RMHA FA24 Textbooks
The United States Healthcare System by
The complexity of the United States healthcare system is well known, as are its challenges and shortcomings. A vital task in the years ahead will be to transition the system toward a new paradigm - one that more effectively balances quality, costs, and access to support the overall well-being of the American people. The United States Healthcare System: Overview, Driving Forces, and Outlook for the Future is intended for the healthcare professionals who will lead the transformation to optimized health and healthcare solutions. The book presents a broad overview of the system's numerous components, assesses the historical influences that brought us to our present state, and examines the trends and emerging opportunities through which we can attain a better future. Over the course of 14 chapters, the book examines such topics as the following: The system's origins and development The nature of health and well-being Categories of health services delivery The roles of organizations and providers Financing mechanisms, past and present Comparisons with other countries Quality and safety improvement The impact of technology The politicization of healthcare Ongoing reform efforts The book's chapters establish a firm knowledge base for each topic while also inviting deeper discussion and further exploration. Collectively, they aim to foster a thorough, multidimensional understanding of how the healthcare system functions, how it has evolved, and how it can be improved.
ISBN: 9781640551657Publication Date: 2020-06-30
Statistics for Health Care Management and Administration: Working with Excel by ISBN: 9781118712658Publication Date: 2016
Select the Ebook Central full text option for best user experience with unlimited users and the ability to download chapter PDFs for offline reading.
Gapenski's Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management by
Gapenski's Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management explores how healthcare organizations manage financial operations to optimally provide patient care. This significantly revised edition of one of Health Administration Press's best-selling books introduces the key foundational elements of healthcare finance, including both accounting and financial management. Numerous examples throughout showcase how healthcare finance is practiced in a variety of organizations, including hospitals, medical practices, clinics, home health agencies, nursing homes, and managed care organizations. Authors Kristin L. Reiter and Paula H. Song emphasize not only financial theory and principles but also practical tools healthcare managers can use to make the crucial decisions that promote the financial well-being of their organization. Gapenski's Healthcare Finance examines the current financial environment in which providers operate, with an emphasis on health system design, healthcare insurance, and reimbursement methodologies. Dates, exhibits, references, and resources have been updated throughout. All examples and financial statements reflect current accounting and reporting standards. In a dynamic environment, healthcare leaders need to practice good financial decision-making for the health of their patients and the financial stability of their organization. From this book, current and future managers will understand the finance problems provider organizations face and how best to solve them.
Call Number: 7th editionISBN: 1640551867Publication Date: 2020-07-27
Organizational Behavior and Theory in Healthcare: Leadership Perspectives and Management Applications, Second Edition by
While healthcare managers must juggle many responsibilities, one of the most important aspects of their job is interacting with and motivating their colleagues and staff. Leaders who develop the skills to deliver on this front will achieve greater individual, team, and organizational success. Organizational Behavior and Theory in Healthcare: Leadership Perspectives and Management Applications examines the theories of organizational design, leadership, management, and social psychology as they apply to health services. Through its practical approach to the tools and framework for understanding, structuring, and changing managerial behavior, the book allows readers to fully comprehend the concepts and recognize how they apply to the interactions and interrelationships of people, structures, and organizations. This extensively revised edition includes 29 new cases, based on real-life experiences, that can be studied in conjunction with specific chapters. The book also contains new chapters on employee satisfaction, work teams, and human resources, as well as an updated chapter on diversity, equity, and inclusion. Other content new to this edition includes: The impact of recent and future innovations in healthcare Sexual harassment and power politics in the workplace Methods for improving gender and racial equity in health outcomes Lessons learned from the COVID-19 pandemic on organizational learning and ethics In each chapter, the authors outline specific learning competencies to provide students with the knowledge and skills required for their careers in healthcare management. End-of-chapter cases, activities, and questions reinforce students' learning. Leaders who have a firm grasp of the theories and practices of organizational behavior presented in this book will be able to guide their organizations to peak performance.
ISBN: 9781640553026Publication Date: 2021-12-31
Human Resources in Healthcare by
The unprecedented events of 2020 exposed many of the hidden flaws in the healthcare system that harm not only patients but also healthcare employees and their well-being. Anti-racism movements demanded that healthcare organizations reframe their diversity and inclusion initiatives. The COVID-19 pandemic forced systems to respond to worker strain, stress, and burnout. These events and others have reinforced the need for a dynamic and constantly evolving approach to human resources in healthcare. Human Resources in Healthcare: Managing for Success addresses the key realities and trends in healthcare human relations. The topics explored provide readers with a solid foundation for working effectively with people in healthcare organizations. The book's aim is to equip managers with the conflict management and problem-solving skills necessary to apply sound human resources policies. This fifth edition includes three new chapters based on recent developments. One explores burnout and worker well-being in the changing healthcare landscape and in the face of a pandemic. Another focuses on diversity, inclusion, and belonging, offering problem-based cases and a tool for diversity strategy development. The third addresses worker retention, as millennials and Generation Z become a larger share of the workforce. Other changes in this edition include: updates on the increasing use of technology and its effect on the employer-employee relationship; vignettes in each chapter that challenge students with difficult ethical dilemmas; human resources metrics that support a diversity strategy and effectiveness in retention and hiring; and expanded instructor resources that include teaching notes for ethical scenarios and discussion questions. Recognizing change in the healthcare workforce is only the first step. This book elevates managers to the next step: expertly adapting and succeeding in the face of change.
ISBN: 1640552456Publication Date: 2021-06-14
Managing Healthcare Ethically, Volume 1 by
Healthcare leaders need to exemplify the professional values they expect from others throughout the organization. A strong ethical foundation is indispensable for making sound judgements and providing high-quality patient care. Managing Healthcare Ethically: Leadership Roles and Responsibilities highlights the issues leaders encounter in ensuring ethical performance in both their organizations and the communities they serve. This book provides specific guidance for expanding leadership skills and details relevant character traits that contribute to maintaining an ethical culture. The book features selected columns originally written for the American College of Healthcare Executives' Healthcare Executive magazine. Chosen for their relevance to today's healthcare environment, the columns share practical applications for leaders committed to ensuring an ethically grounded organization.
ISBN: 9781640552500Publication Date: 2022-01-06
Managing Healthcare Ethically, Volume 2 by
Healthcare systems tailor their structure and policies to create an ethically aligned organization. The best organizational practices and cultures are built on strong and consistent ethical decision-making that ensures quality and value-based patient care. Managing Healthcare Ethically: Organizational Concerns focuses on how a healthcare organization's ethical decisions and actions affect its operations and overall mission. The book establishes the need for clear policies and guidelines that foster and sustain an ethically grounded organization. Gathering columns originally published in American College of Healthcare Executives publications, in particular Healthcare Executive magazine, this volume provides strategies for governing boards, committees, and individual leaders to define and improve their organization's ethical standards of practice.
ISBN: 1640552553Publication Date: 2022-01-06
The Healthcare Leader's Guide to Actions, Awareness, and Perception by
As a leader in healthcare, you are highly visible and constantly watched-often very closely. Perception is often more important than reality, and career success may ultimately hinge on your awareness of how you are perceived and your ability to act consistently in a manner befitting your position. Now in its third edition, The Healthcare Leader's Guide to Actions, Awareness, and Perception highlights the "sense of the appropriate"-an essential leadership trait that applies to behavior, character, courtesy, ethics, professionalism, and respect. Leaders need a special skill set for building and maintaining positive relationships with a variety of individuals and groups, and they must be constantly aware of the risk of missteps and derailment. Leaders at every level-from newcomers to experienced executives-will find guidance in this book. It examines key leadership principles, illustrates core concepts with stories and examples, and sets forth a framework of protocols tailored to specific interactions and situations. Topics covered in this book include: Professional image and reputation Ethical decision making Relationships with the executive team, the governing board, and physicians Communications, technology, and social media Ethnic, gender, and generational diversity Self-awareness and derailment Effective leaders benefit from heightened self-awareness. They are conscious of their quirks and weaknesses, they seek constant and diverse feedback, and they grow through self-reflection. Contribute to your own professional success by letting this book be a "mirror" to your leadership style and refine your executive etiquette.
