Tools for Publication
- Predatory publicationsHow to determine if a journal is predatory or not.
- SciMago (Journal Ranking, Impact Metrics)
Impact values of over 22,256 journals from Scopus (Excerpta Medica, PubMed, and more) - CiteScore for Journal Impact Values
The most accurate impact value for journals. - Jane: How to find a good journal to publish in
To avoid predatory journals, JANE now tags journals that are currently indexed in MEDLINE, and open access journals approved by the Directory of Open Access Journals
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Retraction Watch
Up to date list of retracted articles - NIH Public Open Access Policy
Policy on archiving/depositing manuscripts into PubMed Central to comply with Federal Law - Sherpa/RoMEO
an online resource that analyses publisher open access policies and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis. - Scopus Journal Finder
JournalFinder uses smart search technology and field-of-research specific vocabularies to match your paper to scientific journals indexed in Scopus.
Selecting Journals for Publication
- Predatory publicationsHow to determine if a journal is predatory or not.
- JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator)
Jane first searches for the 50 articles that are most similar to your input. For each of these articles, a similarity score between that article and your input is calculated. The similarity scores of all the articles belonging to a certain journal or author are summed to calculate the confidence score for that journal or author. The results are ranked by confidence score. - Journal Targeter
Explore journals matched to your manuscript's title, abstract and/or references. - SCImago Journal & Country Rank
Based on Scopus, SCImago allows for journal ranking, country ranking in terms of publication history. The results can be ranked by journal citations, Cites per document (2 years), H index, Journal Title, Total Documents, Citable Documents (3 years) and Total Cites (3 years) - Directory of Open Access Journals
A list of quality & best practice in peer-reviewed, open access journals /research. - CiteScore Metrics for Journals
CiteScore metrics are comprehensive, transparent, current and free metrics for journal titles in Scopus. - Instructions to Authors in the Health SciencesEasy to find style information for journal submissions
- F1000Research Preclinical Reproducibility and Robustness Gateway
A platform for open and transparent publication of confirmatory and non-confirmatory studies in biomedical research. The gateway is open to all scientists from both academia and industry and provides a centralized space for researchers to start an open dialogue, thereby helping to improve the reproducibility of studies.
