PHGEN 706 - Intro to Public Health
PHHBP 700 - Social & Behavioral Sciences
Health Behavior by Call Number: Limited to 3 concurrent usersISBN: 9781118628980Publication Date: 2015-07-27
BMTRY 700 - Introduction to Clinical Biostatistics
IBM SPSS for Introductory Statistics by ISBN: 9781848729827Publication Date: 2012 (5th edition)Recommended for CGS 700 sections.
Additional Resources
Statistics Translated, Second Edition by
Roping the reader in with humor and real-world case examples presented as mysteries to be solved, this engaging text has been updated with new cases, the latest version of SPSS, and new coverage of multivariate analysis of variance. Steven R. Terrell prepares students and practitioners to become informed consumers of statistics so that they can make decisions based on data, and understand decisions others have made. He identifies six simple steps and guides readers to master them--from identifying a researchable problem to stating a hypothesis; identifying independent and dependent variables; and selecting, computing, and interpreting appropriate statistical tests. All techniques are demonstrated both manually and with the help of SPSS software. New to This Edition *All software instructions and examples are updated to SPSS Version 25. *Expanded chapter on the analysis of variance (ANOVA)--now covers multivariate ANOVA. *New and revised examples and quiz items pertaining to a broader range of fields, such as business, information systems, and medical sciences, along with education and psychology. Pedagogical Features *Examples of SPSS screenshots used for analyzing data. *User-friendly cautionary notes, "Putting it All Together" recaps, and alerts, such as "notice the effect size" or "check the direction of the mean scores." *End-of-chapter "Quiz Time" exercises that guide students to answer intriguing questions like whether working from home increases productivity, or whether age affects how long it takes to complete a doctoral degree. *Lists of key terms and formulas in each chapter, plus end-of-book glossary.
ISBN: 1462545432Publication Date: 2021-01-22
BMTRY 711- Analysis of Categorical Data
Categorical Data Analysis by
Praise for the Second Edition "A must-have book for anyone expecting to do research and/or applications in categorical data analysis." --Statistics in Medicine "It is a total delight reading this book." --Pharmaceutical Research "If you do any analysis of categorical data, this is an essential desktop reference." --Technometrics The use of statistical methods for analyzing categorical data has increased dramatically, particularly in the biomedical, social sciences, and financial industries. Responding to new developments, this book offers a comprehensive treatment of the most important methods for categorical data analysis. Categorical Data Analysis, Third Edition summarizes the latest methods for univariate and correlated multivariate categorical responses. Readers will find a unified generalized linear models approach that connects logistic regression and Poisson and negative binomial loglinear models for discrete data with normal regression for continuous data. This edition also features: An emphasis on logistic and probit regression methods for binary, ordinal, and nominal responses for independent observations and for clustered data with marginal models and random effects models Two new chapters on alternative methods for binary response data, including smoothing and regularization methods, classification methods such as linear discriminant analysis and classification trees, and cluster analysis New sections introducing the Bayesian approach for methods in that chapter More than 100 analyses of data sets and over 600 exercises Notes at the end of each chapter that provide references to recent research and topics not covered in the text, linked to a bibliography of more than 1,200 sources A supplementary website showing how to use R and SAS; for all examples in the text, with information also about SPSS and Stata and with exercise solutions Categorical Data Analysis, Third Edition is an invaluable tool for statisticians and methodologists, such as biostatisticians and researchers in the social and behavioral sciences, medicine and public health, marketing, education, finance, biological and agricultural sciences, and industrial quality control.
ISBN: 9780470463635Publication Date: 2012-12-03
BMTRY 714- Linear Models in Biology and Medicine
Linear Models by
Provides an easy-to-understand guide to statistical linear models and its uses in data analysis This book defines a broad spectrum of statistical linear models that is useful in the analysis of data. Considerable rewriting was done to make the book more reader friendly than the first edition. Linear Models, Second Edition is written in such a way as to be self-contained for a person with a background in basic statistics, calculus and linear algebra. The text includes numerous applied illustrations, numerical examples, and exercises, now augmented with computer outputs in SAS and R. Also new to this edition is: * A greatly improved internal design and format * A short introductory chapter to ease understanding of the order in which topics are taken up * Discussion of additional topics including multiple comparisons and shrinkage estimators * Enhanced discussions of generalized inverses, the MINQUE, Bayes and Maximum Likelihood estimators for estimating variance components Furthermore, in this edition, the second author adds many pedagogical elements throughout the book. These include numbered examples, end-of-example and end-of-proof symbols, selected hints and solutions to exercises available on the book's website, and references to "big data" in everyday life. Featuring a thorough update, Linear Models, Second Edition includes: * A new internal format, additional instructional pedagogy, selected hints and solutions to exercises, and several more real-life applications * Many examples using SAS and R with timely data sets * Over 400 examples and exercises throughout the book to reinforce understanding Linear Models, Second Edition is a textbook and a reference for upper-level undergraduate and beginning graduate-level courses on linear models, statisticians, engineers, and scientists who use multiple regression or analysis of variance in their work. SHAYLE R. SEARLE, PhD, was Professor Emeritus of Biometry at Cornell University. He was the author of the first edition of Linear Models, Linear Models for Unbalanced Data, and Generalized, Linear, and Mixed Models (with Charles E. McCulloch), all from Wiley. The first edition of Linear Models appears in the Wiley Classics Library. MARVIN H. J. GRUBER, PhD, is Professor Emeritus at Rochester Institute of Technology, School of Mathematical Sciences. Dr. Gruber has written a number of papers and has given numerous presentations at professional meetings during his tenure as a professor at RIT. His fields of interest include regression estimators and the improvement of their efficiency using shrinkage estimators. He has written and published two books on this topic. Another of his books, Matrix Algebra for Linear Models, also published by Wiley, provides good preparation for studying Linear Models. He is a member of the American Mathematical Society, the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and the American Statistical Association.
ISBN: 9781118952849Publication Date: 2016-09-23
BMTRY 719-Bayesian Biostatistics
A First Course in Bayesian Statistical Methods by
A self-contained introduction to probability, exchangeability and Bayes' rule provides a theoretical understanding of the applied material. Numerous examples with R-code that can be run "as-is" allow the reader to perform the data analyses themselves. The development of Monte Carlo and Markov chain Monte Carlo methods in the context of data analysis examples provides motivation for these computational methods.
ISBN: 9780387924076Publication Date: 2009-06-02
