Mobile Apps
- UpToDate (mobile app)
Clinical information resource containing evidence- and expert-based summaries for use at the point-of-care.
*** To download: From the UpToDate homepage, Login/Register (top right corner). UpToDate will send confirmation email that you qualify for UpToDate Anywhere mobile app. Download UpToDate app from App/Play Store. Log into app with UpToDate username and password. In order to maintain remote access to UpToDate, log into UpToDate from on-campus every 90 days. - DynaMed (mobile app)
Clinical information resource containing evidence- and expert-based summaries for use at the point-of-care.
*** To download: From the DynaMed homepage, Sign In / Create Account (top right corner). Download DynaMed app from App/Play Store. Log into app with DynaMed username and password. - ClinicalKey (mobile app)
ClinicalKey includes books, journals, drug monographs, guidelines, patient education, multimedia, and Procedures Consult.
*** To download: Register for account on ClinicalKey (via web browser). Download ClinicalKey from Play/App Store. Login with ClinicalKey username and password. - AccessMedicine (mobile app)
Includes Quick Medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Differential Diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Diagnostic Tests.
*** To download: Register for account on AccessMedicine (via web browser). Download AccessMedicine from Play/App Store. Login with username and password.
- Lexicomp (Lexi-Drugs, Interact, and Pediatric Drugs) (mobile app)
Includes drug summaries, interaction check, drug ID, calculators, IV compatibility, and more.
*** To download: Go to Lexicomp and select "Mobile Access Codes" from far-right box under the search bar. Select your device platform and choose New or Existing customer to obtain authorization code. Follow step 1 of Lexicomp's instructions: "Create Account" using MUSC email and provided authorization code. Download Lexi-Comp mobile app from App/Play Store. Update all databases in app. Must renew app (obtain new product code) every June 30th. - Johns Hopkins Antibiotic (ABX) Guide (via uCentral) (mobile app)
**This resource is provided by MUHA Pharmacy Services department.** Includes information related to antibiotics such as drug summaries, diagnosis, management, pathogens, vaccines, and brand names. **To download: Go to uCentral and click "Log In" to register for account or log into existing uCentral account. Then download uCentral app from App/Play Store and enter the username and password you created when registering. uCentral app includes Johns Hopkins Antibiotic Guide and Johns Hopkins HIV Guide. - Epocrates Essentials
Includes everything in Epocrates Rx (drug information, interactions, pill ID, provider directory, app directory, formulary) plus disease information, labs & diagnostic tests, alternative medicine, infectious disease treatment guide, and universal access (mobile devices and desktop computer). Epocrates Rx is free.
- MUSC students receive 50% discount (app will cost $80 instead of $160).
- To download and receive discount: Register for or login to account. Edit profile to reflect MUSC email and occupation (applicable student listing). Then call Epocrates at (800) 230-2150 to process order and redeem discount.
- BrowZine (mobile app)
Library-subscribed journals in a browsable format on your iPad, iPhone or Android tablet. Save your favorite journals in My Bookshelf, save your favorite articles in Saved Articles, read articles offline, and much more. - Read by QXMD (mobile app)
Keep up with the latest new research that will impact your practice, and access full-text library-subscribed articles. Search for papers, topics, or collections. Follow your favorite journals, create collections, and follow collections or keywords.
** To download: Download Read by QXMD from Play/App Store. Register for account. Go to Account Settings, and set up Institutional Access.
Epic, MUSC's Electronic Health Record (EHR), can be accessed through the Haiku or Canto mobile apps. To install Epic on your mobile device, please follow these instructions or contact the Help Desk at (843) 792-9700 or epic-haiku-canto@musc.edu.
- Haiku (Epic mobile app)
Haiku is Epic's handheld application for use with the Apple iPhone or Android. Haiku provides physicians with secure and portable access to their clinical schedule, patient information, patient list and medical information as well as allowing them to review test results when they are on-the-go or away from work. - Canto (Epic mobile app)
Canto is Epic's handheld application for use with the Apple iPad. Canto offers physicians access to Epic charts, patient lists, test results and other EMR functions in a dashboard-style format. Canto provides the physician safe, reliable access from any location. - Limerick (Epic mobile app)
Limerick is Epic's handheld application for use with the Apple iWatch. Limerick offers physicians limited access to Epic charts and functions.
Borrowing Mobile Devices and Laptops
The Library's Tech Equipment Lending service allows students, staff and faculty to borrow tablets, laptops, cameras, and more! Each tablet has a variety of clinical and productivity apps installed on them. Many of the productivity apps are paid apps so you can "try before you buy" for your own device.
Interested in checking out more than one for a class session? Inquire at the 4th floor service desk for details.