eBooks (individual titles)
Accounting Fundamentals for Health Care Management by
Accounting Fundamentals for Health Care Management is ideal for an introductory course in financial accounting in both undergraduate and graduate programs. With a focus on basic accounting in health care management, this essential book contains the vocabulary of and an introduction to the tools and concepts employed by finance officers. Students will learn how to assess financial information, ask the appropriate questions, and understand the jargon-laden answers. The Third Edition reflects the changes since the enactment of health care reform. It also brings the book in compliance with recent and near-term changes to accounting standards by the Financial Accounting Standards Board including how bad debts are reported, the presentation of cash flow statements, and the presentation of net assets on the balance sheet.All Excel tables and screenshots have been updated to more recent versions of the program to make it more accessible to readers. All the problems, solutions, and cases have been updated and are compliant with current FASB standards.
Call Number: Access limited to 3 concurrent users.ISBN: 1284124932Publication Date: 2018-02-12
Analysis for Financial Management by Call Number: Access limited to 3 concurrent users.ISBN: 1259918963Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Cases in Healthcare Finance, Seventh Edition by
Healthcare finance is a fascinating discipline, yet students often disregard it as either too theoretical or too mechanical. Cases in Healthcare Finance brings abstract concepts to life by aligning classroom work with real-world decision making. By working through the cases in this book, students will gain a better appreciation for how finance principles are applied in practice. The book's 33 cases explore financial management and accounting in a variety of healthcare settings, such as hospitals, clinics, medical practices, home health organizations, and integrated delivery systems. Offering relevant background details and a comprehensive picture of the organization, each case presents a financial management decision or challenge for students to analyze and then recommend an appropriate course of action. New content in this updated edition includes: * A case that applies revenue and expense budgeting concepts to a clinic at both start-up and year two of operations * A technology vendor selection case refocused on basic calculations and decision criteria in capital budgeting * Recent changes in the healthcare environment incorporated throughout to ensure the cases are current
ISBN: 9781640553170Publication Date: 2021-12-22
Complete medical Spanish : Practical medical Spanish for quick and confident communication by ISBN: 007184189XPublication Date: 2015
A Comprehensive Guide to Budgeting for Health Care Managers by
All health care managers--regardless of their training and area of responsibility--must create budgets and manage their departments within the established budget. A Comprehensive Guide to Budgeting for Health Care Managers is a thorough examination of budgeting practices that will provide readers with the necessary skills to construct budgets and analyze variances between actual financial results and the budget. The chapters take the reader through a step-by-step process to analyze systems, incorporate organizational goals into budgets, identify performance issues, and explore how budget systems impact behavior. Emphasis is given to the purpose of budgets and how they can be manipulated, the demonstration of how five different types of budgets are created, and opportunities to construct budgets and assess budgets. Readers will come away with a solid grounding in accounting, economics, finance, and strategic behavior as well as improved Excel skills.Key Features:* Offers a comprehensive knowledge base and analytical tool kit to measure, monitor, and improve department processes and outcomes* Uses Microsoft Excel throughout as a tool to analyze operations and create budget as Excel proficiency is essential to any manager working with financial or operational data* Emphasizes practical application and provides the reader with many opportunities to construct budgets and assess how budget assumptions impact funding levels
Call Number: Access limited to 3 concurrent users.ISBN: 1284143546Publication Date: 2018-02-15
Epidemiology 101 by
Designed to fulfill the four essential learning outcomes of Liberal Education and America's Promise (LEAP)'a campaign of the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AACU*)'Epidemiology 101 meets the needs of instructors teaching an overview or introductory course in epidemiology. Using a clear, cohesive writing style, Epidemiology 101 covers the basics of infectious disease epidemiology, environmental epidemiology, molecular epidemiology, and psychosocial/behavioral epidemiology. Numerous tables and charts throughout the text capture the reader's interest and enhance learning.
ISBN: 0763754439Publication Date: 2009-03-30
Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare by
Instructor Resources: Instructor Manual, Powerpoints, and a short talk on evidence-based management. Difficult decisions are part of everyday life for any manager, and the decisions that arise in the healthcare environment are far too important to be made based on poor information and gut feeling. An evidence-based approach to management ensures that healthcare leaders ask the right questions, use the best evidence available, and make better decisions in carrying out their mission. Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare: Principles, Cases, and Perspectives explains what evidence-based management is, how it can improve decision making, and, ultimately, how it can lead the way to improved organizational performance. This updated edition provides a thorough overview of evidence-based management, with an in-depth discussion of the framework, new and expanded case studies and examples, and interviews with experts in the field. Key topics include the following: The definition of and rationale for evidence-based management The four main types of evidence The six steps of implementation Acquiring the best available evidence Barriers to evidence-based management and how to overcome them Perspectives from stakeholdersFeaturing contributions from a host of experts--including researchers, managers, leaders, and consultants--this book provides a practical and insightful complement to other organizational and management studies. New managers will find it a useful resource to have on hand in healthcare management settings of any kind.
ISBN: 156793871XPublication Date: 2016-12-01
Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance, Sixth Edition by
Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides, spreadsheets, and case discussion questions and solutions. Sound financial analysis and decision making require a thorough comprehension of theory, plus the insight and judgment that come from experience. Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance gives students an opportunity to bridge the gap between learning theoretical concepts in the classroom and applying those concepts in the real world. By working the cases in this book, students who have a basic understanding of healthcare finance can better prepare for the multitude of problems they will face in practice. The book's 32 case studies feature a variety of healthcare settings-from hospitals and clinics to medical practices, home health organizations, integrated delivery systems, and more. Each case focuses on a single issue related to a specific area of financial management, including: Cost behavior and profit analysis Cost allocation Pricing, planning, and budgeting Capital acquisition and allocation Financial condition analysis and forecasting Current asset management Business valuation The cases are supported by an extensive array of ancillary resources-including spreadsheet models for both instructors and students, case questions and solutions, and PowerPoint slides-all substantially updated and reorganized for this edition. Since 2000, this highly regarded book has been used in healthcare finance courses throughout the United States. Original author Louis C. Gapenski was recognized both nationally and internationally as an expert in healthcare finance. In the sixth edition, authors George H. Pink and Paula H. Song carry forward Dr. Gapenski's legacy to the field of healthcare administration. As the provision of healthcare continues to evolve and advance, this book will help students develop the insight and judgment they need as future leaders.
ISBN: 1567939651Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Gapenski's Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management by
Gapenski's Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management explores how healthcare organizations manage financial operations to optimally provide patient care. This significantly revised edition of one of Health Administration Press's best-selling books introduces the key foundational elements of healthcare finance, including both accounting and financial management. Numerous examples throughout showcase how healthcare finance is practiced in a variety of organizations, including hospitals, medical practices, clinics, home health agencies, nursing homes, and managed care organizations. Authors Kristin L. Reiter and Paula H. Song emphasize not only financial theory and principles but also practical tools healthcare managers can use to make the crucial decisions that promote the financial well-being of their organization. Gapenski's Healthcare Finance examines the current financial environment in which providers operate, with an emphasis on health system design, healthcare insurance, and reimbursement methodologies. Dates, exhibits, references, and resources have been updated throughout. All examples and financial statements reflect current accounting and reporting standards. In a dynamic environment, healthcare leaders need to practice good financial decision-making for the health of their patients and the financial stability of their organization. From this book, current and future managers will understand the finance problems provider organizations face and how best to solve them.
Call Number: 7th editionISBN: 1640551867Publication Date: 2020-07-27
Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK(R) Guide-Sixth Edition / Agile Practice Guide Bundle by
To support the broadening spectrum of project delivery approaches, PMI is offering A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) - Sixth Edition as a bundle with its latest, the Agile Practice Guide. The PMBOK® Guide - Sixth Edition now contains detailed information about agile; while the Agile Practice Guide, created in partnership with Agile Alliance®, serves as a bridge to connect waterfall and agile. Together they are a powerful tool for project managers.
ISBN: 9781628253825Publication Date: 2017
Healthcare Applications by
Healthcare Applications: A Casebook in Accounting and Financial Management provides a series of practice exercises for analyzing, understanding, and applying these concepts across a wide range of healthcare settings. Healthcare Applications contains 56 short cases designed to link theory to practical, real-world application via active learning. Based on fictitious entities and individuals (unless otherwise noted), the cases cover basic concepts--such as how to record transactions, compute financial ratios, and prepare financial statements--as well as more advanced issues, such as the effects of healthcare regulation, the valuation of debt or equity securities, cost-volume-profit analysis, and capital budgeting. Each case features assignments or questions to enhance students' critical thinking and generate classroom engagement. Instructors can select case topics and difficulty levels that are most appropriate for their courses. The book's cases can be either assigned as out-of-class homework or used directly in class to introduce a topic or facilitate discussion.
ISBN: 9781567938258Publication Date: 2017
Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management by
Bonus Chapters 18 & 19 (click here for access) Practice Exercises for Students (click here for access) Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, solutions to end-of-chapter questions and problems, and a transition guide to the new edition. The essential concepts of both accounting and financial management are covered in this best-selling healthcare finance book. Through clear explanations, numerous examples, and realistic practice problems, it arms future managers with the grounding they need to make financially sound decisions for their healthcare organizations. This thoroughly updated edition provides more emphasis on the unique marketplace for healthcare services and additional examples from nonhospital settings, including medical practices, clinics, home health agencies, nursing homes, and managed care organizations. Particular content changes include: Expanded discussion of health insurance, reimbursement methodologies, and the impact of healthcare reform on provider behavior A new presentation of managerial accounting material that follows a more logical progression of concepts, emphasizing the level of analysis (organization, department, service) rather than techniques Coverage of three service-line costing methods: cost-to-charge ratio, relative value unit, and activity-based costing. Plus, an introduction to time-driven activity-based costing, a method for costing at the patient level. Updated financial accounting formats that conform to the latest American Institute of Certified Public Accountants guidance Increased coverage of the revenue cycle This edition also features a more user-friendly layout and additional end-of-chapter practice problems. Online student resources include: A chapter on lease financing and business valuation (previously included in the book) A chapter on distributions to owners: bonuses, dividends, and repurchases Use the companion casebook for even more classroom application! Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance, Sixth Edition, is an ideal supplement to this text. Through real-world cases, it bridges the gap between learning concepts in a lecture setting and applying these concepts on the job. Students will be better prepared to deal with the multitude of issues that arise in the practice of healthcare finance!
Call Number: 6th editionISBN: 1567937411Publication Date: 2016-12-01
Health Care Finance and the Mechanics of Insurance and Reimbursement by
Health Care Finance and the Mechanics of Insurance and Reimbursement stands apart from other texts on health care finance or health insurance, in that it combines financial principles unique to the health care setting with the methods and process for reimbursement (including coding, reimbursement strategies, compliance, financial reporting, case mix index, and external auditing). It explains the revenue cycle in detail, correlating it with regular management functions; and covers reimbursement from the initial point of care through claim submission and reconciliation. Thoroughly updated for its second edition, this text reflects changes to the Affordable Care Act, Managed Care Organizations, new coding initiatives, new components of the revenue cycle (from reimbursement to compliance), updates to regulations surrounding health care fraud and abuse, changes to the Recovery Audit Contractors (RAC) program, and more.Designed to prepare health administration and health information management students with the necessary tools to successfully transition from the classroom to the health care facility, this text includes:- Basics of Health Care Finance & Financial Management- Patient Protection and the Affordable Care Act- Managed Care Organizations- Medicare Prospective Payment System (Inpatient)- Hospital Outpatient Prospective Payment Systems (OPPS)- Coding for the Non-HIM Professional- Revenue Cycle Management- Healthcare Fraud and Abuse- Electronic Health Records and Meaningful Use- Government Incentive Programs- Recovery Audit Contractors (RAC)Two new chapters cover the mechanics of hierarchical condition categories from a CMS perspective (15), and the application of HCC coding in a physican practice (16).
Call Number: Access limited to 3 concurrent users.ISBN: 1284169030Publication Date: 2019-10-15
The Healthcare Quality Book by
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, and answers to discussion questions. As healthcare reform continues to transform US healthcare delivery and processes, one thing remains the same: the importance of quality. This book brings together a team of internationally prominent contributors who provide expertise on current strategies, tactics, and methods for understanding quality in a comprehensive way. The book provides a solid foundation on the components and importance of quality, while incorporating techniques to continuously improve and transform a healthcare system. This extensively updated edition includes: A new chapter that addresses hardwiring quality into the organization's culture for consistent delivery A new final chapter that details the latest developments in healthcare and maps a path for healthcare transformation Extensive content and emphasis on the Affordable Care Act as it relates to quality A discussion of the importance of quality in transitioning from fee-for-service models to value-based payment Tools to measure and improve patient experiences, such as dashboards and scorecards Information on emerging trends and challenges in healthcare, including electronic health records and physician engagement This comprehensive textbook is suited for undergraduate and graduate courses in healthcare administration as well as business, nursing, allied health, pharmacy, and medicine programs. Study questions in each chapter facilitate additional discussion.
