Reference Managers
A reference manager program can help you format reference lists and in-text citations within Microsoft Word.
Once you import references from a database or website, you can insert them into Microsoft Word and the citations will be formatted for you.
- EndNote Desktop This link opens in a new window
Citation manager that allows you to create your own personal library of citations by importing references from databases and other sources, attach PDFs to citations with the click of a button, as well as automatically format your paper's in-text citations and bibliography. - EndNote Online This link opens in a new window
Web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own personal library of citations by importing references from databases and other sources, as well as automatically format your paper's in-text citations and bibliography.
- EndNote Help GuideDeveloped by MUSC Library.
- EndNote TrainingTraining from EndNote.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window
Web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own personal library of citations by importing references from databases and other sources, as well as automatically format your paper's in-text citations and bibliography.
- RefWorks Help GuideDeveloped by MUSC Library.
- Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager which is well suited for the researcher who downloads PDF full text articles while searching. Premium upgrades allows for enhanced group and sharing capabilities as well as increased storage space. Researchers can easily organize and search your personal library, annotate documents and cite as you write. - Mendeley Help GuideDeveloped by MUSC Library.
- Zotero
Zotero is a powerful open source reference manager which is suited for the researcher who likes to save references to review later. Very flexible, it can be configured to the researcher's liking.
Comparison of Reference Managers
- Comparison of Reference ManagersA comparison of four reference managers (EndNote, Mendeley, Refworks, and Zotero), created by UC Berkeley, to help you make an informed choice on reference management software.