Skip to main content

Medical Students: Importing and Saving Citations

Resources for students in the College of Medicine

Importing Citations from Other Reference Managers

RefWorks: Importing Citations from Databases

Follow the instructions in the handouts below to import references from each database into RefWorks.

An easier but less accurate way to import references from databases is with RefGrab-It. RefGrab-It is an optional feature for capturing bibliographic information from webpages and databases. It is available as a bookmarklet that works with Internet Explorer and Firefox. To add it to your toolbar, go to RefWorks -> Tools -> RefGrab-It.

Importing Citations from PubMed

How to import citations from the PubMed database into RefWorks.

Saving Citations from the Web

RefWorks has an easy to use tool that installs in any web browser called the Save to RefWorks button.  The Save to RefWorks button grabs information from any web page – in some cases a complete article – and adds it to your RefWorks library. 

To add the Save to RefWorks button to your browser, click on the More icon  and select Tools.   Simply drag the Save to RefWorks button to your browser.  Once you’ve installed it, go to any web page and click the Save to RefWorks button to capture the information.

You can save a set of search results or an individual article - the choice is yours.  You can easily edit metadata prior to importing into RefWorks.

Adding Citations Using Direct Export

Adding Citations Manually

To add an item to RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon  at the top of the page. If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the Add a reference icon .

You'll have three options:

  • Upload document
  • Import references
  • Create new reference

You can drag and drop a document (.pdf, .doc, etc.) directly into the Upload document box to upload an existing MS Office, Open Office or .pdf file from your computer. Only 1 document per item allowed. 

From the second option, you can also import a set of references from a text file in the formats offered. On the resulting page, you will able to click and drag the file onto the page to begin importing.

Using Create new reference you can manually enter your bibliographic data or click and drag a file to be imported as well.

Tip:  If you have multiple documents to add to RefWorks, you can select and drag them all at once. RefWorks will create separate items for each.

Regardless of which option you choose, RefWorks uses its document recognition feature to attempt to auto-complete the reference fields on the page.  RefWorks’s document recognition feature is compiled from a combination of authoritative citation sources, ProQuest databases, and end-user generated content and is continually revised and optimized to deliver the best possible results. 

You can change the reference type, manually edit the reference fields and additional fields can be added using the Add more fields drop down box at the bottom of the page. 

If you do not have a file to upload, simply populate the blank fields by typing in the necessary information.

Once you have manually added your item using one of these options, click Save and your item will be added to your RefWorks library.