Call Number: 3rd editionISBN: 1567935907Publication Date: 2014-04-01
The Healthcare Quality Book by
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint summaries, and teaching aids for each chapter, including answers to the end-of-chapter study questions. Every healthcare organization is on its own unique journey, but each one needs a road map to a common destination--quality. Improving the quality of care is an essential strategy for surviving--and thriving--in today's demanding healthcare environment. The Healthcare Quality Book: Vision, Strategy, and Tools provides the framework, strategies, and practical tactics that all healthcare leaders need as they learn, implement, and manage quality improvement efforts. With chapters by a group of leading contributors with significant expertise and breadth of experience, the book offers a detailed exploration of the components of quality, while incorporating techniques to continuously improve and transform healthcare organizations. The book is organized into four parts. Part I establishes the foundation for healthcare quality and examines the history of the quality movement. Part II speaks in depth about tools, measures, and their applications in the pursuit of quality. Part III focuses on the intersection of leadership and culture--which is central to the pursuit of quality and safety. Part IV concludes the book with a series of chapters that discuss many of the emerging trends that are shaping the contemporary quality landscape. Building on the success of the first three editions, this new edition has been significantly redeveloped and reimagined, with content strategically refined to focus on what is most essential for healthcare managers. It features new and expanded information on: Community health quality improvementQuality measures and leadershipProvider profiling and registriesCulture-of-safety and high-reliability organizingHealth information technology The Healthcare Quality Book is designed to be both an instructional guide and a conversation starter for all students of healthcare quality--all healthcare professionals, current and future.
Call Number: 4th editionISBN: 1640550534Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Human resources in healthcare : Managing for success by Call Number: 4th editionISBN: 1567937098Publication Date: 2015
Human Resources in Healthcare: Managing for Success by Call Number: 3rd ed.ISBN: 9781567932997Publication Date: 2008
Introduction to Health Care Management (3rd ed.) by
Introduction to Health Care Management, Third Edition is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management text that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader's imagination, the important issues in healthcare management, such as ethics, cost management, strategic planning and marketing, information technology, and human resources, are all thoroughly covered. Guidelines and rubrics along with numerous case studies make this text both student-friendly and teacher-friendly. It is the perfect resource for students of healthcare management, nursing, allied health, business administration, pharmacy, occupational therapy, public administration, and public health. The Third Edition is a thorough update that offers new and revised case studies, a new glossary of terms, as well as a new chapter on Special Topics and Emerging Issues in Health Care Management that examines current topics including re-emerging outbreaks, vaccine preventable diseases, bioterrorism, human trafficking, violence in health care settings, medical tourism, and consumer directed health care. Key Features: * Chapters contributed by real experts using an active voice to grab the reader's attention * Instructors' resources online for each chapter, including PowerPoints, Test Bank, and Sample Syllabus * Updated case studies in a wide variety of settings, in an assortment of healthcare management topics * A case study guide, with rubrics for evaluation of student performance, enabling instructors at every level of experience to hit the ground running on that first day of class * Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access, a complete package of mobile-ready course materials including interactive eBook, study tools, and assessments
Call Number: Access limited to 3 concurrent usersISBN: 128408101XPublication Date: 2016-04-11
Introduction to Health Care Management (4th ed.) by
Introduction to Health Care Management, Fourth Edition is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management text that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader's imagination, the important issues in healthcare management, such as ethics, cost management, strategic planning and marketing, information technology, and human resources, are all thoroughly covered. Guidelines and rubrics along with numerous case studies make this text both student-friendly and teacher-friendly. It is the perfect resource for students of healthcare management, nursing, allied health, business administration, pharmacy, occupational therapy, public administration, and public health. Key Features: * Chapters contributed by real experts using an active voice to grab the reader's attention * Instructors' resources online for each chapter, including PowerPoints, Test Bank, and Sample Syllabus * Updated case studies in a wide variety of settings, in an assortment of healthcare management topics * A case study guide, with rubrics for evaluation of student performance, enabling instructors at every level of experience to hit the ground running on that first day of class * Access to Navigate 2 online learning materials, including a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools and more.
