EBD Online Resources
- American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)Resources to help you understand and apply evidence-based dentistry. Currently the AAPD is working on the first-ever EBD clinical guidelines.
- American Dental Association Center for Evidence-Based DentistryThe Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry operates under the advisement of the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs to develop resources that help dentists integrate clinically relevant scientific evidence at the point of care.
- ClinicalTrials.gov "Dental Care"See the latest clinical trials in dental care that are registered with ClinicalTrials.gov. This resources is helpful in finding relevant EBD examples.
- Cochrane Oral Health GroupCochrane Oral Health publishes summaries of the best quality research available to help people (patients, carers, clinicians, researchers and funders) make better informed decisions about oral healthcare choices. This resources is useful for recent relevant examples of EBD for presentations.
- The Dental ElfThis is a blog that is part of a series of health related topics. Focusing on the latest dental topics, it highlights recent evidence in dentistry. It is a great resource for finding examples that are relevant for practitioners.
- JADA: Clinical ScansThis is a collection of scientific and evidence-based assessment of selected published articles for oral health professionals.
- NICE Evidence SearchThis online resources provides evidence organized by level of synthesis. It is a great resource for searching a dental topic and showing the results evidence type (guidelines, synthesis, primary research, etc.)
Books and Journals
- BDJ OpenThis is a peer-reviewed open access journal whose focus is dental and oral health research. It is useful for finding recent dental research examples when preparing for instructional sessions.
- Evidence Based Dentistry JournalThis journal provides summaries of review articles with expert commentary. Ideal for those with little time to keep up to date with recent developments in EBD.
- Journal of Evidence-Based Dental PracticeThe Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice presents timely original articles, as well as reviews of articles on the results and outcomes of clinical procedures and treatment. The Journal advocates the use or rejection of a procedure based on solid, clinical evidence found in literature. The Journal's dynamic operating principles are explicitness in process and objectives, publication of the highest-quality reviews and original articles, and an emphasis on objectivity.
Critical Thinking by ISBN: 9780867154269Publication Date: 2007-07-01Donald Maxwell Brunette is a professor in the Department of Oral Biological and Medical Sciences and a former associate dean of Research and Graduate Studies in the Faculty of Dentistry, University of British Columbia.
EBDM in Action by ISBN: 9780997412161Publication Date: 2016-04-01EBDM in Action: Developing Competence in Evidence-Based Practice teaches the critical thinking skills necessary for life-long learning and providing evidence-based patient care. This book integrates and builds upon the five skills of the evidence-based process. Each chapter identifies the related CODA standards or relevant portions thereof, has specific objectives and contains suggested activities including critical thinking questions and exercises to reinforce learning. As the reader progresses through the chapters, assignments and assessments can be entered into a portfolio to document progress in learning and applying EBDM skills.
EBDM in Action-Faculty Toolkit by ISBN: 9780997412192Publication Date: 2016-04-01This toolkit supports active teaching and learning strategies. Our primary goal is to support faculty in integrating evidence-based decision making into curricula by providing material that is organized and easy to find and use.What's IncludedEach chapter in this Toolkit parallels that of the Book and includes the following resources:* Critical Thinking and Self-Reflection Questions * Suggested Assignments and Answer Keys for specific exercises* Quizzes and Answer Keys* PowerPoint Slides - for the Chapter & for accessing external resources such as Dentalcare.com (when listed as an assignment)The Suggested Assignments and Critical Thinking and Self-Reflection Questions also will appear in the Book chapter for students, however, they will not have access to the other items until the instructor makes them available.Other resources for faculty to use include:* Translating Evidence into Practice Tool (TEPT) and EBDM in Action Self-Assessment tools, student self-evaluation tools based on the continuum of competence and development of the 5 skills of the evidence-based process.* Grading Rubrics based on the continuum of competence for each of the 5 evidence-based skills.* References to supplement the information provided in the Book.* Suggestions for incorporating assignments, exercises, self-evaluation and grading feedback, and patient care experiences into a portfolio for students to demonstrate their achievement of competence in EBDM.
