the field of PM&R. For more than 20 years, this bestselling reference has been the go-to resource for the entire rehabilitation team, providing in-depth coverage of essential core principles along with the latest research, technologies, and procedures that enhance patient care and facilitate optimal return to function. In this edition, lead editor Dr. David X. Cifu and his team of expert associate editors and contributing authors employ a more succinct format that emphasizes need-to-know material, incorporating new key summary features, including high-yield information and study sheets for problem-based learning. Focuses more heavily on rehabilitation, with case studies throughout and more comprehensive coverage of stroke evaluation, rehabilitation, and therapies. Provides expanded information on key topics such as interventional pain management options, gait and prosthetics, USG, fluoroscopy, electrodiagnosis and more. Features a new chapter on Occupational Medicine and Vocational Rehabilitation, plus enhanced coverage of the neurogenic bladder, rehabilitation and prosthetic restoration in upper limb amputation, and acute medical conditions including cardiac disease, medical frailty, and renal failure. Discusses quality and outcome measures for medical rehabilitation, practical aspects of impairment rating and disability determination, integrative medicine in rehabilitation, and assistive technology. Offers highly illustrated, templated chapters that are easy to navigate without sacrificing coverage of key topics. Includes access to dozens of even more practical videos and hundreds of integrated self-assessment questions for more effective learning and retention. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: 6th editionISBN: 0323625398Publication Date: 2020-09-25
Complete medical Spanish : Practical medical Spanish for quick and confident communication by ISBN: 007184189XPublication Date: 2015
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Maximize your patients' independence, quality of life, mobility, and functional improvement with this evidence-based guide to physical medicine and rehabilitation LANGE Valuable to practicing physicians, residents,medical students, as well as recertifying psychiatrists Includes timely chapters on sports, trauma, cardiac, and spinal rehabilitation Covers therapeutic exercise and treatment modalitiesfor pain and dysfunction Presents a practical approach to the physical medicine and rehabilitation patient, including common pathologies and complications Focuses on the clinical aspects of physical medicine and rehabilitation with an emphasis on evidence-based medicine Lays down a foundation of anatomy, kinesiology, and biomechanics before progressing to therapeutic exerciseand modalities Reviews diagnostic and therapeutic procedures performed by physicians such as electrodiagnostics, musculoskeletal ultrasound, and spine and joint injections Concludes with a comprehensive review of major primary care issues
ISBN: 9780071793292Publication Date: 2014-12-08
Dutton's Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A comprehensive intro to the art,science, and practice of physical therapy With Dutton's Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills, Second Edition, you get complete and well-rounded coverage of the practice of physical therapy (PT). This comprehensive introduction provides the conceptual framework you need to build a solid foundation in PT--including a historical perspective of the profession, an introduction to healthcare policy, and in-depth coverage of evidence-informed practice. The book describes how movement evolves, how it becomes skilled, and how dysfunction can occur; illustrates the necessary skills you need to successfully practice PT; explains how to development areas of expertise, including how to enhance a patient's function in such tasks as bed mobility, transfers, and gait training; and much more. The author emphasizes both patient and clinician safety through the use of correct body mechanics, application of assistive and safety devices, and infection control procedures.