Call Number: Access limited to 3 concurrent usersISBN: 1284156567Publication Date: 2019-10-28
Introduction to the Financial Management of Healthcare Organizations, Eighth Edition by
To succeed in an increasingly competitive environment, healthcare managers require a full toolbox of knowledge and abilities. Yet, many managers lack financial skills or an understanding of how to apply them to their work. Introduction to the Financial Management of Healthcare Organizations offers a fundamental overview of how financial management works in healthcare organizations. Designed for healthcare management students, clinical students, and managers new to healthcare, the book reinforces basic concepts through mini-case studies, practice problems, and self-quizzes. A comprehensive case at the end of the book draws on information presented throughout the chapters to help readers apply their newfound financial skills to real-world healthcare scenarios. This heavily revised edition features current data and updated content on economics, financial accounting, laws, and regulations. Organized into modules, the book allows instructors to use the chapters that are best suited to their course and in the order that they prefer. Chapter one appendices highlight introductory content and terminology exploring statistics, economics, and financial accounting.
ISBN: 1640552820Publication Date: 2021-07-25
Jonas and Kovner's Health Care Delivery in the United States by
This fully updated and revised 12th edition of the highly acclaimed textbook on health care delivery provides graduate and undergraduate students with a comprehensive survey of health care in the United States with topics ranging from the organization of care, the politics surrounding health care in the United States, to population health and vulnerable populations, health care costs and value, health care financing, and health information technology. Chapters provide thorough coverage of the rapid changes that are reshaping our system and the extent of our nation's achievement of health care value and the Triple Aim: better health and better care at a lower cost. With an emphasis on population health and public health, this text includes a timely focus on how social and physical environments influence health outcomes. Prominent scholars, practitioners, and educators within public health, population health, health policy, healthcare management, medical care, and nursing present the most up-to-date evidence-based information on social and behavioral determinants of health and health equity, immigrant health, health care workforce challenges, preventive medicine, innovative approaches to control health care costs, initiatives to achieve high quality and value-based care, and much more. Designed for graduate and advanced undergraduate students of health care management and administration, nursing, and public health, the text addresses all complex core issues surrounding our health care system and health policy, such as the challenges to health care delivery, the organization and politics of care, and comparative health systems. Organized in a readable and accessible format, contributors provide an in-depth and objective appraisal of why and how we organize health care the way we do, the enormous impact of health-related behaviors on the structure, function, and cost of the health care delivery system, and other emerging and recurrent issues in health policy, health care management, and public health. The 12th edition features the contributions of such luminaries as former editor Anthony R. Kovner, Michael K. Gusmano, Carolyn M. Clancy, Marc N. Gourevitch, Joanne Spetz, James Morone, Karen DeSalvo, and Christy Harris Lemak, among others. Chapters include audio chapter summaries with discussion of newsworthy topics, learning objectives, discussion questions, case exercises, and new charts and tables with concrete health care data. Included for instructors are an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Syllabus, Test Bank, Image Bank, supplemental e-chapter on A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery, access to an annual ACA update and health policy changes, extra cases and syllabus specifically for nurses, and a transition guide bridging the 11th and 12th editions. Key Features: Three completely revised chapters on the politics of health care, vulnerable populations, and health information technologyExpanded coverage on population health and population health management, health equity, influences of social determinants on health behavior and outcomes, health education planning, health workforce challenges, national and regional quality improvement initiatives and moreRevised e-Chapter providing A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery and Image Bank for the 12th EditionAccess to Springer Publishing Company's annual ACA updateAudio podcasts provide summaries for each chapter with real-world context of topics featured in the newsNew appendix with overview of U.S. Government Public Health AgenciesAccess to fully searchable ebook, including extra e-chapters and student ancillaries on Springer Publishing ConnectFull Instructor Packet including Instructor's Manual, Test Bank, PowerPoint slides, Image Bank, and Case Exercises for Nursing Instructors
Call Number: 12th EditionISBN: 9780826172723Publication Date: 2018
Jonas and Kovner's Health Care Delivery in the United States by Call Number: 11th EditionISBN: 9780826125279Publication Date: 2015
