Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
If you need a journal article or book chapter not owned by MUSC, request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD). Links to articles and book chapters will be emailed. This is a free and fast service for MUSC students, staff and faculty.
- From the library homepage, go to Services --> Document Delivery (ILLIAD)
- From a database, click on
- If MUSC does not own/subscribe to the article, there will be an option to "Click here to request the item through Interlibrary Loan" in big red lettering.
Searchable Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Abstract and index database covering all academic and research disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities in a collection of 3000+ journal titles.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology and behavioral sciences database. Includes articles that address questionnaire/survey validity. - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for research in the nursing and allied health disciplines including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.
- Proquest Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Healthcare administration database covering such topics such as hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, public health administration, and more. Includes full text scholarly journals and thousands of dissertations and theses.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free searchable resource for biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health globally and individually. The PubMed database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 37 million citations and abstracts.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, comprehensive, and trusted academic database. Quickly find authoritative research, identify top experts, and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics.
- TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
Meta search engine that focuses on prioritizing results for evidence based practice efficiency. Includes clinical guidelines, systematic reviews, journal articles, and more.
- PubMed HSR Queries This link opens in a new window
This resource provides specialized PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs. This search finds citations that correspond to a specific health services research study category: Appropriateness, process assessment, outcomes assessment, costs, economics, qualitative research, and quality improvement. The search may be either broad and sensitive or narrow and specific.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Spans various business topics, from current trends to historical information and global perspectives.
- Proquest Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Healthcare administration database covering such topics such as hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, public health administration, and more. Includes full text scholarly journals and thousands of dissertations and theses.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
The leading research database for education students, professionals, and policymakers including full-text education journals covering the essentials of education and related fields of study.
- ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Premier research platform providing access to essential government documents, case law, international resources, multidisciplinary periodicals, and much more.
Health Services Research PubMed Queries
This resource provides specialized PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs. Below you'll find the definitions of the specialized queries available.
- Appropriateness: Defined as content pertaining directly to determining whether individuals who are provided with a health care service had the appropriate clinical indications to receive that service.
- Process Assessment: Defined as content pertaining directly to assessing the process of care for people with a given health problem. These observational studies addressed who did what, to whom, why, where, when and how well.
- Outcomes Assessment: Defined as content pertaining directly to the appraisal of various clinical decisions/management paths and their effects on patient well-being (outcomes).
- Costs: Defined as content pertaining directly to the costs or financing of a health care issue.
- Economics: Defined as content pertaining directly to a comparison of the cost and effects of at least two different forms of service provision.
- Qualitative Research Studies: Defined as content that relates to how people feel or experience certain situations, and data collection methods and analyses are appropriate for qualitative data.
- Quality Improvement Studies: Defined as content pertaining directly to interventions intended to improve the quality of healthcare, including studies of continuing education for the purpose of improving the quality of care. The focus is on the providers and processes of care.
- PubMed HSR Queries This link opens in a new window
This resource provides specialized PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs. This search finds citations that correspond to a specific health services research study category: Appropriateness, process assessment, outcomes assessment, costs, economics, qualitative research, and quality improvement. The search may be either broad and sensitive or narrow and specific.