Where Can I Find...? (Overview of Mobile Device Apps & Websites)
Clinical apps: Includes free and library-provided clinical apps and mobile-friendly websites, medical calucators, and patient education.
Drug apps: Includes free and library-provided drug apps and mobile-friendly websites.
Dental apps: Includes free and library-provided dental apps for clinical care, patient education, professional networking, and more.
Patient Education: Includes free and library-provided patient educatioon apps for health professionals to use in order to education their patients.
Consumer Health apps: Includes free consumer health apps and mobile-friendly websites for patients.
Productivity apps: Includes free and paid productivity apps such as PDF annotators, note-takers, file editing, and much more.
Professional apps: Includes free apps for professional networking, news, and conferences.
Journal Article Database apps: Includes free and library-provided journal article apps and mobile-friendly websites.
Emergency, Disaster, Hazardous apps: Includes free emergency, disaster and hazardous apps from a variety of organizations.
Reviews and Comparisons
- Apple: Healthcare Apps in Hospitals and ClinicsThis document, developed by Apple, describes some of the ways healthcare apps are transforming the healthcare industry. Learn about clinical reference, access to your EMR, medical imaging apps, monitoring patients remotely, and personal productivity.
- c|net ReviewsReviews on every sort of consumer electronics, including phones and tablets.
- iMedicalAppsReviews of medical mobile apps by health professionals and medical students. Browse by medical specialty and/or type of device.
- Mashable - TechMashable is a leading source for news, information and resources for the Connected Generation. Their Tech sections includes info on apps & software, development & design, gadgets, and mobile.
- PCMagazineComputer magazine which reviews tablets and cell phones, but also includes articles about mobile apps.
Borrowing an iPad
The Digital e @ MUSC Library service allows students, staff and faculty to borrow an iPad or other mobile device for 7 days. Each iPad has a variety of clinical and productivity apps installed on them. Many of the productivity apps are paid apps so you can "try before you buy" for your own device.
Interested in checking out more than one for a class session? Inquire at the Loan Desk for details. We currently have a total of 10 iPads available for check-out.
Connecting Your Device with MUSC Services
- MUSC's iPad User & Development GroupThis page includes information on how to set up MUSC Secure wifi, MUSC Exchange email, and Citrix on your mobile device.
Tegrity Mobile: Lecture Capture App
The Tegrity Mobile app allows you to watch your Tegrity recordings from your mobile phone/tablet and search for important terms while you study. During class, create Bookmarks to mark important or unclear parts of the lecture so you can easily find them later. Download app from Play/App Store.
Ringya App: MUSC Faculty Directory
Ringya is an app that contains the MUSC Faculty Directory. It includes faculty members' contact info (name, title, email, phone, address). Browse alphabetically by first name or department, or search by keyword (first name, last name, dept, etc).
To install and register for Ringya:
- Download app from your device's Play/App Store or from http://ringya.com
- On app registration page, enter mobile number as ringya ID, and enter MUSC email address
- Ringya will text you code; enter that code into app
After a few minutes, the MUSC Faculty Directory will show up on the "My Rings" list. The list may take a few minutes to load the first time you try to access it.
If you don't want to be notified every time a new faculty member downloads the app, go to Ringya's Settings and turn off "push notifications".

Loading...
