Select eTextbooks
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by ISBN: 9781558105997Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
SAFETY FIRST! Davis''s Drug Guide for Nurses®, Sixteenth Edition delivers all of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS www.DrugGuide.com Redeem the access code inside to unlock your one-year, free subscription to Davis''s Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. It''s accessible from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser 5,000-drug database and appendices Cross-referencing of drugs FDA drug news LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE ... AT A GLANCE Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects NEW! REP heading for use of drugs in males and females of reproductive age Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Pedi, Geri, OB, and Lactation cautions IV administration subheads REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Pharmacogenomic content and icon Canadian-specific content Much more! LEARNING, CARE-PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at DavisPlus Pronunciation library for 1,200+ drug names Preventing med errors and psychotropic drug tutorials, each with a self-test Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/kg, and Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive case studies, brief, real-life scenarios that are followed by a series of question Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications Animations demonstrating the administration and absorption of oral drugs Reviews for Davis''s Drug Guide for Nurses, 15th Edition: Invaluable. "This... resource has been invaluable for my clinicals and pharm class."--CJ Bob Perfect for a nursing student. "I feel that I didn''t need my pharmacology book, and could have just used this. It''s organized and comprehensive, and for each drug has nursing implications with assessments, "potential" nursing diagnoses, teaching, and evaluations."--Amazon Reviewer This is your book. "If you want to know about drugs, this is your book. Very thorough and helpful with my nursing classes."--Michael Grewing. Use this every day! "The most helpful book ever created for Pharmacology! I use this every single day!"--C. Kelly A Must-Have. "An absolute must have. Great Book.--Rocco DeMario Hands down the best drug guide. "I am very pleased with this drug guide. I am in nursing school and this is the best drug guide hands down. I used other brands and I feel this is more organized and better to understand."--Carolina Cruz
ISBN: 9780803669451Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Nursing Now! Today's Issues, Tomorrow's Trends by
Encourages a deeper exploration of the issues and analysis of opinions by including multiple points-of-view on policy issues. Provides general and NCLEX-specific smart test-taking tips. Covers the Licensure, Accreditation, Certification & Education (LACE) model that outlines a future plan for advanced practice nursing education. Offers practical information on preparing a professional resume that gets results * applying for a position via an institutional web site; fine tuning interview skills in the chapter, Reality Shock in the Workplace. Addresses conflict resolution, lateral violence and bullying in the workplace. Presents Integrative healing practices reflect current alternative therapy and complementary health practice.
ISBN: 9780803639720Publication Date: 2015-02-05
Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice by
The premier resource for professional nursing practice, Nursing: Scope & Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition, is informed by the advances in health care and professional nursing today. This keystone standard contains 17 national standards of practice and performance that define the who, what, where, when, why and how of nursing practice.
ISBN: 9781558106192Publication Date: 2015-07-20
Patho/Pharm 1 & 2 eBooks
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 13 E by
Gain a full understanding of the basic science and clinical use of drugs with the most up-to-date and comprehensive pharmacology text in the health sciences 400 ILLUSTRATIONS--MANY IN FULL COLOR A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Coverage that spans every aspect of medical pharmacology: Encompasses every aspect of medical pharmacology including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs New chapter on pharmacogenomics with important examples Emphasis is placed on discussion of drug groups and prototypes Clinically relevant, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects Full-color presentation with more than 400 illustrations Case studies introduce clinical problems in most chapters Summary tables and diagrams encapsulate important information Includes many new drugs A Generic Name/Trade Name Table appears at the end of most chapters for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years of experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students.
ISBN: 9780071825054Publication Date: 2014-12-23
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15e by
Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available Doody's Core Titles for 2021! Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters
ISBN: 9781260470109Publication Date: 2020-12-05
Goodman & Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by ISBN: 0071624422Publication Date: 2018
Select eBooks
Books are a great way to find background information on diseases and other topics.
Below is an example of some selected nursing ebook titles. To browse all MUSC ebook titles, visit the eBooks page and search for your title.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26 (13th edition)
Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Quality Improvement by
2019 AJN Book of the Year Award Recipient in the Advanced Practice Nursing category. Equip yourself to expertly conduct EBP or quality improvement projects. Written by renowned EBP experts LoBiondo-Wood, Haber, & Titler, Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Quality Improvement provides a straightforward yet comprehensive guide to planning and conducting EBP and quality improvement projects This brand-new, full-color, richly illustrated textbook begins with foundational content and then works through the processes of developing and exploring clinical questions, implementing results, and disseminating information. The book's content and approach have been developed specifically with the adult learner in mind, with multiple full-text appendix articles referenced throughout as examples, along with unique pedagogical aids including EBP Tips and EBP Key Points to ground concepts in a "real-life" context. NEW! Written by renowned EBP experts LoBiondo-Wood, Haber, & Titler to provide a straightforward yet comprehensive guide to planning and conducting EBP and QI projects. NEW! A straightforward, practical approach begins with foundational content and then works through the processes of developing and exploring clinical questions, implementing results, and disseminating information. NEW! Developed specifically with the adult learner in mind, with multiple full-text appendix articles referenced throughout as examples, along with unique pedagogical aids including EBP Tips and EBP Key Points to ground concepts in a "real-life" context.
ISBN: 9780323480055Publication Date: 2018-09-25
How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing by ISBN: 9780335242276Publication Date: 2012-05-01
How to Read a Paper by
How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings.
ISBN: 9781119484745Publication Date: 2019-05-06
Research Methodology in the Health Sciences: a Quick Reference Guide by ISBN: 9781260463286Publication Date: 2021-03-19
Writing for Publication in Nursing by
Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
ISBN: 0826147011Publication Date: 2018-06-01
eBooks Collections
Don't know which ebook you are looking for? The advantage of an ebook collection is that you can search the full-text of all ebooks in that collection at one time, and you will be directed to the exact section of each book where your keywords occur.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of ~230 ebooks as well as multimedia, drugs, patient education, guidelines, and more. - ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks, clinical summaries (FirstConsult), clinical procedures, journals, practice guidelines, patient education, drug monographs, multimedia, and CME. - ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks, journals, nursing scales, clinical summaries, clinical procedures, practice guidelines, patient education, drug monographs, multimedia, and more.
