Authorship Resources
- MUSC Office of Human Research IntegrityContact information for Medical University of South Carolina IRB
- Authorship GuidanceFrom the MUSC Office of the Vice President for Research (June 2016)
Getting Started with Reference Managers
All citation management programs let you:
- Add citations from databases like PubMed, Web of Science, etc.
- Organize your citations into folders or groups
- Add PDF files of articles to the references
- Format citations in Microsoft Word, Google Docs) to create bibliographies
- Share all or part of your database
- Comparison of Reference ManagersA comparison of four reference managers (EndNote, Mendeley, Refworks, and Zotero), created by UC Berkeley, to help you make an informed choice on reference management software.
Reference Managers Options
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window
Web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own personal library of citations by importing references from databases and other online sources. RefWorks automatically formats your the in-text citations and references list for papers and manuscripts.
- RefWorks Help GuideDeveloped by MUSC Library.
- Zotero
Zotero is a powerful open source reference manager which is suited for the researcher who likes to save references to review later. Very flexible, it can be configured to the researcher's liking.
- Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager which is well suited for the researcher who downloads PDF full text articles while searching. Premium upgrades allows for enhanced group and sharing capabilities as well as increased storage space. Researchers can easily organize and search your personal library, annotate documents and cite as you write. - Mendeley Help GuideDeveloped by MUSC Library.
- EndNote Desktop This link opens in a new window
Citation manager that allows you to create your own personal library of citations by importing references from databases and other sources, attach PDFs to citations with the click of a button, as well as automatically format your paper's in-text citations and bibliography.
- EndNote Online This link opens in a new window
Web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own personal library of citations by importing references from databases and other sources, as well as automatically format your paper's in-text citations and bibliography.
- EndNote Help GuideDeveloped by MUSC Library.
- EndNote TrainingTraining from EndNote.