Literature Databases
- MUSC A to Z List of Databases
A list of the main databases provided by the MUSC Library
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free searchable resource for biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health globally and individually. The PubMed database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 37 million citations and abstracts.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, comprehensive, and trusted academic database. Quickly find authoritative research, identify top experts, and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most trusted index of psychological science in the world, this databases delivers credible and comprehensive research across the full spectrum of behavioral and social sciences.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for research in the nursing and allied health disciplines including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.
Systematic Reviews/Evidence-based Practice
A systematic review is a literature review focused on a research question that tries to identify, appraise, select and synthesize all high quality research evidence relevant to that question. Systematic reviews of high-quality randomized controlled trials and other primary research articles.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
The leading resource for systematic reviews in health care.
- TripPro - Find Evidence Fast!
TripPro is a clinical search engine to quickly and easily find high-quality evidence to support your practice.
Practice Guidelines
- World Health Organization Guidelines
The development of global guidelines ensuring the appropriate use of evidence represents one of the core functions of WHO.
Journals
- American Journal of Human Genetics
Peer reviewed journal from the American Society of Human Genetics - Genetic Testing and Molecular Biomarkers
Official journal of Genetic Alliance.
- Predatory JournalsHow to determine if a journal is predatory.
Document Delivery
If you need a journal article or book chapter not owned by MUSC, request it through Document Delivery (ILLIAD). Links to articles and book chapters will be emailed. This is a free and fast service for MUSC students, staff and faculty.
- From a database, click on
- If MUSC does not own/subscribe to the article, there will be an option to "Request Item Through Document Delivery"
- Or, enter information manually at the Document Delivery website