Guides: Anesthesia For Nurses: AMA Style. & Reference Managers

Getting Started Reference Managers

All citation management programs let you:

Add citations from databases like PubMed, Web of Science, etc.
Organize your citations into folders or groups
Add PDF files of articles to the references
Format citations in Microsoft Word, Google Docs) to create bibliographies
Share all or part of your database

Comparison of Reference Managers
A comparison of four reference managers (EndNote, Mendeley, Refworks, and Zotero), created by UC Berkeley, to help you make an informed choice on reference management software.

EndNote Desktop This link opens in a new window
Citation manager that allows you to create your own personal library of citations by importing references from databases and other sources, attach PDFs to citations with the click of a button, as well as automatically format your paper's in-text citations and bibliography.
EndNote Desktop provided by MUSC Information Solutions.
EndNote Online This link opens in a new window
Web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own personal library of citations by importing references from databases and other sources, as well as automatically format your paper's in-text citations and bibliography.
Download EndNote Desktop for more functionality (e.g., additional journal styles, attach PDFs with click of a button).

Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager which is well suited for the researcher who downloads PDF full text articles while searching. Premium upgrades allows for enhanced group and sharing capabilities as well as increased storage space. Researchers can easily organize and search your personal library, annotate documents and cite as you write.
Mendeley Help Guide
Developed by MUSC Library.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
Web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own personal library of citations by importing references from databases and other sources, as well as automatically format your paper's in-text citations and bibliography.

Zotero
Zotero is a powerful open source reference manager which is suited for the researcher who likes to save references to review later. Very flexible, it can be configured to the researcher's liking.