ISBN: 1567937659Publication Date: 2016-01-30
RMHA SP24 - Library Access to Textbooks
The Healthcare Quality Book by
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, and answers to discussion questions. As healthcare reform continues to transform US healthcare delivery and processes, one thing remains the same: the importance of quality. This book brings together a team of internationally prominent contributors who provide expertise on current strategies, tactics, and methods for understanding quality in a comprehensive way. The book provides a solid foundation on the components and importance of quality, while incorporating techniques to continuously improve and transform a healthcare system. This extensively updated edition includes: A new chapter that addresses hardwiring quality into the organization's culture for consistent delivery A new final chapter that details the latest developments in healthcare and maps a path for healthcare transformation Extensive content and emphasis on the Affordable Care Act as it relates to quality A discussion of the importance of quality in transitioning from fee-for-service models to value-based payment Tools to measure and improve patient experiences, such as dashboards and scorecards Information on emerging trends and challenges in healthcare, including electronic health records and physician engagement This comprehensive textbook is suited for undergraduate and graduate courses in healthcare administration as well as business, nursing, allied health, pharmacy, and medicine programs. Study questions in each chapter facilitate additional discussion.
Call Number: 3rd editionISBN: 9781567935905Publication Date: 2014-04-30
The Healthcare Quality Book by
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint summaries, and teaching aids for each chapter, including answers to the end-of-chapter study questions. Every healthcare organization is on its own unique journey, but each one needs a road map to a common destination--quality. Improving the quality of care is an essential strategy for surviving--and thriving--in today's demanding healthcare environment. The Healthcare Quality Book: Vision, Strategy, and Tools provides the framework, strategies, and practical tactics that all healthcare leaders need as they learn, implement, and manage quality improvement efforts. With chapters by a group of leading contributors with significant expertise and breadth of experience, the book offers a detailed exploration of the components of quality, while incorporating techniques to continuously improve and transform healthcare organizations. The book is organized into four parts. Part I establishes the foundation for healthcare quality and examines the history of the quality movement. Part II speaks in depth about tools, measures, and their applications in the pursuit of quality. Part III focuses on the intersection of leadership and culture--which is central to the pursuit of quality and safety. Part IV concludes the book with a series of chapters that discuss many of the emerging trends that are shaping the contemporary quality landscape. Building on the success of the first three editions, this new edition has been significantly redeveloped and reimagined, with content strategically refined to focus on what is most essential for healthcare managers. It features new and expanded information on: Community health quality improvementQuality measures and leadershipProvider profiling and registriesCulture-of-safety and high-reliability organizingHealth information technology The Healthcare Quality Book is designed to be both an instructional guide and a conversation starter for all students of healthcare quality--all healthcare professionals, current and future.
Call Number: 4th editionISBN: 1640550534Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Economics for Healthcare Managers, Fifth Edition by
Economics for Healthcare Managers provides the practical guide that healthcare managers need to simplify and strengthen the decision-making process for everyday issues. Written for those with little or no background in economics, the book is designed to engage readers in today's policy and management challenges. The author references classic studies while also drawing on current research and emphasizing contemporary analyses. This extensively revised edition presents the latest information on topics such as: Overviews of the US healthcare system and healthcare financing systemRisk evaluation and managementCosts and PricingPopulation healthForecastingSupply and demand analysisEconomic analysis of clinical and managerial interventionsProfits, market structure, and market powerGovernment intervention in healthcare marketsBehavioral economics The book's 37 case studies offer real-world examples of the concepts and strategies provided throughout the book.
ISBN: 9781640553712Publication Date: 2023-03-09
Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance, Sixth Edition by
Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides, spreadsheets, and case discussion questions and solutions. Sound financial analysis and decision making require a thorough comprehension of theory, plus the insight and judgment that come from experience. Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance gives students an opportunity to bridge the gap between learning theoretical concepts in the classroom and applying those concepts in the real world. By working the cases in this book, students who have a basic understanding of healthcare finance can better prepare for the multitude of problems they will face in practice. The book's 32 case studies feature a variety of healthcare settings-from hospitals and clinics to medical practices, home health organizations, integrated delivery systems, and more. Each case focuses on a single issue related to a specific area of financial management, including: Cost behavior and profit analysis Cost allocation Pricing, planning, and budgeting Capital acquisition and allocation Financial condition analysis and forecasting Current asset management Business valuation The cases are supported by an extensive array of ancillary resources-including spreadsheet models for both instructors and students, case questions and solutions, and PowerPoint slides-all substantially updated and reorganized for this edition. Since 2000, this highly regarded book has been used in healthcare finance courses throughout the United States. Original author Louis C. Gapenski was recognized both nationally and internationally as an expert in healthcare finance. In the sixth edition, authors George H. Pink and Paula H. Song carry forward Dr. Gapenski's legacy to the field of healthcare administration. As the provision of healthcare continues to evolve and advance, this book will help students develop the insight and judgment they need as future leaders.