Leading Change, with a New Preface by the Author by
The international bestseller--now with a new preface by author John Kotter. Millions worldwide have read and embraced John Kotter's ideas on change management and leadership. From the ill-fated dot-com bubble to unprecedented M&A activity to scandal, greed, and ultimately, recession--we've learned that widespread and difficult change is no longer the exception. It's the rule. Now with a new preface, this refreshed edition of the global bestseller Leading Change is more relevant than ever. John Kotter's now-legendary eight-step process for managing change with positive results has become the foundation for leaders and organizations across the globe. By outlining the process every organization must go through to achieve its goals, and by identifying where and how even top performers derail during the change process, Kotter provides a practical resource for leaders and managers charged with making change initiatives work. Leading Change is widely recognized as his seminal work and is an important precursor to his newer ideas on acceleration published in Harvard Business Review. Needed more today than at any time in the past, this bestselling business book serves as both visionary guide and practical toolkit on how to approach the difficult yet crucial work of leading change in any type of organization. Reading this highly personal book is like spending a day with the world's foremost expert on business leadership. You're sure to walk away inspired--and armed with the tools you need to inspire others. Published by Harvard Business Review Press.
Call Number: Access limited to 1 concurrent user.ISBN: 9781422186435Publication Date: 2012-11-06
Managing Healthcare Ethically, Third Edition, Volume 3: Clinical ChallengesISBN: 1640552561Publication Date: 2022
Managing Healthcare Ethically, Volume 1 by
Healthcare leaders need to exemplify the professional values they expect from others throughout the organization. A strong ethical foundation is indispensable for making sound judgements and providing high-quality patient care. Managing Healthcare Ethically: Leadership Roles and Responsibilities highlights the issues leaders encounter in ensuring ethical performance in both their organizations and the communities they serve. This book provides specific guidance for expanding leadership skills and details relevant character traits that contribute to maintaining an ethical culture. The book features selected columns originally written for the American College of Healthcare Executives' Healthcare Executive magazine. Chosen for their relevance to today's healthcare environment, the columns share practical applications for leaders committed to ensuring an ethically grounded organization.
ISBN: 9781640552500Publication Date: 2022-01-06
Managing Healthcare Ethically, Volume 2 by
Healthcare systems tailor their structure and policies to create an ethically aligned organization. The best organizational practices and cultures are built on strong and consistent ethical decision-making that ensures quality and value-based patient care. Managing Healthcare Ethically: Organizational Concerns focuses on how a healthcare organization's ethical decisions and actions affect its operations and overall mission. The book establishes the need for clear policies and guidelines that foster and sustain an ethically grounded organization. Gathering columns originally published in American College of Healthcare Executives publications, in particular Healthcare Executive magazine, this volume provides strategies for governing boards, committees, and individual leaders to define and improve their organization's ethical standards of practice.
ISBN: 1640552553Publication Date: 2022-01-06
Practical Health Care Budgeting a Concise Guide with Navigate Essentials by
With the growing importance of budgeting and budget analysis in today's outcome-value oriented healthcare environment, there is an ever-increasing need to provide today's healthcare students with budgeting skills they need to be successful. While most healthcare finance texts include a chapter on budgeting, this coverage is often insufficient to adequately prepare them, as future financial managers, for the demands of upper management.A great supplement to a wide range of finance, economics, and accounting courses across the health disciplines, Practical Budgeting for Health Care: A Concise Guide covers the full scope of budgeting and budget analysis-from incremental budgeting, forecasting, and flexible budgeting, to variance analysis, capital budgeting, and more-providing students with the information and skills they'll need to budget effectively. Key Features- Includes step-by-step instructions on constructing budgets, focusing on incremental and flexible budgeting, the two most commonly-used systems.- Provides an in-depth discussion of program, zero-base, and activity-based budgets.- Offers a host of Excel-based exercises that actively engage students by encouraging them to read, calculate, write, and reflect as they build and analyze budgets.- Brings content to life with mini-case studies that illustrate the story-telling that lives behind the numbers.- Provides an affordable way ensure that the topic of budgeting receives proper attention and student mastery in a time- and cost-efficient way- Includes Navigate 2 eBook Access with each new print copy enabling students to read your digital textbook online or offline, on computers, tablets, and mobile devices.
