MUSC Databases and Journals
- MUSC A-Z Databases
Below is a selected list of databases. To view a full A-Z list of databases or to search by specialty, visit the library's Databases page. - MUSC-Subscribed and Open Access Journals
OR if in a database, click on the "Find it @ MUSC" icon within the database.
Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free searchable resource for biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health globally and individually. The PubMed database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 37 million citations and abstracts.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, comprehensive, and trusted academic database. Quickly find authoritative research, identify top experts, and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Engineering, materials, biochemistry, synthesis & reactions, journal articles, patents, dissertations, chemical sources.
- Retraction Watch
A database that collects and tracks retractions as a window into the scientific process, revewling fraudulent, 'fake' science. - UniProt Protein Sequence database
UniProt is the world’s leading high-quality, comprehensive and freely accessible resource of protein/peptide/proteomes sequence and functional information. - NIH Databases - Protein, DNA, RNA, Genes, Genomes, Homology, domains etc.
All genetic/gene databases provided by NIH. All free! - Enzyme PortalThe Enzyme Portal brings together lots of diverse information about enzymes and displays it in an organized overview. It covers a large number of species including the key model organisms, and provides a simple way to compare orthologs.
- SC Census DataIncludes statistics on employment, income, health outcmes, health behavior, residents ages, crime, etc.. Sort by county, city in SC
- PolyGlot - translate search strategies to other databases!e.g take a PubMed strategy and translate it into a Scopus strategy. Not absolute, but very useful!
- Global Index MedicusThe Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low- and middle- income countries. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries.
- Europe PMC
Europe PMC is an open science platform with access to a worldwide collection of publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe. Europe PMC is developed by EMBL-EBI. It is a partner of PubMed Central and a repository of choice for many international science funders. - MUSC Shared Resources - Instruments, Software, Tools, Experts
Resources available here at MUSC. - NIH RePORTER
In addition to NIH-funded research, the system provides access to research supported by ACF, CDC, AHRQ, HRSA, FDA and the VA. - Meetings and Conferences Lists Worldwide
Upcoming meetings, conferences and webinars for health, biomedical and research professionals. - ChemSpider
ChemSpider: a free chemical structure database: by name, structure, trade/systematic names. - Google Dataset Search:There are many thousands of data repositories on the web, Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted.
- PubReMiner
Don't know synonyms to use when searching PubMed?? Use this tool to find alternative terms/synonyms.
Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery (ILLiad)
If you need a journal article or book chapter not owned by MUSC, request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD). Links to articles and book chapters will be emailed. This is a free and fast service for MUSC students, staff and faculty.
- From the library homepage, go to Services --> Document Delivery (ILLIAD)
- From a database, click on
- If MUSC does not own/subscribe to the article, there will be an option to "Click here to request the item through Interlibrary Loan" in big red lettering.
NCBI Resources
- NCBI Resources
Resources for many topics including chemicals & bioassays, genetics & medicine, sequence analysis, and more.