Clinical Epidemiology by ISBN: 9781451144475Publication Date: 2012-12-25Now in its Fifth Edition, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The Fifth Edition includes more complete coverage of systematic reviews and knowledge management, as well as other key topics such as abnormality, diagnosis, frequency and risk, prognosis, treatment, prevention, chance, studying cases and cause.
Evidence-Based Decision Making in Dentistry by ISBN: 9783319457314Publication Date: 2017-01-18This clinically oriented book covers all aspects of the evidence-based decision making process in multidisciplinary management of the natural dentition. The book opens by clarifying the principles of evidence-based decision making and explaining how these principles should be applied in daily practice. Individual chapters then focus specifically, and in detail, on endodontic, periodontal, and prosthetic considerations, identifying aspects that need to be integrated into decision making and treatment planning. Evidence-based decision making with regard to preservation of the natural tooth versus extraction and implant placement is then discussed, and a concluding chapter examines likely future trends in dentistry and how they may affect clinical decision making. The authors include leading endodontists, periodontists, and prosthodontists. Given the multidisciplinary and comprehensive nature of the book, it will be relevant and interesting to the entire dental community.
Evidence-Based Dentistry for the Dental Hygienist by ISBN: 9780867156461Publication Date: 2014-09-01Like any other dental professional, dental hygienists must practice evidence-based dentistry (EBD) to provide the best care to their patients, whether it be through scaling and root planing, caries prevention, or patient education. This book is intended as a textbook for dental hygienists to learn the importance of EBD in the practice of dental hygiene as well as how to implement EBD practices and share EBD findings among office staff. As the dental knowledge base evolves and scientific discoveries are made, dental hygienists must understand how to seek out and evaluate findings and, if appropriate, apply them in their clinical practice, and this book provides all the necessary tools to do just that.
Journal of the American Dental Association: A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry series
Carrasco-Labra, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Azarpazhooh, A., Glick, M., & Guyatt, G. H. (2015). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: X: How to avoid being misled by clinical studies' results in dentistry. Journal of the American Dental Association, 146(12), 919-924. DOI: 10.1016/j.adaj.2015.08.008
Abstract
Abrahamyan, L., Pechlivanoglou, P., Krahn, M., Carrasco-Labra, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Glick, M., . . . Azarpazhooh, A. (2015). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: IX: How to appraise and use an article about economic analysis. Journal of the American Dental Association, 146(9), 679-689.e1. DOI: 10.1016/j.adaj.2015.06.021
Abstract
Sale, J. E. M., Amin, M., Carrasco-Labra, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A. (2015). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: VIII: How to appraise an article based on a qualitative study. Journal of the American Dental Association, 146(8), 623-630. DOI: 10.1016/j.adaj.2015.06.010
Abstract
Carrasco-Labra, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., Neumann, I., & Azarpazhooh, A. (2015). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: VII: How to use patient management recommendations from clinical practice guidelines. Journal of the American Dental Association, 146(5), 327-336.e1. DOI: 10.1016/j.adaj.2015.03.015
Abstract
Carrasco-Labra, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A. (2015). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: VI: How to use a systematic review. Journal of the American Dental Association, 146(4), 255-65.e1. DOI: 10.1016/j.adaj.2015.01.025
Abstract
Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A. (2015). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: V: How to appraise and use an article about diagnosis. Journal of the American Dental Association, 146(3), 184-191.e1. DOI: 10.1016/j.adaj.2015.01.011
Abstract
Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A. (2015). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: IV: How to use an article about harm. Journal of the American Dental Association, 146(2), 94-101.e1. DOI: 10.1016/j.adaj.2014.12.002
Abstract
Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A. (2015). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: III: How to appraise and use an article about therapy. Journal of the American Dental Association, 146(1), 42-49.e1. DOI: 10.1016/j.adaj.2014.11.010
Abstract
Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Booth, H. A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., Azarpazhooh, A., & Agoritsas, T. (2014). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: How to search for evidence to inform clinical decisions. Journal of the American Dental Association, 145(12), 1262-1267. DOI: 10.14219/jada.2014.113
Abstract
Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A. (2014). A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: Understanding and applying the principles of EBD. Journal of the American Dental Association, 145(11), 1105-1107. DOI: 10.14219/jada.2014.102
No Abstract Available