General Biomedical and Systematic Review Databases including Dental Medicine
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
The leading resource for systematic reviews in health care.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free searchable resource for biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health globally and individually. The PubMed database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 37 million citations and abstracts.
- PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
This PubMed tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.
- Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
The world's leading bibliographic source for biomedical scholarly literature research with easy linking to full-text journals. Offers daily updates, advanced mapping, graphical thesaurus, customization options, and more features to enhance search precision and relevance.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, comprehensive, and trusted academic database. Quickly find authoritative research, identify top experts, and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate provides a suite of clinical, drug, and patient information to support all health professionals.
Evidence-Based Dentistry Databases and Critically Appraised Article Resources
- ADA Center for Evidence-Based DentistryProvides evidence-based resources including an evidence database, guidelines, critical summaries and systematic reviews.
- Cochrane Oral Health GroupCochrane Oral Health comprises an international network of healthcare professionals, researchers and consumers preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials in oral health. It publishes summaries of the best quality research available to help people (patients, carers, clinicians, researchers and funders) make better informed decisions about oral healthcare choices.
- Dental Critically Appraised Topics (UTHSCSA)The University of Texas Health Sciences Center at San Antonio Dental School's online Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) library. There are CATS on all dental and dental related topics.
- Dental ElfThrough a daily blog Dental Elf provides brief summaries of evidence-based publications to keep dental professionals up to date with important and reliable dental health research and guidance.
- Evidence-based Endodontics Literature DatabaseA database of classic and current evidence-based endodontic articles. Each article has an evidence ranking.
- Evidentista (Pan American Centers for Evidence Based Dentistry)An evidence-based database for dentists and dental educators.
- American Dental Association | Choosing WiselyFive Things Dentists and Patients Should Question.
Evidence-Based Dentistry Journals
Practice Guidelines
- ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry Clinical Practice GuidelinesProvides access to ADA Clinical Practice Guidelines.
- Choosing WiselySearchable list of specific, evidence-based recommendations for clinicians and patients created by different national medical specialty societies. Filter by keyword "dental" for dentistry specific guidelines.
- HSTAT-Health Services Technology Assessment TextsHSTAT (Health Services Technology Assessment Texts) is a searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information. It's audience includes health care providers, health service researches, policy makers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups.
- NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence)
U.K. guidelines. Sponsored by U.K. Department of Health. - National Comprehensive Cancer NetworkNot-for-profit alliance of the world's leading cancer centers. Guideline categories are Treatment of Cancer by Site; Detection, Prevention, & Risk Reduction; Supportive Care; and Specific Populations
Other Sources of Evidence and Critically Appraised Journal Article Resources
- AHRQ Evidence-Based Practice Center (EPC) ReportsProvides access evidence reports, comparative effectiveness reviews, technical briefs Technology Assessment Program reports, and U.S. Preventive Services Task Force evidence syntheses issued by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Evidence-based Practice Centers.
- Evidence Alerts (McMaster PLUS and DynaMed Plus)EvidenceAlerts provides a cumulative, searchable database of recent journal article citations, with links to their abstracts, and ratings of their relevance and importance by practicing physicians.
- TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
Meta search engine that focuses on prioritizing results for evidence based practice efficiency. Includes clinical guidelines, systematic reviews, journal articles, and more.
Clinical Trials
- ClinicalTrials.gov (U.S. National Library of Medicine)Covers federally and privately supported clinical research in human subjects.
Overviews of Medical Conditions
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate provides a suite of clinical, drug, and patient information to support all health professionals.