Skip to main content MUSC Library

Reference Managers (Citation Management Software): Home

Reference Managers allow users to import citations from databases into an online library, then insert those properly formatted citations into a paper or bibliography using Microsoft Word.

What are Reference Managers?

Reference Managers allow users to import citations from databases into an online library, then insert those properly formatted citations into a paper or bibliography using Microsoft Word.

EndNote automates the creation of bibliographies. Writers can save hours of typing and formatting journal and other style requirements by simply selecting the publication or style by name and generating a perfectly formatted document. The EndNote.com support site includes zipped folders of new and updated import filters and output styles to download. MUSC students, staff, and faculty may download EndNote at the OCIO-IS Web site under software downloads at http://www.musc.edu/infoservices/. The EndNote software also comes with an online library capability when you don't have access to a computer with the software on it.

 RefWorks is a web-based tool that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. Web-based means you can access RefWorks from any computer with Internet access. Access to Refworks is provided by the OCIO-IS to MUSC students, staff, and faculty.