Research/Theory/Stats
Enhancing the Effectiveness of Team Science by
The past half-century has witnessed a dramatic increase in the scale and complexity of scientific research. The growing scale of science has been accompanied by a shift toward collaborative research, referred to as "team science." Scientific research is increasingly conducted by small teams and larger groups rather than individual investigators, but the challenges of collaboration can slow these teams' progress in achieving their scientific goals. How does a team-based approach work, and how can universities and research institutions support teams? Enhancing the Effectiveness of Team Science synthesizes and integrates the available research to provide guidance on assembling the science team; leadership, education and professional development for science teams and groups. It also examines institutional and organizational structures and policies to support science teams and identifies areas where further research is needed to help science teams and groups achieve their scientific and translational goals. This report offers major public policy recommendations for science research agencies and policymakers, as well as recommendations for individual scientists, disciplinary associations, and research universities. Enhancing the Effectiveness of Team Science will be of interest to university research administrators, team science leaders, science faculty, and graduate and postdoctoral students.
ISBN: 9780309316828Publication Date: 2015-08-15
Research Collaboration and Team Science by
Today in mostnbsp;scientific and technicalnbsp;fields more than 90% of research studies and publications are collaborative, oftennbsp;resulting innbsp;high-impact research and development of commercialnbsp;applications, as reflected in patents. Nowadays in many areas of science, collaboration is not a preference but, literally, a work prerequisite. The purpose of this book is to review and critique the burgeoning scholarship on research collaboration. The authors seek to identify gaps in theory and research and identify the ways in which existing research can be used to improve public policy for collaboration and to improve project-level management of collaborations using Scientific and Technical Human Capital (STHC) theory as a framework. Broadly speaking, STHC is the sum of scientific and technical and social knowledge, skills and resources embodied in a particular individual. It is both human capital endowments, such as formal education and training and social relations and network ties that bind scientists and the users of science together. STHC includes the human capital which is the unique set of resources the individual brings to his or her own work and to collaborative efforts. Generally, human capital models have developed separately from social capital models, but in the practice of science and the career growth of scientists, the two are not easily disentangled. Using a multi-factor model, the book explores various factors affecting collaboration outcomes, with particular attention on institutional factors such as industry-university relations and the rise of large-scale university research centers.
ISBN: 9783319064680Publication Date: 2014-05-16
- Team Science Toolkit The National Cancer Institute’s Science of Team Science (SciTS) Team The National Cancer Institute’s (NCI) SciTs Team was formed in 1999 (with the original name, Evaluation of Large Initiatives (ELI) team) with a primary charge to better understand the processes, outcomes and impacts of the large transdisciplinary center grant initiatives supported by the NCI. The NCI SciTS Team is located in the Science of Research and Technology Branch (SRTB) in the Behavioral Research Program (BRP), part of the Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences (DCCPS) of NCI. The SciTS Team has had a longstanding interest in assessing whether these center grants, which support transdisciplinary team science, offer added value compared to traditional investigator-initiated research, in terms of research productivity, innovation, and translational applications to cancer prevention and treatment. Mission and Goals of the SciTS Team The current mission of the SciTS Team is to advance our understanding of effective team science approaches, including cross-disciplinary team approaches, by implementing and stimulating original SciTS research and supporting the translation of emerging knowledge into best practices to enhance the conduct, support and evaluation of team science. The team aims to achieve this mission by conducting research and providing support and leadership related to three key goals: Goal: Studying Team Science Objectives: To use innovative multi-method approaches to study the processes and outcomes of cross-disciplinary team science initiatives. To develop and apply new methods, metrics, definitions, models, and approaches for evaluating cross-disciplinary team science initiatives. Goal: Facilitating Team Science Collaborations Objective: To facilitate effective team science collaborations, as well as training in team science, through the development of practical tools and resources and funding opportunities. Goal: Supporting The Development of the SciTS Field Objective: To support the development and evolution of the SciTS field by supporting platforms for knowledge sharing and information exchange, including conferences, journal special issues devoted to team science, and web-based technologies for knowledge sharing and information exchange on team science.
- The Science of Team Science: Overview of the Field and Introduction to the Supplement The science of team science encompasses an amalgam of conceptual and methodologic strategies aimed at understanding and enhancing the outcomes of large-scale collaborative research and training programs. This field has emerged rapidly in recent years, largely in response to growing concerns about the cost effectiveness of public- and private-sector investments in team-based science and training initiatives. The distinctive boundaries and substantive concerns of this field, however, have remained difficult to discern. An important challenge for the field is to characterize the science of team science more clearly in terms of its major theoretical, methodologic, and translational concerns. The articles in this supplement address this challenge, especially in the context of designing, implementing, and evaluating cross-disciplinary research initiatives. This introductory article summarizes the major goals and organizing themes of the supplement, draws links between the constituent articles, and identifies new areas of study within the science of team science.
