Clinical Resources
- ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks, journals, nursing scales, clinical summaries, clinical procedures, practice guidelines, patient education, drug monographs, multimedia, and more. - UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UpToDate provides overviews of clinical topics. Content is written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help clinicians in their daily practice. - Procedures Consult (ClinicalKey) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Videos, text, and illustrations for top medical procedures. Includes patient safety guidelines, indications, contraindications, anatomy, and equipment.
Drug Databases
- Johns Hopkins ABX Guide (uCentral) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes information related to antibiotics such as drug summaries, diagnosis, management, pathogens, vaccines, and brand names.
*This resource is provided by MUHA Pharmacy Services department.** - Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes drug summaries, interaction check, drug ID, calculators, IV compatibility, toxicology, patient education, and more.
- ChemIDplusCovers chemical structure and nomenclature information.
- DailyMed
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). By National Library of Medicine. - Drug and Pill Identifier (MUSC Health)Search for drugs by a specific color, shape, and/or marking. A picture of drugs meeting the criteria are displayed.
- LactMed
Free database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Includes maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. - Martindale's Virtual Pharmacy, Pharmacology & Toxicology Center
A list of resources on drugs, pharmacology and toxicology. - Hale's Medications & Mother's MilkThis resources is provided by MUSC Lactation Services and access is restricted to on campus only.
- MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and SupplementsBrowse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
- Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic EvaluationsIdentifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.
Guidelines
- National Guidelines Clearinghouse – www.guideline.gov
- United States Preventive Services Task Force - http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org
- COPD – Gold Initiative For Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease (GOLD) – http://www.goldcopd.org/Guidelines/guidelines-resources.html
- Hypertension – JNC 8 - http://jama.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1791497
- Hyperlipidemia – ACC/AHA Treatment of Blood Cholesterol - https://circ.ahajournals.org/content/early/2013/11/11/01.cir.0000437738.63853.7a
- Infectious Disease Society of American (IDSA) - http://www.idsociety.org/idsa_practice_guidelines/
- NHLBI Guidelines for the Diagnosis and Management of Asthma - http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-pro/guidelines/current/asthma-guidelines
- ADA Standard of Medical Care in Diabetes – http://professional.diabetes.org/ResourcesForProfessionals.aspx?cid=84160
- AACE/ACE Diabetes Guidelines - https://www.aace.com/publications/algorithm
- Endocrine Society Guidelines - https://www.endocrine.org/education-and-practice-management/clinical-practice-guidelines
- American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists Guidelines - https://www.aace.com/publications/guidelines
- CDC STD Treatment Guidelines – http://www.cdc.gov/std/treatment/2010/
- ACC/AHA Guidelines - http://my.americanheart.org/professional/StatementsGuidelines/ByTopic/TopicsA-C/ACCAHA-Joint-Guidelines_UCM_321694_Article.jsp
- Chest Antithrombotic Guidelines - http://www.chestnet.org/Guidelines-and-Resources/Guidelines-and-Consensus-Statements/Antithrombotic-Guidelines-9th-Ed