Summaries of topics and guidelines
The resources below provide summaries of topics and guidelines.
- Clinical Practice Guidelines Sanderlin BW, AbdulRahim N. Evidence-based medicine, part 6. An introduction to critical appraisal of clinical practice guidelines. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2007 Aug;107(8):321-4. PubMed PMID: 17785690.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UpToDate provides overviews of clinical topics. Content is written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help clinicians in their daily practice.
Other Sources of Evidence
- Evidence Alerts (McMaster PLUS and DynaMed Plus)EvidenceAlerts provides a cumulative, searchable database of recent journal article citations, with links to their abstracts, and ratings of their relevance and importance by practicing physicians.
GRADE Criteria
The MUSC Center for Evidence-Based Practice uses the GRADE criteria to appraise research articles for inclusion in hospital order sets and guidelines. The GRADE criteria are utilized to evaluate the body of evidence used to make clinical recommendations. The "cheat sheet" below defines how the quality of the evidence is rated and how a strong versus weak recommendation is established.
Article Appraisal Resources
- Dental Critically Appraised Topics (UTHSCSA)The University of Texas Health Sciences Center at San Antonio Dental School's online Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) library. There are CATS on all dental and dental related topics.
- NEJM Journal WatchThe most important research, medical news, drug information, public health alerts, and guidelines across 12 specialties are summarized and put into perspective through succinct and easy-to-read summaries and expert comments.
Practice Guidelines
- TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
Meta search engine that focuses on evidence based practice. Includes clinical guidelines, systematic reviews, journal articles, and more.
- HSTAT-Health Services Technology Assessment TextsHSTAT (Health Services Technology Assessment Texts) is a searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information. It's audience includes health care providers, health service researches, policy makers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups.
- National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN)Not-for-profit alliance of the world's leading cancer centers. Guidelines are organized by Supportive Care, Age-Related Recommendations, and, Detection, Prevention, & Risk Reduction.
- NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence)U.K. guidelines. Sponsored by U.K. Department of Health.
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)Independent panel of experts who systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services.