Public Health Students

Free Public Health Databases
ADOLEC, Literature on Adolescence Health – Bibliographic database that contains articles related to adolescence, produced by the Pan American Health Organization.
AEGIS (AIDS Education Global Information System) – Gateway to information about AIDS and HIV - its prevention, treatment and management - that is updated hourly. It features links to daily news reports, fact sheets and personal stories.
African Index Medicus – International index to African health literature and information sources.
AGRICOLA – The National Agricultural Library's free online catalog. Provides citations to agricultural literature.
Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH) – From the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), a collection of links to databases, journals, and Web sites focused on alcohol research and related topics.
Alcohol Studies Database – Contains over 70,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials.
BCERF, Environmental Risk Factor Database – Database for bibliographic information on environmental risk factors topics.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) Bibliography – Selected articles related to BRFSS and other self-reported data from Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
BiblioMap: Health Promotion References – The EPPI-Centre systematic reviews on several aspects of health promotion.
Cancer Publications Available Online – Current online cancer publications produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
CancerLit – Links from the National Cancer Institute to perform cancer-related searches in PubMed.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications – A searchable database of federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
CDC Community Health Improvement Navigator Database of Interventions – Database of interventions that work in four action areas for the greatest impact on community health: socioeconomic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, and clinical care.
CDC Wonder – A portal of links to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data.
CPDB (Carcinogenic Potency Database) – A searchable database of quantitative and qualitative analyses of published literature relating to chronic, long-term animal cancer tests. Contains materials published through 1997/98 by the National Cancer Institute and the National Toxicology Program.
DESASTRES, Disaster Documentation Center Collection
Developmental & Reproductive Toxicology (DART/ETIC)
DOE Information Bridge
DoPHER, Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews
Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) Publications – Publications from the Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
ECOTOX – Database of the U.S. Department of Environmental Protection agency providing single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life.
Electronic Library of Construction Safety and Health (eLCOSH) – Provides a wide range of materials on construction safety and health. The goal is to improve safety and health for construction workers by making such information easy to obtain. The development of eLCOSH is supported through a grant from NIOSH.
EthnoMed
EurasiaHealth Knowledge Network Multilingual Library
Genomics Reports and Publications – Publications from CDC's Office of Public Health Genomics (OPHG) including annual reports, books, and scientific articles.
Google™ Scholar – Search diverse sources for scholarly literature (books, articles and abstracts, etc.) in a wide range of disciplines. Access full-text through the library's Get it service.
GPO Access
Health Communication Materials Database – Database of health communication materials including pamphlets, posters, audiotapes, videos, training materials, job aids, electronic media, and other media/materials designed to promote public health.
Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries – Provides pre-formulated PubMed search strategies to find published literature to support achieving Healthy People 2020 objectives.
HIV Prevention Program Evaluation Materials Database – Information about a variety of HIV prevention program evaluation resources appropriate to community-based organizations, health departments, capacity-building assistance providers, CDC staff, and other HIV prevention providers.
HLAS, Handbook of Latin American Studies
HSTAT (Health Services/Technology Assessment Text)
HuGE Literature Finder – Search engine for finding published literature on genetic associations and other human genome epidemiology. The list of selected articles can be redirected to PubMed. Produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
IndMED – Bibliographic database covering prominent peer-reviewed Indian biomedical journals.
LILACS, Latin American and Caribbean Health Science – Published since 1982. Registers the health scientific-technical literature published by Latin American and Caribbean authors.
Maternal and Child Health Library
MedlinePlus – Consumer health information on more than 700 topics provided by the National Library of Medicine.
National Ag Safety Database (NASD) – A national central repository of agricultural health, safety, and injury prevention materials for the agricultural community and especially for agricultural safety specialists. The database is maintained by the Southern Coastal Agromedicine Center.
National Center for Health Statistics – From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, NCHS is the nation's principal health statistics agency, compiling statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.
National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD) Publications – Searchable database of all publications that have been published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention authors within the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library
National Guideline Clearinghouse – A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, the National Guideline Clearinghouse is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism Library
National Prevention Information Network (NPIN) Materials – Information about educational materials tailored to a variety of audiences and focusing on the prevention of HIV/AIDS, STDs, and TB. Some of the items are available through NPIN and can be ordered online. From the National Prevention Information Network.
Native Health Database – Bibliographic resources for health and health care of Native Americans. From the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED) – Provides citations and critical abstracts to studies focusing on the economic evaluation of health care. Produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York.
NIOSHTIC-2 – Searchable bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and other communication products supported in whole or in part by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), CDC.
NLM Gateway
NTIS, National Technical Information Service
OncoLink
PILOTS Database – Index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
POPLINE® – Database on reproductive health, providing more than 300,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
Population Index
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) – Content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. Many images are copyright protected.
PubMed – Public access database to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset – Succeeds IBIDS database. Limits PubMed search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.
PubMed Health – Provides summaries and full-text of selected systematic reviews on the prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions.
RAND Books and Publications
REPIDISCA – Citations, emphasizing documents produced in Latin America and the Caribbean, on the topics of environmental health, water supply and wastewater, solid and hazardous wastes, and healthy cities.
Reports of the Surgeon General, The
ReproLine®: Reproductive Health Online
Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
SafetyLit – Abstracts from scholarly peer reviewed journals, selected reports from government agencies, university-based research centers, and professional organizations on injury prevention research. Maintained at San Diego State University.
SEER, Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results
Smoking & Health Resource Library – Contains abstracts of tobacco-related articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities.
STD Communications Database – A tool to help public health practitioners create specialized sexually transmitted disease (STD) prevention programs. From the Division of Sexually Transmitted Disease Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)
TOXLINE
TOXNET (Toxicology Data Network) – National Library of Medicine's portal to databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
TRIS (Transportation Research Information Service) – Bibliographic database of published transportation-related research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Many links go to full-text sources.
TRoPHI, Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions – A registry of randomized and non-randomized controlled trials of public health and health promotion interventions. TRoPHI is hosted by the Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Centre (EPPI-Centre).
Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)
Water Resources Abstracts (Selected) – Database of bibliographic citations and other resources published by the U.S. Geological survey.