Collaborate with a Librarian
Research teams should partner with a librarian to design search strategies. Librarians are experts in translating research questions into search concepts, identifying appropriate databases, developing comprehensive search strategies, translating the search strategy for each database, writing the search methodology, and creating the PRISMA flow diagram.
- PRISMA Searching ChecklistThe PRISMA Searching Checklist describes what search details must be included in your systematic review. The checklist includes 16 reporting items, each of which is detailed with exemplar reporting and rationale.
Precision vs Sensitivity in Scoping Reviews
Searches should seek high sensitivity, which may result in relatively low precision.
-
Recall (Sensitivity): The number of relevant reports identified divided by the total number of relevant reports in existence
-
Precision: The number of relevant reports identified divided by the total number of reports identified.
For more info, see: Higgins JPT, Green S (editors). Sensitivity versus precision (section 6.4.4) Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions. Version 5.1.0 [updated March 2011]. The Cochrane Collaboration. Available from http://handbook-5-1.cochrane.org. Accessed June 1, 2018.
Databases and Information Resources
Below is a list of the most commonly used databases. We also recommend that you consult your discipline's research guide and consult your librarian for database suggestions.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most trusted index of psychological science in the world, this databases delivers credible and comprehensive research across the full spectrum of behavioral and social sciences.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for research in the nursing and allied health disciplines including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
The leading resource for systematic reviews in health care.
- Proquest Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Healthcare administration database covering such topics such as hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, public health administration, and more. Includes full text scholarly journals and thousands of dissertations and theses.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free searchable resource for biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health globally and individually. The PubMed database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 37 million citations and abstracts.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Engineering, materials, biochemistry, synthesis & reactions, journal articles, patents, dissertations, chemical sources.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, comprehensive, and trusted academic database. Quickly find authoritative research, identify top experts, and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics.
- AHRQ - Grants On Line DatabaseGovernment documents. Divided into various searches. Each search includes Portfolio/Program, Priority Population and indication of whether it is a Recovery Act project.
- Grey Literature Report (New York Academy of Medicine)A quarterly list of gray literature documents in the field of public health.
- Grey Matters: a practical search tool for evidence-based medicineA tool for finding grey literature provided by the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH).
- Health Technology Assessment (HTA) AgenciesCustom Google search that searches International Health Technology websites compiled by the Canadian Agency for Drugs and technologies in Health.
- NIH RePORTerGovernment documents. Repository of intramural and extramural NIH-funded research projects. Access publications and patents resulting from NIH funding. In addition to NIH-funded research, the system provides access to research supported by the CDC, AHRQ, HRSA, SAMHSA and the VA.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for research in the nursing and allied health disciplines including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Engineering, materials, biochemistry, synthesis & reactions, journal articles, patents, dissertations, chemical sources.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, comprehensive, and trusted academic database. Quickly find authoritative research, identify top experts, and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics.