Some journals and reports available in your library
- Food Insecurity Measures: Experience-Based Versus Nutrition-Based Evidence From India, Bangladesh, and EthiopiaEconomic Research Report No. (ERR-220) 46 pp, December 2016 by Nzinga Broussard and Sharad Tandon
A selection of books in your library
To access books on different topics such as enteral nutrition, please type the words enteral nutrition in the search box
Nutrition in Kidney Disease by
This third edition of this text is organized into seven sections that address the educational needs of dietitians around the world who seek current information about nutritional management of chronic kidney disease (CKD). Part I addresses the differences in the epidemiology of CKD and renal replacement therapy worldwide, such as environmental, ethnic, cultural, political and macroeconomic factors. Part II includes a thorough review of the components of the nutrition assessment, which includes information about psychosocial issues affecting nutritional status in kidney disease and drug-nutrient interactions, and parts III and IV review preventative strategies for common disorders associated with CKD such as hypertension, type 2 diabetes, obesity and cardiovascular disease are provided, and current evidence-based treatment recommendations for the nutrition management of non-dialyzed, dialyzed and transplanted adults are addressed. Part V presents the nutritional concerns of CKD populations with special needs (i.e., pregnancy, infancy, childhood, adolescence and the elderly). The nutrition management of other disorders associated with kidney disease are covered in Part VI; these include protein-energy wasting and the inflammatory response, bone and mineral disorders, nephrotic syndrome, nephrolithiasis, and acute kidney injury. Lastly, Part VII is devoted to cutting-edge research on topics of concern in nutrition in kidney disease such as the gut microbiome including pre- and probiotics, appetite regulation, advanced glycation end products, physical activity and structured exercise, and dietary patterns including plant-based diets. When appropriate, the new clinical practice guidelines in nutrition for individuals with CKD are integrated into the chapters. The third edition of Nutrition in Kidney Disease will be a highly informative resource for nephrologists, nutrition scientists, nutritionists, and researchers and students whose research, practice, and education includes nutrition and kidney disease.
ISBN: 3030448576Publication Date: 2020-07-15
Kumar and Clark's Cases in Clinical Medicine by
The latest addition to the Kumar & Clark family, this thoroughly updated new edition covers more than 200 cases presenting with acute symptoms in the hospital, everything from shingles and breathlessness to chest pain, acute coronary syndromes, poisoning, renal failure and stroke. The authors give clear and concise advice on immediate and further management, management of complications, differential diagnoses, history-taking, tips and pitfalls, alerts, investigations, and prioritization. . More than 200 cases . Remember! boxes . Investigations boxes . Information boxes Edited by Parveen Kumar, CBE, BSc, MD, FRCP, FRCP(Edin) and Michael L Clark, MD, FRCP Enhanced e-book accompanies the print book, for ease of transportation and use on the move. Over 200 cases
ISBN: 9780702077326Publication Date: 2021-01-22
Clinical Cases in Dietetics by
Learning how to deal with actual cases and developing the ability to arrive at a reasoned clinical judgement are important parts of a student′s training. This unique text presents a series of clinical cases of increasing complexity and range. Readers are taken through a structured way of thinking that facilitates clinical reasoning and the arrival of a justified treatment plan. Each case includes a commentary and opportunities for reflection on practice, and identifies key learning points.
ISBN: 9781405125642Publication Date: 2008-03-24
Clinical Nutrition in Practice by
An easy-to-use book with questions on clinical nutrition clearly posed and answers based on real-life studies, this is a ready reference for the busy healthcare professional. Clinical Nutrition in Practice opens with introductory chapters on the basis of healthy nutrition, malnutrition and nutritional assessment. These are followed by chapters addressing the nutritional needs of patients with obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular disease, rheumatoid and neurologic disorders, as well as diseases of various organ systems, such as the GI tract, renal and pulmonary systems. Special attention is given to describing nutrition in cancer patients and those with HIV/AIDS and the book concludes with a discussion of enteral and parenteral nutrition. Nutritionists, dietitians and other health professionals working with patients with impaired nutrition or special nutritional requirements, such as diabetologists, endocrinologists (especially those treating obesity), cardiologists and oncologists will find this a refreshing approach to an important subject. Nurses, medical students and those working in the food industry will also find this a handy guide. Easy-to-follow style with questions clearly posed and answers based on real-life case studies Outlines the basics of healthy nutrition, malnutrition and nutritional assessment Detailed consideration of the nutritional needs of patients with a variety of chronic diseases, e.g. cardiovascular or rheumatoid disorders, cancer and HIV/AIDS Uses an interesting contemporary approach that health professionals will find a refreshing change
ISBN: 9781444325003Publication Date: 2010-05-27
Clinical Paediatric Dietetics by
Clinical Paediatric Dietetics is a comprehensive guide to the nutritional management of a wide range of paediatric disorders. It provides key information on how conditions may benefit from nutritional support or be ameliorated or resolved by dietary intervention. Covering assessment, requirements and normal healthy eating as well as the dietetic management and nutrition support of inherited metabolic disorders and diseases of all major organ systems, it is an indispensable guide for all those involved in the nutritional treatment of children. Fully revised and updated for its fourth edition, this practical manual now includes links to useful online content and incorporates a range of case studies to place material in clinical context. Written by dietitians for dietitians and officially supported by the British Dietetic Association, Clinical Paediatric Dietetics is an indispensable resource for all healthcare practitioners caring for children.
ISBN: 9780470659984Publication Date: 2020-09-08
Integrative and Functional Medical Nutrition Therapy by
This textbook is a practical guide to the application of the philosophy and principles of Integrative and Functional Medical Nutrition Therapy (IFMNT) in the practice of medicine, and the key role nutrition plays in restoring and maintaining wellness. The textbook provides an overview of recent reviews and studies of physiological and biochemical contributions to IFMNT and address nutritional influences in human heath overall, including poor nutrition, genomics, environmental toxicant exposures, fractured human interactions, limited physical movement, stress, sleep deprivation, and other lifestyle factors. Ultimately, this textbook serves to help practitioners, healthcare systems, and policy makers better understand this different and novel approach to complex chronic disorders. It provides the reader with real world examples of applications of the underlying principles and practices of integrative/functional nutrition therapies and presents the most up-to-date intervention strategies and clinical tools to help the reader keep abreast of developments in this emerging specialty field. Many chapters include comprehensive coverage of the topic and clinical applications with supplementary learning features such as case studies, take-home messages, patient and practitioner handouts, algorithms, and suggested readings. Integrative and Functional Medical Nutrition Therapy: Principles and Practices will serve as an invaluable guide for healthcare professionals in their clinical application of nutrition, lifestyle assessment, and intervention for each unique, individual patient.
ISBN: 9783030307295Publication Date: 2020-04-03
EBM BOOKS
Evidence-Based Practice in Complementary and Alternative Medicine by ISBN: 9783642245640Publication Date: 2012-01-30
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by ISBN: 9780071790710Publication Date: 2014-12-30