Call Number: Access limited to 3 concurrent users.ISBN: 1284196186Publication Date: 2020-10-15
Statistics for Health Care Management and Administration: Working with Excel by ISBN: 9781118712658Publication Date: 2016
Strategic Allocation and Management of Capital in Healthcare by
Growing pressure to deliver higher-quality care at lower cost. New and nontraditional competitors. Legislative uncertainty. More investment needs than available capital resources. The stakes are higher than ever as healthcare organizations allocate and manage capital to fulfill their strategic objectives. How should executives choose which initiatives to fund? Their organizations' future rides on their decisions. Strategic Allocation and Management of Capital in Healthcare: A Guide to Decision Making, Second Edition, provides leadership teams with detailed guidance for making strategic investment decisions. Employing corporate finance principles, this book explains, step by step, how to (1) establish a framework for standardized, portfolio-based review of capital investment opportunities; (2) identify an organization's capital constraint; (3) assess and select the best value-enhancing projects; and (4) manage postallocation activities, including monitoring of project investments and measurement of results. Covering new capital investment needs and decision making in a rapidly changing and uncertain environment, this edition has been updated throughout. New features include: Strategic investment priorities for healthcare's new business model: a value-based delivery and payment system focused on managing population healthConsiderations for making investments in projects other than facilities or equipment, such as population health initiatives and unique physician affiliation arrangementsCase examples with approaches, planning schedules, and reports used by high-performing healthcare organizationsHelpful tools, such as a form for prioritizing capital investment opportunities and a sample curriculum for educating physician leaders on the capital allocation processPractical, on-the-ground guidance at the end of each chapterA final chapter on the prerequisites for a successful capital allocation and management process, including education; use of high-quality tools, communication, and transparency; and a disciplined implementation plan This book will help the leadership teams of organizations of all types and sizes--from small community hospitals to large healthcare systems and physician groups--to make informed decisions for smart investments in their organizations' future.
ISBN: 1567939147Publication Date: 2018-07-01
The United States Healthcare System by
The complexity of the United States healthcare system is well known, as are its challenges and shortcomings. A vital task in the years ahead will be to transition the system toward a new paradigm - one that more effectively balances quality, costs, and access to support the overall well-being of the American people. The United States Healthcare System: Overview, Driving Forces, and Outlook for the Future is intended for the healthcare professionals who will lead the transformation to optimized health and healthcare solutions. The book presents a broad overview of the system's numerous components, assesses the historical influences that brought us to our present state, and examines the trends and emerging opportunities through which we can attain a better future. Over the course of 14 chapters, the book examines such topics as the following: The system's origins and development The nature of health and well-being Categories of health services delivery The roles of organizations and providers Financing mechanisms, past and present Comparisons with other countries Quality and safety improvement The impact of technology The politicization of healthcare Ongoing reform efforts The book's chapters establish a firm knowledge base for each topic while also inviting deeper discussion and further exploration. Collectively, they aim to foster a thorough, multidimensional understanding of how the healthcare system functions, how it has evolved, and how it can be improved.
ISBN: 9781640551657Publication Date: 2020-06-30
Below are lists of ebooks for selected health administration topics. To search all MUSC ebook titles, visit the eBooks page to search by keyword or title.
Healthcare 4. 0 by
This book aims to demonstrate the benefits of implementing Industry 4.0 in healthcare services and to recommend a framework to support this implementation. Key topics in this book include: (1) Discovering emerging technologies and techniques to support Healthcare 4.0, this includes the Internet of Things (IOT) , Big data analytics, Blockchain, Artificial Intelligence (AI) , Optimisation and Predictive Analytics; (2) Illustrating some examples of such advanced implementation in Healthcare 4.0; (3) Recommending a development process to develop health technology start-ups and entrepreneurial activities; and (4) Discuss the transformation methodology used to redesign healthcare processes in order to overcome the challenges of implementing a Healthcare 4.0 project.
ISBN: 9789811381133Publication Date: 2019-08-07
Healthcare Management by
This textbook on Healthcare Management provides a systematic and comprehensive overview of the organisational forms and management instruments implemented in managed care. Within the international discussion on the structure of healthcare systems, managed care is an increasingly important topic. Over more than twenty years managed care approaches have fundamentally influenced healthcare systems in terms of patient orientation, efficiency, and quality. Experts assume that up to 20% of healthcare expenses can be saved by applying high-quality managed care approaches. By using suitable organisational forms and management principles, not only can costs be reduced, but the quality of medical service provision can be augmented. Managed care is therefore much more than a cost-cutting strategy. Advocates consider managed care to be a logical and necessary developmental step in modern healthcare systems. An increase in quality and at the same time a reduction of costs is not seen as contradictory but rather as consistent. Therefore, managed care is a response to changed challenges in the provision of healthcare.​
ISBN: 9783662595671Publication Date: 2019-10-24
The Law of Healthcare Administration, Ninth Edition by
A hacker accesses the medical records of more than 250,000 patients in a hospital-based clinic. Despite being counseled not to, staff in a psychiatric unit continually refer to a transgender boy using feminine pronouns, causing him acute depression and leading to his suicide. Citing moral objections and fearing prosecution, a physician refuses to prescribe lethal medication for a terminally ill cancer patient who wants to end her suffering. These kinds of situations don't just shock us with their drama; they also present serious legal challenges that healthcare leaders must be equipped to deal with. The Law of Healthcare Administration helps readers think through the issues, applying current legal principles and relevant judicial decisions. Author J. Stuart Showalter surveys the pressing issues that have resulted from two centuries of US policy, court decisions, and regulation. He writes from a management perspective, emphasizing a practical understanding of legal concepts, in a style that is clear and accessible to readers without a legal background. The ninth edition retains this authoritative book's many absorbing sidebars, surprising court records, and challenging discussion questions that have made it so engaging to past readers. The Law of Healthcare Administration prepares future leaders for the many legal challenges their institutions will likely face.
ISBN: 1640551301Publication Date: 2020-03-02
The U. S. Healthcare Ecosystem: Payers, Providers, Producers by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The navigator you need to find your way through the process and operational complexities of the U.S. healthcare system From a seasoned professor of healthcare management at The Wharton School, The U.S. Healthcare Ecosystem provides a new perspective to the subject--navigating readers through complicated environment where healthcare customers, healthcare providers, and those who create products used in healthcare all interact. Emphasizing processes and operations, this thorough resource provides expert insight into important themes, i.e., how the goals of healthcare relate to the "the iron triangle" (cost, quality, and access) and "the triple aim" (per capita cost, population health, and patient experience). Chapters include brief but timely cases that inspire you to think more critically about what you hear and read about the healthcare industry and make your own informed assessments. Packed with 200 illustrations, The U.S. Healthcare Ecosystem Covers often-neglected topics, such as employer-based health insurance, pharmacy benefits, healthcare consolidation, and biotechnology. Features: *Contains the most current statistics and industry developments *Every chapter begins with a roadmap and ends with a summary and questions to ponder *Includes insights to drug discovery and development, biotechnology, and information technology, i.e., the marriage of life sciences and business *Reflects the insights and feedback of 60+ professors
ISBN: 9781264264476Publication Date: 2021-04-12
Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach, Ninth Edition by
The simplest, most-readable guide to navigating health care delivery in the United States One of the most popular resources of its kind, Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the U.S. health care system's nuances and complexities. Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in health care policy, this comprehensive guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. health care system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations. New content in this fully updated edition includes deeper coverage of: * Cost and financing issues, with an emphasis on how it impacts the U.S. economy * Public health systems, including a discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic's impact on health policy and delivery * Social determinants of health and disparities * Professional burnout and its impact on health care delivery * The Affordable Care Act, Accountable Care Organizations, and system consolidation Packed with clinical vignettes highlighting key policy issues and clarifying difficult concepts, Understanding Health Policy weaves key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make vital health policy issues interesting and understandable. Whether you're a student, medical practitioner, or public policy professional, you will come away with a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about our health care system, its biggest challenges, and the most effective ways of making it better for everyone.
ISBN: 9781265905026Publication Date: 2023-12-05
eBook Collections to Browse or Search
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks, clinical summaries (FirstConsult), clinical procedures, journals, practice guidelines, patient education, drug monographs, multimedia, and CME. - AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ~230 ebooks as well as multimedia, drugs, patient education, guidelines, and more.
