Instructional Assessement
- Library Instruction Assesment
MUSC Librarians believe in your academic, clinical, and research success. We are asking for your feedback to improve instructional session geared toward you. Please take 5 minutes to complete the short survey after each Librarian interaction that will aid us in developing better instructional courses.
Contact Me
Ayaba Logan
Contact:
Email: loganay@musc.edu
Library Suite 448
Office /Room 445
Library Suite 448
Office /Room 445
843-792-4213
Website Skype Contact: Loganay.informationist
How can my liaison help me?
Welcome to the Nursing Ph.D. Information Guide, the place to supplement your courses or start your research with links to relevant library and other electronic resources, including databases, books, datasets, and journals, as well as tips on finding evidence-based information
As your liaison for Nursing, I am able to:
- Assist you in building search strategies for finding relevant journal literature
- Show you how to cite your sources and teach you about citation management tools (Refworks, Endnote, etc) that can save you time with your bibliography
- Provide links to other library resources
- Present topic-based sessions to classes, working groups, or clinical teams
- Provide one-on-one advice about your research topic
- Teach you advanced tricks for database searching
- Orient you to the library resources available through MUSC
Available Resources
New OR Helpful Resources
Curriculum Development and Evaluation in Nursing (3rd Edition) by ISBN: 9780826130280Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Writing for Publication in Nursing by
Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
ISBN: 9780826147011Publication Date: 2018-06-01
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
ISBN: 9781119484721Publication Date: 2019-04-04
Doing a literature review in health and social care : a practical guide by
This popular book demystifies literature reviewing and answers the questions students have about how to tackle the process
ISBN: 0335248012Publication Date: 2019