Call Number: 2nd editionISBN: 9781260457957Publication Date: 2020-10-07
Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by
Packed with practical, up-to-date guidance, Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 4th Edition, by Walter R. Frontera, MD, PhD; Julie K. Silver, MD; and Thomas D. Rizzo, Jr., MD, helps you prevent, diagnose, and treat a wide range of musculoskeletal disorders, pain syndromes, and chronic disabling conditions in day-to-day patient care. This easy-to-use reference provides the information you need to improve patient function and performance by using both traditional and cutting-edge therapies, designing effective treatment plans, and working with interdisciplinary teams that meet your patients' current and changing needs. An easy-to-navigate format provides quick access to concise, well-illustrated coverage of every essential topic in the field. Presents each topic in a consistent, quick-reference format that includes a description of the condition, discussion of symptoms, examination findings, functional limitations, and diagnostic testing. An extensive treatment section covers initial therapies, rehabilitation interventions, procedures, and surgery. Contains new technology sections in every treatment area where recently developed technologies or devices have been added to the therapeutic and rehabilitation strategies, including robotic exoskeletons, wearable sensors, and more. Provides extensive coverage of hot topics in regenerative medicine, such as stem cells and platelet rich plasma (PRP), as well as a new chapter on abdominal wall pain. Delivers the knowledge and insights of several new, expert authors for innovative perspectives in challenging areas. Offers a clinically-focused, affordable, and focused reference for busy clinicians, as well as residents in need of a more accessible and targeted resource. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323549479Publication Date: 2018-12-04
Meeting the Physical Therapy Needs of Children by
Ensure children with disabilities and special healthcare needs achieve their full potential. Noted authorities Susan Effgen, Allyssa LaForme Fiss and a team of scholars and clinical experts explore the role of the physical therapist in meeting the needs of children and their families in a culturally appropriate content using a family-centered, abilities-based model. From the major body systems to assistive technology and intervention support, you'll develop the clinical knowledge you need to provide a child with the very best care from initial examination to graduation from your services.
ISBN: 9780803697270Publication Date: 2020-12-22
Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy by
Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase of the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Renowned for its comprehensive coverage and engaging, storytelling approach, the bestselling Moore''s Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 9th Edition, guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. A popular resource for a variety of programs, this proven text serves as a complete reference, emphasizing anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The 9th Edition reflects the latest changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as preparation for the USMLE while maintaining the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. NEW! Sex and gender content clarifies important gender considerations and reflects an equitable focus on female as well as male anatomy. Updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter clearly demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Extensively revised Clinical Blue Boxes highlight the practical applications of anatomy, accompanied by helpful icons, illustrations, and images that distinguish the type of clinical information covered. Updated introductory chapter establishes the foundational understanding of systemic information and basic concepts essential to success from the classroom to the dissection lab. Revised comprehensive surface anatomy photographs ensure accurate, effective physical examination diagnoses with integrated natural views of unobstructed surface anatomy and illustrations superimposing anatomical structures with landmarks for more accurate physical examination. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, combined with many photographs and medical images, strengthen comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. Bottom Line boxes provide detailed summaries at a glance and underscore the "big-picture" perspective. Illustrated tables clarify complex information about muscles, veins, arteries, nerves, and other structures for easy study and review. Chapter outlines help students find key information quickly and efficiently. Additional online resources: Interactive clinical vignette multiple-choice questions and answers provide valuable self-test opportunities for exam review. Case studies engage students in the clinical application process of anatomic principles. Clinical Blue Box videos further explore selected clinical applications. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, audio and video tutorials, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
ISBN: 1975154061Publication Date: 2022-04-01
Motor Learning and Control: Concepts and Applications by
Motor Learning and Control: Concepts and Applications, 12e, is an introduction to the study of motor learning and control for students who aspire to become practitioners in exercise science, physical education, and other movement-oriented professions. Each chapter presents motor learning and control as a set of principles and guidelines based on research evidence. The authors' clear writing style and practical applications will help students build a solid foundation and prepare them for further exploration on their own. Instructors and students can now access their course content through the Connect digital learning platform by purchasing either standalone Connect access or a bundle of print and Connect access. McGraw-Hill Connect® is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: SmartBook® - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. Access to your instructors homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping.
ISBN: 9781260838664Publication Date: 2020-03-03
Musculoskeletal Interventions: Techniques for Therapeutic Exercise, Fourth Edition by
The definitive, A-to-Z overview of evidence-based rehab programs using therapeutic exercise This comprehensive guide covers everything practitioners need to know about the design, implementation, and supervision of therapeutic exercise programs for orthopedic injuries and disorders. Featuring contributions from experts in the field, Musculoskeletal Interventions focuses on the practical application of theory in a clinical setting, making it an invaluable resource for students as well as experienced physical therapists. This updated, fourth edition includes expanded coverage of movement systems, along with clinical pearls and hundreds of illustrations.