ISBN: 1567939651Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Marketing Health Services by
As the healthcare field evolves, so, too, does healthcare marketing. Flexing with the changing environment, marketing continues to demonstrate its vital importance to healthcare in these dynamic times. The fourth edition of this essential guide to healthcare marketing, released five years after the previous edition, features new and updated content reflecting changes in the field, such as the emergence of population health management and value-based care, a focus on preventive care versus sick care, and an overall shift in thinking to caring for groups of consumers versus individual patients.The author, who has real-world, on the-the-ground experience as a healthcare marketer, provides numerous examples and case studies to demonstrate healthcare marketing's role in a shifting landscape. Changes to the fourth edition include: A new chapter on the changing healthcare environment, providing rich context for future healthcare marketing activities A new chapter addressing health communication's pivotal role in healthcare marketing and the processes involved with developing effective communication plans Major updates on developments in the healthcare marketing field since 2010 A new section on international healthcare consumers A revised chapter on contemporary marketing techniques, with a new section on affinity marketing And more
ISBN: 9781640551558Publication Date: 2020-02-28
Managerial Epidemiology by
The COVID-19 pandemic threw the world into turmoil and exposed a cascade of vulnerabilities. One of the many lessons learned from this pandemic is that epidemiological principles must be applied to manage healthcare services and control disease in populations. Managerial Epidemiology: Cases and Concepts provides a comprehensive introduction to epidemiology and its use in healthcare management. Extensively revised, this edition demonstrates, through 64 real-world case studies and numerous examples, how the tools and principles of epidemiology can help managers make better-informed decisions. Updates include: Two new chapters on population health and confounding, bias, and effect modification; New cases focused on relevant healthcare management issues, such as health risk factors and capitation rates; A completely rewritten chapter on epidemiology and financial management; Heavily revised chapters on case-control studies, cohort studies, randomized clinical trials, infectious disease epidemiology, mortality and risk adjustment, and cost-effectiveness analysis; A sharper focus on healthcare-acquired infections; Greater emphasis on needs assessment and healthcare planning. The book's case studies are presented in three levels. In-chapter cases and answer guides form an integral component of the book's learning process. End-of-chapter cases provide additional exercises for practical application, with answers supplied at the back of the book so that students can self-quiz. In the book's final section, in-depth capstone cases offer an opportunity for reviewing and synthesizing material from specific chapters. Today more than ever, healthcare administrators must use the information provided by epidemiological methods to optimally manage interventions, treatments, and healthcare services that affect the health of populations.
ISBN: 9781640551961Publication Date: 2020-09-30
RMHA FA23
- The United States Healthcare System by
The complexity of the United States healthcare system is well known, as are its challenges and shortcomings. A vital task in the years ahead will be to transition the system toward a new paradigm - one that more effectively balances quality, costs, and access to support the overall well-being of the American people. The United States Healthcare System: Overview, Driving Forces, and Outlook for the Future is intended for the healthcare professionals who will lead the transformation to optimized health and healthcare solutions. The book presents a broad overview of the system's numerous components, assesses the historical influences that brought us to our present state, and examines the trends and emerging opportunities through which we can attain a better future. Over the course of 14 chapters, the book examines such topics as the following: The system's origins and development The nature of health and well-being Categories of health services delivery The roles of organizations and providers Financing mechanisms, past and present Comparisons with other countries Quality and safety improvement The impact of technology The politicization of healthcare Ongoing reform efforts The book's chapters establish a firm knowledge base for each topic while also inviting deeper discussion and further exploration. Collectively, they aim to foster a thorough, multidimensional understanding of how the healthcare system functions, how it has evolved, and how it can be improved.
