Overview Resources
The resources below provide summaries of topics and guidelines.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UpToDate provides a suite of clinical, drug, and patient information to support all health professionals.
Systematic Reviews
A systematic review is a literature review focused on a research question that tries to identify, appraise, select and synthesize all high quality research evidence relevant to that question. Systematic reviews of high-quality randomized controlled trials and other primary research articles.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
The leading resource for systematic reviews in health care.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free searchable resource for biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health globally and individually. The PubMed database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 37 million citations and abstracts.
Journal Literature Databases
The resources below provide primary research articles for EBP search topics.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for research in the nursing and allied health disciplines including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.
- Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
The world's leading bibliographic source for biomedical scholarly literature research with easy linking to full-text journals. Offers daily updates, advanced mapping, graphical thesaurus, customization options, and more features to enhance search precision and relevance.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most trusted index of psychological science in the world, this databases delivers credible and comprehensive research across the full spectrum of behavioral and social sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free searchable resource for biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health globally and individually. The PubMed database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 37 million citations and abstracts.
- PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
This PubMed tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.
- PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) This link opens in a new window
Free database of randomized trials, systematic reviews, and guidelines in the field of physical therapy to inform physiotherapy practice.
- OTSeeker This link opens in a new window
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Users can search, appraise, and access evidence from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy practice.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, comprehensive, and trusted academic database. Quickly find authoritative research, identify top experts, and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics.
Practice Guidelines
- Cincinnati Children's Hospital (James M. Anderson Center for Health Systems Excellence)James M. Anderson Center for Health Systems Excellence
- HSTAT-Health Services Technology Assessment TextsHSTAT (Health Services Technology Assessment Texts) is a searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information. It's audience includes health care providers, health service researches, policy makers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups.
- National Comprehensive Cancer NetworkNot-for-profit alliance of the world's leading cancer centers. Guideline categories are Treatment of Cancer by Site; Detection, Prevention, & Risk Reduction; Supportive Care; and Specific Populations
- National Guideline Clearinghouse (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)U.S guidelines. The mission of NGC is to provide healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in order to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.
- NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence)U.K. guidelines. Sponsored by U.K. Department of Health.
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)Independent panel of experts who systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services.
Other Sources of Evidence
- TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
Meta search engine that focuses on prioritizing results for evidence based practice efficiency. Includes clinical guidelines, systematic reviews, journal articles, and more.
- Bandolier (Oxford University)Summarizes high-level evidence such as systematic reviews and meta analysis, and categorized them by subject for ease of access. Also contains an EBM Glossary.
- BestBETS (Best Evidence Topics) Database (Emergency Department, Manchester Royal Infirmary)Browsable database of critically appraised topics.