- Pearls and Pitfalls of Team Science Formidable health problems are often best addressed by teams of scientists with varied expertise. This diversity among team members and complexities in managing teams can lead to challenges in designing, funding, conducting, and reporting research. Team science difficulties can be addressed by sophisticated planning, frequent reassessment and realignment of team strategies with goals, and consistent transparent communication. This article addresses specific strategies to build and sustain research teams, manage team meetings, strategically develop publications and grants, thrive in the midst of disciplinary and individual team member differences, embrace new ideas and change to maintain creativity, and build future team scientists and projects. The potential value in team science justifies the effort required to build and maintain efficient and effective research teams.
Global Health Nursing by
""The narratives in this book offer rare and much-needed insight into the lived experiences and contributions of the largest cadre of global health workers: The nurses who have dedicated their careers and their lives to serving the world's poor."" --Paul Farmer, MD, PhD, Kolokotrones University Professor Harvard University; Co-Founder, Partners in Health Global health nursing--as a career or as a time-limited experience in personal and professional growth--is a rapidly growing specialty area. This unique book presents firsthand accounts from nurses at all professional levels, who share their life-changing experiences and insights with nurses interested in the global health arena. Written with compassion and humor, their stories emphasize the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing. Contributors describe their motivation for working in global health, along with the rewards and challenges. The authors discuss the importance of approaching global nursing with humility, respect, and appreciation for what they will learn from their colleagues. They describe how global health work has enhanced their ability to provide quality care to diverse populations, which include recent immigrants living in the United States. In addition to these vivid accounts, the book discusses the parameters of global health nursing, how to prepare for this nursing experience, key resources, global nursing research, and nurses as global health consultants. Woven throughout the book are descriptions of how these nurses have encouraged--through teaching and mentoring--the next generation of global health nurses. The book also provides coverage of domestic global health initiatives. Key Features: Presents firsthand accounts of the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing Describes assumptions challenged and lessons learned Written for nurses at all stages of professional life Discusses varied opportunities in global health nursing, which includes research and consulting Covers domestic global health initiatives Assists faculty to prepare themselves and their students for global health endeavors
ISBN: 9780826121189Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Topic Specific
- Global Health Nursing by
""The narratives in this book offer rare and much-needed insight into the lived experiences and contributions of the largest cadre of global health workers: The nurses who have dedicated their careers and their lives to serving the world's poor."" --Paul Farmer, MD, PhD, Kolokotrones University Professor Harvard University; Co-Founder, Partners in Health Global health nursing--as a career or as a time-limited experience in personal and professional growth--is a rapidly growing specialty area. This unique book presents firsthand accounts from nurses at all professional levels, who share their life-changing experiences and insights with nurses interested in the global health arena. Written with compassion and humor, their stories emphasize the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing. Contributors describe their motivation for working in global health, along with the rewards and challenges. The authors discuss the importance of approaching global nursing with humility, respect, and appreciation for what they will learn from their colleagues. They describe how global health work has enhanced their ability to provide quality care to diverse populations, which include recent immigrants living in the United States. In addition to these vivid accounts, the book discusses the parameters of global health nursing, how to prepare for this nursing experience, key resources, global nursing research, and nurses as global health consultants. Woven throughout the book are descriptions of how these nurses have encouraged--through teaching and mentoring--the next generation of global health nurses. The book also provides coverage of domestic global health initiatives. Key Features: Presents firsthand accounts of the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing Describes assumptions challenged and lessons learned Written for nurses at all stages of professional life Discusses varied opportunities in global health nursing, which includes research and consulting Covers domestic global health initiatives Assists faculty to prepare themselves and their students for global health endeavors
ISBN: 9780826121189Publication Date: 2014-09-01
The nurse's grant writing advantage : how grant writing can advance your nursing careerISBN: 9781935476757Publication Date: 2012
Qualitative ebooks
Handbook of Qualitative Health Research for Evidence-Based Practice by ISBN: 9781493929207Publication Date: 2015-10-12
Nursing Research Using Participatory Action Research by ISBN: 9780826126146Publication Date: 2014-12-15
Understanding Qualitative Research and Ethnomethodology by ISBN: 9781412933612Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Statistical ebooks
Statistics for Advanced Practice Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826198259Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research by ISBN: 9780826105080
Statistical Analysis Quick Reference Guidebook by ISBN: 9781441628312Publication Date: 2007Not available electronically but
- Request a CHAPTER electronically through Interlibrary Loan (choose "book chapter" from left side of Interlibrary Loan page)
SPSS for Applied Sciences by ISBN: 9780643107113Publication Date: 2013-01-01Clearly explains how to use SPSS statistical software, including tests and worked examples.
Theory Plus
Re-Thinking Diversity by ISBN: 9783658115029Publication Date: 2015-12-01Not available electronically but
- Request a CHAPTER electronically through Interlibrary Loan (choose "book chapter" from left side of Interlibrary Loan page)
A Casebook in Interprofessional Ethics by ISBN: 9783319237695Publication Date: 2016-02-13Not available electronically but
- Request a CHAPTER electronically through Interlibrary Loan (choose "book chapter" from left side of Interlibrary Loan page)
eResearch Books
Fostering a research-intensive organization : an interdisciplinary approach for nurses from Massachusetts General HospitalISBN: 9781940446028Publication Date: 2015