ISBN: 9781260459951Publication Date: 2021-08-09
Neurologic Rehabilitation, Second Edition: Neuroscience and Neuroplasticity in Physical Therapy Practice by
This expert guide integrates full-color illustrations with neuromuscular skeletal content to help readers quickly and effectively master this topic Providing comprehensive coverage of the structure and function of the human nervous system, Neurologic Rehabilitation discusses normal motor development and motor control, as well as common treatment techniques in physical therapy. In order to help students master this subject, cases open each chapter and questions about those cases appear throughout the chapter. The text includes numerous tables, flow charts, illustrations, and multiple-choice board-style review questions and is enhanced by a roster of world-renowned clinical contributors.
ISBN: 9781260461398Publication Date: 2024-02-16
Principles of Athletic Training by
"Since the first edition of Principles of Athletic Training was published in 1963, the profession of athletic training has experienced amazing growth, not only in numbers but also in the associated body of knowledge. During all those years and in fifteen previous editions, the authors of this text, Daniel Arnheim, John Klafs, and now Bill Prentice, have taken it as a personal responsibility to provide the reader with the most current clinical information in athletic training and sports medicine. It has always been based on the most current research evidence and, consequently, it has endured as one of the preeminent textbooks for athletic training students and professionals for more than 50 years"--
ISBN: 9781260241051Publication Date: 2020-03-01
Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation, Sixth Edition by
The most comprehensive textbook available on therapeutic modalities in rehabilitation - enhanced by a full-color presentation and numerous case studies.Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation is a theoretically based but practically oriented guide to the use of therapeutic modalities for practicing clinicians and their students. It clearly presents the basis for use of each different type of modality and allows clinicians to make their own decision as to which will be the most effective in a given situation. Presented in full color, the text describes various concepts, principles, and theories that are supported by scientific research, factual evidence, and experience of the authors in dealing with various conditions.* Essential text for Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy programs * Author Bill Prentice was inducted into the National Athletic Trainers Association Hall of Fame in 2004 * Evidenced based and supported by case studies and laboratory activities to demonstrate the application of the modalities on patients
ISBN: 9781264264551Publication Date: 2021-08-10
Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy by
Take an eclectic, evidence-based approach to orthopaedic manual therapy. From theory through practical application of soft tissue and joint mobilization techniques--this comprehensive resource delivers the depth and breadth of coverage you need to optimize patient outcomes through informed clinical decision-making as part of a comprehensive intervention regimen.
ISBN: 9780803614970Publication Date: 2015-04-10
eBook Collections
Don't know exactly which ebook you're looking for? The advantage of an ebook collection is that you can search the full-text of all ebooks in that collection at one time, and you will be directed to the exact section of each book where your keywords occur.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. - AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
AccessPhysiotherapy is the go-to collection of physical therapy learning resources featuring hundreds of books, videos, cases, NPTE prep resources, review questions, PTA board review, instructor resources, and more.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From quick answers at the point of care to leading full-text reference material, ClinicalKey delivers trusted content to support physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and students.
- F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes physical therapy books, clinical cases, and videos designed to teach exercise and rehabilitation techniques, kinetics, and physical therapy interventions. It is aimed primarily at postgraduate Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) programs, both student and faculty. Some content can also be used by occupational therapy, athletic training, and kinesiology programs.
- LWW Health Library: Basic and Anatomical Sciences eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
LWW Health Library delivers trusted health science education and clinical content directly to students, faculty, and staff, through a single portal - providing interactive online access to essential texts, procedure videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks specifically tailored for each specialty.
*Includes Bates' Guide to Physical Examination & History Taking.*
- LWW Health Library: Occupational Therapy eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Core collection of occupational therapy books (such as Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy) as well as multimedia resources, and teaching and learning tools.