ISBN: 9781640551657Publication Date: 2020-06-30
- Statistics for Health Care Management and Administration: Working with Excel by ISBN: 9781118712658Publication Date: 2016
Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management by
Bonus Chapters 18 & 19 (click here for access) Practice Exercises for Students (click here for access) Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, solutions to end-of-chapter questions and problems, and a transition guide to the new edition. The essential concepts of both accounting and financial management are covered in this best-selling healthcare finance book. Through clear explanations, numerous examples, and realistic practice problems, it arms future managers with the grounding they need to make financially sound decisions for their healthcare organizations. This thoroughly updated edition provides more emphasis on the unique marketplace for healthcare services and additional examples from nonhospital settings, including medical practices, clinics, home health agencies, nursing homes, and managed care organizations. Particular content changes include: Expanded discussion of health insurance, reimbursement methodologies, and the impact of healthcare reform on provider behavior A new presentation of managerial accounting material that follows a more logical progression of concepts, emphasizing the level of analysis (organization, department, service) rather than techniques Coverage of three service-line costing methods: cost-to-charge ratio, relative value unit, and activity-based costing. Plus, an introduction to time-driven activity-based costing, a method for costing at the patient level. Updated financial accounting formats that conform to the latest American Institute of Certified Public Accountants guidance Increased coverage of the revenue cycle This edition also features a more user-friendly layout and additional end-of-chapter practice problems. Online student resources include: A chapter on lease financing and business valuation (previously included in the book) A chapter on distributions to owners: bonuses, dividends, and repurchases Use the companion casebook for even more classroom application! Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance, Sixth Edition, is an ideal supplement to this text. Through real-world cases, it bridges the gap between learning concepts in a lecture setting and applying these concepts on the job. Students will be better prepared to deal with the multitude of issues that arise in the practice of healthcare finance!
Call Number: 6th editionISBN: 1567937411Publication Date: 2016-12-01- Gapenski's Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management by
Gapenski's Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management explores how healthcare organizations manage financial operations to optimally provide patient care. This significantly revised edition of one of Health Administration Press's best-selling books introduces the key foundational elements of healthcare finance, including both accounting and financial management. Numerous examples throughout showcase how healthcare finance is practiced in a variety of organizations, including hospitals, medical practices, clinics, home health agencies, nursing homes, and managed care organizations. Authors Kristin L. Reiter and Paula H. Song emphasize not only financial theory and principles but also practical tools healthcare managers can use to make the crucial decisions that promote the financial well-being of their organization. Gapenski's Healthcare Finance examines the current financial environment in which providers operate, with an emphasis on health system design, healthcare insurance, and reimbursement methodologies. Dates, exhibits, references, and resources have been updated throughout. All examples and financial statements reflect current accounting and reporting standards. In a dynamic environment, healthcare leaders need to practice good financial decision-making for the health of their patients and the financial stability of their organization. From this book, current and future managers will understand the finance problems provider organizations face and how best to solve them.
Call Number: 7th editionISBN: 1640551867Publication Date: 2020-07-27
Human resources in healthcare : Managing for success by Call Number: 4th editionISBN: 1567937098Publication Date: 2015
- Managing Healthcare Ethically, Volume 1 by
Healthcare leaders need to exemplify the professional values they expect from others throughout the organization. A strong ethical foundation is indispensable for making sound judgements and providing high-quality patient care. Managing Healthcare Ethically: Leadership Roles and Responsibilities highlights the issues leaders encounter in ensuring ethical performance in both their organizations and the communities they serve. This book provides specific guidance for expanding leadership skills and details relevant character traits that contribute to maintaining an ethical culture. The book features selected columns originally written for the American College of Healthcare Executives' Healthcare Executive magazine. Chosen for their relevance to today's healthcare environment, the columns share practical applications for leaders committed to ensuring an ethically grounded organization.
ISBN: 9781640552500Publication Date: 2022-01-06
- Managing Healthcare Ethically, Volume 2 by
Healthcare systems tailor their structure and policies to create an ethically aligned organization. The best organizational practices and cultures are built on strong and consistent ethical decision-making that ensures quality and value-based patient care. Managing Healthcare Ethically: Organizational Concerns focuses on how a healthcare organization's ethical decisions and actions affect its operations and overall mission. The book establishes the need for clear policies and guidelines that foster and sustain an ethically grounded organization. Gathering columns originally published in American College of Healthcare Executives publications, in particular Healthcare Executive magazine, this volume provides strategies for governing boards, committees, and individual leaders to define and improve their organization's ethical standards of practice.
ISBN: 1640552553Publication Date: 2022-01-06
